We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Poughkeepsie NY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in Poughkeepsie NY”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Just spent 3 nights at the Marriott Residence Inn in Poughkeepsie NY and I was very pleasantly surprised on how nice it was. Large rooms with full kitchen facilities, separate bedroom and two large flat screen TVs. Located in the beautiful Hudson Valley has everything you could want in a hotel for business or pleasure.

I was travelling for business and the hotel was within walking distance of my work location which was a very big plus for me. The hotel is located near many restaurants and provides a full breakfast and has a pool, hot tub and workout facilities. Even though the hotel doesn't have a liquor licence there are several places close by where you can enjoy a drink or a dinner.

I have never been to the Hudson Valley area before but I would definitely consider a vacation in that area. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuroCDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    95
    42
    18
    11
See reviews for
95
65
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northern nj
Level Contributor
135 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The family and I came here for an overnight stay and were pleased. Here are the pros and cons:

Pros:
- It's clean - no bedbugs (I checked)
- The room was spacious
- The indoor pool & jacuzzi were nice
- Staff is friendly
- Come with Happy Hour snacks and breakfast
- Has a billiards table & basketball court

Cons
- The decor is generic
- The food at the Happy Hour and breakfast could have been healthier. Would it kill management to have fresh fruit and vegetables available?

Overall, a very pleasant place to take the family.

Room Tip: If you're planning to use the pool, ask for a room on the first floor. And if you've got li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NjMoma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey
Level Contributor
130 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My husband and I wanted a quick weekend get-away and decided to see the sites in Hyde Park. We also both needed a nice place to relax and recharge. This hotel was absolutely perfect!

Most impressively was how perfectly clean it was. We travel often and have stayed in a lot of hotels. I always look for cleanliness and how well-maintained a hotel is. I literally could not find anything that needed cleaning, repairs or improvement. The rooms, common areas, hallways and pool were all in perfect condition. Lovely...it is relaxing when you look around and feel clean and comfortable.

Our room was very, very comfortable. Bed was very comfortable with a lot of pillows and comfortable bedding. Temperature was easily controlled and I don't even remember the heater being loud. We were in the back of the building so we didn't have any street noise (just the snow plows coming through in the middle of the night!), but there was a train horn in the distance.

The breakfast was fine. Good variety although not extensive, but I don't think very many places offer those types of free continental breakfasts anymore. A few hot options, a few types of pastries, muffins and breads; a few different types of cereal and my favorite, make your own waffles.

Indoor pool and hot tub were very nice. The hot tub was right by the windows shared with the main first floor hallway, which was a bit uncomfortable...trying to relax in the hot tub and people are walking right by looking in at you. But, so be it.

Hotel is located right on the main road through town surrounded my a lot of restaurants and stores. About a 15 minute drive up the road to the Culinary Institute, Marist College, FDR Home and Vanderbilt Mansion. Perfect location, easily accessible.

Highly recommended and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom2Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Hi. My kids and I stayed here for the weekend. We had a tournament at the Mid Hudson Sportsdome. Although brief, I can that the room was Spartan and comfortable. Our room had a kitchenette, bedroom and living room area. Almost felt like an apartment. Pool was clean. We had a continental breakfast and I have to say that the eggs and sausage were better than most of the bigger hotels I've stayed at. Coffee was good. You can make a waffle. Not bad. No issues.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back of the hotel might be a little quieter since the front faces the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flr9003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed st the Poughkeepsie Residence Inn for a short overnight trip to the Hudson Valley. The place was immaculate. Whe we got there the fire was on in the lobby...very welcoming considering the cold weather. The staff was wonderful...polite and very helpful. The breakfast, which was included in the price, was very good. I would definitely recommend this property.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NewYorktravelers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We are used to staying at Ritz Carlton properties, part of the marriot chain... This hotel was comfortable and all staff was accommodating The pool and breakfast are also assets. We look forward to returning in the not too distant future and recommending it to friends who want to visit the Hudson Valley.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankpolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bethpage, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

it is very nice but not very glamorous. The suites are a decent size, like a small studio apt. Comfortable and in a good location. You can hear the noise in the hallways and when we went there seemed to be a lot of families with kids there. The kids were always in the indoor pool jumping and splashing and also in the hot tub. The breakfast area was packed. I like the Courtyard Marriott better but I would stay here again for the right price.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LawHyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
417 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
3.1 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
262 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Poughkeepsie

Property: Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Address: 2525 South Rd, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5465
Region: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#5 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Poughkeepsie 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Poughkeepsie Hotel has perfected the extended stay experience by combining the comforts of home with all the perks of a hotel. Situated directly in front of IBM and minutes from The Culinary Institute of America and Marist College, our hotel is perfect for project teams, relocations, temporary housing or corporate housing in Poughkeepsie, NY. Our all-suite Poughkeepsie hotel rooms offer separate areas for sleeping, living and dining. Unwind in our heated indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, Sport Court or game room. During your stay, you will feel at home with our complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet, The Residence Inn Mix - complimentary evening socials featuring local flavors, on-site yoga studio, complimentary WiFi access and friendly 24-hour hotel staff. In beautiful Hudson Valley, the Residence Inn Poughkeepsie Suites Hotel is close to IBM, Vassar College, the FDR & Vanderbilt Mansions and Millbrook Vineyards. We look forward to serving you in the Marriott tradition of excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing