We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walkway over the Hudson”

Walkway Over the Hudson State Historic Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Walkway Over the Hudson State Historic Park is a 19th century railroad bridge transformed into the world's longest elevated pedestrian park.
Leominster, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Walkway over the Hudson”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This was great! If you are in the area this is a must see and do! The view from up there is amazing, it's like a mile or so long, just walkers and bikers.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,313
    408
    61
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“must see in Poughkeepsie”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

the walkway to the Hudson is worth the trip if you are around Poughkeepsie. you will be given a map of the nearby area when you ask about this attraction. the walkway is well maintained and not crowded and just breath-taking views and lots of history. when you get there you have a choice of parking in the gravel area which is free and a 5$ parking if you park in the paved area. the walking distance is the same if you park closer in the gravel area. the walk takes about 1 hr. if you are claustrophobic and afraid of heights, think twice before you walk across. one warning, if you use the map to explore the nearby area such as the Italian part, beware, this is kind of seedy. you will find the locals wondering around so watch your back....after a few steps away from our car, we all hopped back onto the car and just drove around and passed by the local church. unfortunately they are closed on a Friday. not sure when this will be opened to the public. we drove around and before leaving the area, we somehow ended up in this Milanese restaurant. and that was worth the stop. food is delicious. vey authentic Italian food.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsford, NY
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Seriously, just a bridge?!?”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I feel sorry for someone who wrote a review that started off "seriously, it's just a bridge." Yes, it's just a bridge, a former railway bridge that has been converted into a great space for walking and biking. Not too many places you can walk over a river of this size and appreciate the beauty of nature without cars whizzing by. There may be more scenic views of the Hudson, but nature is what you make of it. Others who don't appreciate best not offer their opinions.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HUNTINGTON
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Walkway over the Hudson”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Brought our bikes to do 'the loop' on the west side of the Hudson river (Highland) Approx. 5 mile Rail Trail loop that crosses the Walkway over the Hudson, through Poughkeepsie to the Mid Hudson Bridge then back to Highland. Rode 20mi the day before and my knees were sore so we diecided to walk. Glad we did! The views on the bridge are too numerous to see on a bike! We spent quite a bit of time on walking the bridge and reading all the History of the old Railroad Bridge. Didn't try 'the loop' as we were walking. The walk back over the walkway was just as nice as you see the sights from the other direction. Looking forward to many more visits here. Patrolled by informative volunteers (on Sunday anyway). Great place for a walk and/or bike ride!! Great for anyone at any age.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank danwstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

So glad we made it here -- just beautiful! Amazing views, enough space for leisurely walkers, skaters, and a few bikers. Such a pleasant walk, about 3 miles total. The weather was perfect -- not too warm, and a little overcast. It's concrete, with no shade, so it might be a little uncomfortable on hot, super-sunny days. On the advice of one of the very friendly and helpful staff/volunteers, we went up and down in the elevator just to catch a glimpse of the bridge's underside -- great ride. There are also a couple of food and ice cream trucks and port-a-potties on the New Paltz side.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walkway Over the Hudson State Historic Park also viewed

 

Been to Walkway Over the Hudson State Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing