We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place - very nice staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Poughkeepsie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place - very nice staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

We stayed here during a recnt trip. Very friendly and pleasant front desk staff and our room was spotless! The morning breakfast was nice and well atttended by the staff. This is an extremely well run hotel with a top notch staff!!! I will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelboy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    91
    40
    17
    11
See reviews for
95
63
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

We were given a free upgrade to a 2 BR room upon arrival. We appreciated that with four people needing three beds, as we were expecting to have only a 1 BR with a sofabed plus a rollaway. With the second bedroom, we no longer needed the rollaway.

Our room was very clean and spacious. The beds were reasonably comfortable, but nothing to rave about. My stepson did not have cause to complain about the pullout sofabed, which is an accomplishment for the hotel.

Small exercise room is open 24 hours. There were three very nice flat screen HD TV sets in our suite #208.

Check in and check out procedure was smooth and hassle free.

We were traveling with a U-Haul trailer for a cross country college move, and it was tight parking for a trailer at the hotel, but the hotel staff was still quite accommodating and helpful about that.

A few minor gripes, nothing major: (1) The wireless internet service did not work. I gave up trying to access it; (2) The shower/tub floor in the master bathroom in our Room 208 was too slippery. It needs a non-slip application of some sort; (3) The breakfast buffet setup was a bit confusing. The all-important coffee service is in an adjoining room. People were blindly searching around for it. The ubiquitous and constantly irritating stryofoam plates and plastic cutlery were placed in the breakfast area. I find that to be inexcusable in a Residence Inn, since they already have regular dishware available for use in the guest rooms.

The oatmeal was too hot to be served in plastic or styrofoam bowls (which hot food can melt or degrade), but they had cranberries as an alternative to raisins. I appreciated that as I totally loathe raisins.

Standard hotel breakfast buffet fare: hot food was scrambled eggs, sausage patties, oatmeal and french toast. Also available were bagels, english muffins, toast, cold cereal.

Overall, a good hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SailorJon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walden, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

Very nice roomy place. My family thoroughly enjoyed their stay while I sat in the house with no heat and power. They loved the place and would definetly return. Nice staff clean what more can you ask for.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walden_NewYorkMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde Park
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

Having been at the hotel for a week now and still there, I am writing this review as a current guest. Although the hotel offers the amenities Residence Inns are known for - extended rooms, a welcoming lobby, breakfast and evening offers, what should make this experience special and unique is not positive. To start with, the hotel is NOT wireless. After seeking help for several days, I finally contacted their IT support only to learn the hotel had reported problems starting early in December. Finally, a staff member stated, "The Internet here sucks". Well, as a business hotel, having to resort to an ethernet cable is interesting. Speaking of the ethernet cable. Over the weekend, I could not get that to work until late Sunday when one of the maintenance staff told me the port by the work desk was a dummy so I should try the port (hidden behind the coffee basket) in the kitchen area. So now, I do have connectivity in the kitchen area. This morning I called and asked if they understand the reason for requesting a wake-up call, since none was received. This hotel is located in upstate NY which has experienced unusually cold weather. The hallways are maintained at 67 degrees (and are chilly) and although my room thermometer is set to 80, the room temperature has not risen above 70. I am staying here because it was the only option I had. If given a choice, I would relocate. Perhaps this review will assist the hotel in improving.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

The room was spotless. We had the one bedroom suite, so the bed and bathroom were in their own room. The hair dryer was annoying, it doesn't have an on/off button. You have to push the handle to keep it on. Bring tape or an extra elastic to keep on the handle so you don't break your fingers trying to hold it in. No big deal. =)
We don't really like to have the room cleaned while we're there (we're tidy people ourselves) but were quite impressed to find new towels/toilet paper at our door without even having asked! We ran the dishwasher ourselves and made dinner on the stove often. The TV's were really nice, and had digital cable. The TV's each had a remote but the remote controlled both TV's...so if we turned off the TV in the living area, the TV in the room would turn on, and vice versa (despite a wall being between them).
The guest information guide is outdated. You couldn't order movies since the had just switched over to digital cable, and this needed to be updated in the guest information guide, along with many other things - such as the pet rate, which had changed...the grocery shopping list (none to be found in the room, as stated in the guide), there wasn't even popcorn in the provided basket like the guide said there would be. Just little things.
Parking was fantastic. The pool was nice. The hot tub was nice also. One night there was a group of girls down there trying to get pictures, and were very loud and continually jumped in the pool as a group (the pool was missing at least half the water it started with by the time they were done) and they were running around like crazy. For all the noise they made, no one from the front desk came to ask these pre-teens where their adult supervision was. The pool is across from the lobby check-in desk, so they couldn't have missed seeing/hearing it.
My fiance tried the breakfast most mornings, and returned continually disappointed each time. They were always missing something - food had run out, utensils were gone, no syrup...that sort of thing. But your room has it's own kitchen so anyone complaining about the breakfast is just lazy. =P

Overall, this place was incredible, we were very impressed, and my cats didn't even want to leave to go back home. The staff was friendly and helpful. Just don't buy from the "Marketplace" next to check-in - way overpriced!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cirqueus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, CT
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

Stayed 4 nights while we visited the Hudson River Valley historic sites. Room was spacious, not extravagant, but comfortable. King-Size bed was very comfortable. There are new flat screen HD TVs, and the heating system is quiet and keeps room comfortable temperature. Excellent hot breakfast served every morning -- waffles are very good! Overall, a great place to stay at a reasonable price, including breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasRei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

We had a one bedroom suite. There was a pull-out couch and we asked for a cot. With the couch and cot there was hardly any room in the suite. Room comes with a kitchenette. The breakfast was disappointing. One of the waffle irons was sticky. You feel like someone opened some cans at the back and you're eating the contents. I skipped the coffee and went to the Starbucks at the plaza in front of the hotel. Decent pool. Close to Hyde Park if you want to take in FDR Museum and Culinary Institute of America.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p8patyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls
3.1 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Poughkeepsie

Property: Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Address: 2525 South Rd, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5465
Region: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#5 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Poughkeepsie 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Poughkeepsie Hotel has perfected the extended stay experience by combining the comforts of home with all the perks of a hotel. Situated directly in front of IBM and minutes from The Culinary Institute of America and Marist College, our hotel is perfect for project teams, relocations, temporary housing or corporate housing in Poughkeepsie, NY. Our all-suite Poughkeepsie hotel rooms offer separate areas for sleeping, living and dining. Unwind in our heated indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, Sport Court or game room. During your stay, you will feel at home with our complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet, The Residence Inn Mix - complimentary evening socials featuring local flavors, on-site yoga studio, complimentary WiFi access and friendly 24-hour hotel staff. In beautiful Hudson Valley, the Residence Inn Poughkeepsie Suites Hotel is close to IBM, Vassar College, the FDR & Vanderbilt Mansions and Millbrook Vineyards. We look forward to serving you in the Marriott tradition of excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Residence Inn Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing