We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother to stay here if you need a firm reservation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
La Grange, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't bother to stay here if you need a firm reservation”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We booked Six rooms in early March for a family reunion and headstone dedication. Three days, that's right, the days, before the trip they called to tell us that had over booked and they were moving our entire party to another hotel "Just a quarter mile" down the road. With no breakfast, no working elevator and no hot tub. We had elderly and special needs children with special dietary requirements. Thankfully they allowed these people to keep the reservation.

It turns out that the other property was more than a mile down the road and the family was not able to interact as we wanted to.

The other property told us that this happens all the time. Bottom line is that if you are planning a stay that includes several rooms, don't book here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mima B, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hello Diane B,

Hope you are well.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Residence Inn Poughkeepsie.

You indicated that your experience was less than satisfactory because your reservations were transferred to the Courtyard by Marriott. I have been in communication with Mr. Backinoff, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you and your family may have experienced from this unfortunate situation. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction.

Unfortunately, we did not meet your, or our own expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance or if you have additional feedback you would be willing to share, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Best Regards,
Mima B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    95
    42
    18
    11
See reviews for
95
65
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We were staying for three nights as we toured in the area. Friendly welcome and a clean room. Lots of breakfast choices, including hot food plus two evenings there were free dinners! Wish the queen size bed was firmer. Walking distance to local restaurants and shopping. Many historic sites close by sites.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anita057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very nice, courteous and helpful staff. The rooms are updated, very clean and spacious. Kitchenette with a full size refrigerator is a definite plus, especially if you plan on staying a few days, saves on eating out every night (if you don't mind leftovers). Otherwise, very convenient location for many good eateries and shops.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My entire stay at the Kingston Courtyard has been amazing!!!! The hotel is newly renovated and so beautiful and they serve Starbucks! Also they serve Keegan Ales a locally brewed beer. What is not to love! Such a friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

A very nice place in Poughkeepsie. Poughkeepsie itself is a very simple and quite place and this hotel adds to it. Services offered are good. Breakfast is very good.

In all a value for money. You should feel the bright sunshine once you are finished with your breakfast. Its a great feeling.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navneetarya27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mima B, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Hello navneetarya27,

Thank you for your beautiful feedback. Hope to have you here again in the near future. Have a great day.

Best Regards,
Mima Banks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
186 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

All the benefits of a Residence Inn. A nice pool for this type of hotel. Very helpful and friendly team. Nice rooms. Convenient location right next to a lot of shopping.

Breakfast could use a bit of improvement, especially in terms of providing healthier options.

There are in fact a number of college students staying at this hotel. I did not mind this lively atmosphere but if you are looking for a very quiet business hotel, you might consider other options during the school year.

Nonetheless, overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank levtahor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

What a horror show! Do not let their website photos fool you - this hotel is a college dorm!!! Due to overflow from local universities and colleges this is where students are living AND PARTYING full time!!
Fire alarm pulled at 2:15 am Friday, Feb 21, 2014, that went on for over 45 min!!! LOUD students in the parking lots and running the halls until 4 am (every night of the four we stayed there)
Pet friendly (and it smells like it, the carpets and furniture show it!) $300 +/night for a two bedroom - ULTIMATE RIP OFF. Breakfast is over before 9 am. Only good thing, they are next to Starbucks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mima B, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Hello Amanda H.,

Hope you are well.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Residence Inn Poughkeepsie. I do understand the concern of your recent stay not being satisfactory and appreciate your feedback.

We are NOT a dorm and none of our long-term guests were partying in the halls and/or in their rooms. We are an Extended Stay Hotel which houses many different groups, as all hotels do. Pets are allowed at all Residence Inn's and we require a non-refundable cleaning fee to recover all rooms properly. We are scored very high on cleanliness; one of the top competitors in our Region.

The reason for the fire alarm was not due to any of the mature young adults residing from Marist College. The pulled fire alarm was indeed an uncommon incident that no one looked forward to hear so early in the morning, without reason. We are not happy about it either; as we have sensitive fire victims residing here for years as well. I wish this did not happen and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

Our property prides itself on great customer service and overall satisfaction. Sleep is an important aspect to everyone; we take immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems with partying and as a result the cops were called and the problematic guests were evicted too.

If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me directly at the phone number listed below.

Once again, please accept my apology. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.

Best Regards,

Mima B.
845-463-4343
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
417 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
3.1 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
262 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Poughkeepsie

Property: Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Address: 2525 South Rd, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5465
Region: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#5 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Poughkeepsie 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Poughkeepsie Hotel has perfected the extended stay experience by combining the comforts of home with all the perks of a hotel. Situated directly in front of IBM and minutes from The Culinary Institute of America and Marist College, our hotel is perfect for project teams, relocations, temporary housing or corporate housing in Poughkeepsie, NY. Our all-suite Poughkeepsie hotel rooms offer separate areas for sleeping, living and dining. Unwind in our heated indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, Sport Court or game room. During your stay, you will feel at home with our complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet, The Residence Inn Mix - complimentary evening socials featuring local flavors, on-site yoga studio, complimentary WiFi access and friendly 24-hour hotel staff. In beautiful Hudson Valley, the Residence Inn Poughkeepsie Suites Hotel is close to IBM, Vassar College, the FDR & Vanderbilt Mansions and Millbrook Vineyards. We look forward to serving you in the Marriott tradition of excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing