We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for a family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel with our two kids for a week during our recent military move. We had one a one BR suite with a pull out couch. The pool, billiard room, and sports court were all very handy for keeping them occupied. We used the breakfast service every morning, and also attended the three evening events during our stay. All of these were a good value, and cut down on the eating out costs. We also took advantage of the kitchen, and the Stop and Shop nearby, to eat in the room a few times.

The location is good, as there are tons of things to do along Route 9. We had one bad experience with loud guests outside our window, using the sports and BBQ area, until after 11 pm one night. After repeated calls and a visit to the front desk, they finally called it a night. The situation was rectified by the manager when we spoke to him the following day.

Overall, we would recommend this property, and will certainly stay here again if the opportunity presents itself.

Room Tip: If you stay here, and you're looking for a quieter experience, ask for a room on the southern en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RB94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

We enjoyed our one-night stay here, and especially liked the pool and hot tub that we had to ourselves. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable - and the free breakfast was also good. The evening food offering was lacking, so we went to a diner that's within walking distance. We also appreciated the free wifi in the room - and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyLobsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Most of the people who stay are from IBM or Marist college it seems. Breakfast is included each morning and was good. Rooms are clean but the carpets need to be cleaned but mostly updated. Bathroom fan was very noisy when you turned the light on, even with the door shut.Wasn't a fan of the front desk staff at all and housekeeping was the worst part. One guy walked into the my room and started cleaning Saturday morning when I was still sleeping in the room! Also, the staff seemed to be arguing with each other a lot. Indoor pool and hot tub were very nice, Outside bbq area and basketball court also are very nice. After I left, I realized I left shoes in the room so I called to see if someone could check. I was told the manager had to do it and that he was not in so I was transferred to his voicemail. Never got a call back to this day....Will not stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mima B, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Terry S.,

Thank you for your opinion of our property. Our staff goes above and beyond to satisfy customers so, I understand and apologize if we somehow missed an opportunity to give you a great experience. We cater to a mix of leisure, business and groups but Marist was not residing here during your time of travel. No male Housekeepsers work here and we operate with better standards.

May you please contact me directly so that I may better assist you with your inquiry? Looking forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,
Mima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I have stayed here many times since 2003, the most recent being May 2014. Upon check-in my room preferences as a Marriott Silver member were not taken into consideration and we had to switch rooms. The second room, a 1 BR suite, they placed us in was in a very noisy corridor right by the elevators. The property and rooms have recently been renovated very nicely. The carpets, wallpaper in hallways, pool area, breakfast area and in the rooms all the furnishings, carpet and decor were all recently re-done. Unfortunately, we picked the worse week to stay at this property. The noise was atrocious all week because during the day they were moving all of the college students out of the property. All of the beds, mattress, tables, chairs were being removed constantly tying up the elevators and making noise in the parking loading and unloading PODS units. There was also a lot of noise from the corridors during the night and the beds in the rooms have been downsized from king to queens and the mattress was very uncomfortable. I had requested more foam pillows in the room and it took them 8 hrs to accomplish, at the end explaining that they couldn't find one foam pillow in the hotel and had to give me feather pillows.
The breakfast offers some more nutritious offerings than they used to, overall they have a comprehensive breakfast spread. We wanted to stay over the Memorial Day weekend but were not accomodated. I can definitely say mgmt was not willing to go the extra mile to make sure their guests were satisfied.

Room Tip: Try to get a coveted courtyard view room, I have never been able to score one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzannaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mima B, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear SuzannaR,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We take matters such as this very seriously. As a result, please allow us some time to look into this matter further. We will share your message appropriately within our team to make things better.

We have always offered a Studio King Suite (King Bed), One-Bedroom Suite (Queen Bed/often an upgrade due to the 2 TV's & wall seperation) and a Two-Bedroom Suite (1 Queen Bed in each bedroom area).

I understand your concern of the foam pillows and sincerely apologize for the dealy and not following-up with you about it in a timely manner. You may contact me directly about your experience, if I may assist you any further about your past stay or future reservations.

Best Regards,
Mima B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Ok, so checkin was fine. The lobby looks nice. I was given an upgrade from the studio to the 1 bedroom. Room looked nice. Immediately noticed there was no tv channel listing. Couldn't figure it out for over 5 minutes.. In bedroom, tv has to be on volume 90+ out of 100 to be heard. There is a plastic bag tied around the base of the pole underneath the sink pedestal. It looks like it is there as a stopgap. I don't want to know why. Called the front desk for help, no answer. Perhaps I just don't remember the last time I was at a residence inn, but the 'reception' is only 1/2 nights per week, vs. 4 at a Homewood suites. So lacks attention to detail in the room.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room where the floodlight in the parking lot doesn't shine in your room.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank RocFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Residence Inn Poughkeepsie. My family along with around twenty other families celebrated Passover at there. They were extremely patient and understanding our of large group and culture and they were available at the front desk to help at all hours of the night. For example, they let us use their yoga room as our official private dining room. The rooms were neat and clean. The kids really enjoyed playing pool in the billiard room and swimming in the pool. The adults enjoyed the Jacuzzi. We would definitely consider going back again next year!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelguest4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is a category 5 Marriott. We stayed 2 nights in a 1 bedroom suite using free night certificates. The room was spacious and included free wifi, a kitchen and separate bedroom and came with breakfast. Because we were there on a Wed, we also had a delicious complimentary barbecue dinner with chicken, hamburgers, hotdogs and a number of sides. The staff were gracious and very helpful and the hotel located in a very accessible location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mima B, Guest Care Supervisor at Residence Inn Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Hello joge,

It is nice to know of your great experience at the Residence Inn Poughkeepsie and that you have enjoyed our amenities. We hope to have you back again in the near future! :)

Best Regards,
Mima B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#4 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
444 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
3 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
280 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Poughkeepsie

Address: 2525 South Rd, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5465
Region: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#5 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range: £97 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Poughkeepsie 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Poughkeepsie Hotel has perfected the extended stay experience by combining the comforts of home with all the perks of a hotel. Situated directly in front of IBM and minutes from The Culinary Institute of America and Marist College, our hotel is perfect for project teams, relocations, temporary housing or corporate housing in Poughkeepsie, NY. Our all-suite Poughkeepsie hotel rooms offer separate areas for sleeping, living and dining. Unwind in our heated indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, Sport Court or game room. During your stay, you will feel at home with our complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet, The Residence Inn Mix - complimentary evening socials featuring local flavors, on-site yoga studio, complimentary WiFi access and friendly 24-hour hotel staff. In beautiful Hudson Valley, the Residence Inn Poughkeepsie Suites Hotel is close to IBM, Vassar College, the FDR & Vanderbilt Mansions and Millbrook Vineyards. We look forward to serving you in the Marriott tradition of excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing