We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Certificate of Excellence
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
252 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Residence Inn is located just outside of Poughkeepsie, so it's close to anything in the city. It is, however, difficult to find. It's not right on Rt. 9, but positioned behind a strip mall. Look for the sign along Rt. 9 and then go behind the buildings out front. The hotel itself is beautiful with the layout of the rooms perfect. We don't mind paying a little more for a "suite." We use the large refrigerator to keep bottled water and other handy food items cold (although we never cook meals). The price for the suite was actually quite reasonable. The rooms were also very clean. The only complaint we had was the breakfast. The area where the food is set up is way too small. Things were missing or just empty. What food there was - was good, though. Breakfast is one of the main items we look for when selecting a hotel, and this Residence Inn just didn't measure up. If it wasn't for the poor breakfast, this hotel would rate a very good - excellent. Everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stormkrow8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mima B, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hello stormkrow8,

Thank you for your review of our property.

We have a great staff that looks forward to serving our customers.

We offer a complimentary eating area, which provides service to all customers who care to join us. At times there may be a rush and we handle it as it comes; as no reservations are required. Nice to know you did enjoy the food though.

I will be sure to share your thoughts with our team. We are always looking for ways to improve.

Best Regards,
Mima B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    93
    41
    18
    11
See reviews for
95
64
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford,MA
Level Contributor
209 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We are Marriott members and like The Residence Inn. There is a nice large room with a sitting area and kitchen. We pay a little more and do not mind but...... Generally a great buffet breakfast, but not here. The one person staff member could not keep up... No plates... No bowls,.... No yogurt..... No meats. No fruit salad until I left... Scrambled eggs and cold potatoes... Two empty warming trays. Just not what we are accustomed to at a Residence Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tnelchou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Spent Friday and Saturday nights as part of our trip to the CIA for a Saturday cooking class. Hotel is 6 miles south of CIA, both on rte 9. Staff was very welcoming as we checked in. Room was comfortable and met our needs. Stayed in 100, an end room on ground floor against the parking lot. Was reasonably quiet although you could hear a little noise from other rooms. There were no issues of being next to front parking lot. Hotel is several buildings away from rte 9 keeping road noise very low. Breakfast is simple and adequate if you're looking for a quick start. A bit more than continental breakfast. Starbucks is a 1 minute walk from front door. Red Robbin and sushi are also a short walking distance. Pool table in separate room is nice touch. Would definitely stay again for another CIA class.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank soar26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We booked Six rooms in early March for a family reunion and headstone dedication. Three days, that's right, the days, before the trip they called to tell us that had over booked and they were moving our entire party to another hotel "Just a quarter mile" down the road. With no breakfast, no working elevator and no hot tub. We had elderly and special needs children with special dietary requirements. Thankfully they allowed these people to keep the reservation.

It turns out that the other property was more than a mile down the road and the family was not able to interact as we wanted to.

The other property told us that this happens all the time. Bottom line is that if you are planning a stay that includes several rooms, don't book here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mima B, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hello Diane B,

Hope you are well.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Residence Inn Poughkeepsie.

You indicated that your experience was less than satisfactory because your reservations were transferred to the Courtyard by Marriott. I have been in communication with Mr. Backinoff, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you and your family may have experienced from this unfortunate situation. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction.

Unfortunately, we did not meet your, or our own expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance or if you have additional feedback you would be willing to share, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Best Regards,
Mima B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We were staying for three nights as we toured in the area. Friendly welcome and a clean room. Lots of breakfast choices, including hot food plus two evenings there were free dinners! Wish the queen size bed was firmer. Walking distance to local restaurants and shopping. Many historic sites close by sites.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anita057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very nice, courteous and helpful staff. The rooms are updated, very clean and spacious. Kitchenette with a full size refrigerator is a definite plus, especially if you plan on staying a few days, saves on eating out every night (if you don't mind leftovers). Otherwise, very convenient location for many good eateries and shops.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My entire stay at the Kingston Courtyard has been amazing!!!! The hotel is newly renovated and so beautiful and they serve Starbucks! Also they serve Keegan Ales a locally brewed beer. What is not to love! Such a friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
3.1 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Poughkeepsie

Property: Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Address: 2525 South Rd, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5465
Region: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#5 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Poughkeepsie 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Poughkeepsie Hotel has perfected the extended stay experience by combining the comforts of home with all the perks of a hotel. Situated directly in front of IBM and minutes from The Culinary Institute of America and Marist College, our hotel is perfect for project teams, relocations, temporary housing or corporate housing in Poughkeepsie, NY. Our all-suite Poughkeepsie hotel rooms offer separate areas for sleeping, living and dining. Unwind in our heated indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, Sport Court or game room. During your stay, you will feel at home with our complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet, The Residence Inn Mix - complimentary evening socials featuring local flavors, on-site yoga studio, complimentary WiFi access and friendly 24-hour hotel staff. In beautiful Hudson Valley, the Residence Inn Poughkeepsie Suites Hotel is close to IBM, Vassar College, the FDR & Vanderbilt Mansions and Millbrook Vineyards. We look forward to serving you in the Marriott tradition of excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing