We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercury Grand Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Niagara Falls, NY
Level Contributor
185 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Only OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed at the Clarion when we were visiting our son at college for the weekend. It was the last resort as we were visiting on a holiday weekend and every other place was booked or very expensive. The hotel is in a decent part of town. Check in was quick and the room was easy to find. Much like other reviewer have stated, the rooms are old. Our room was clean, but basic. The beds were ok, if a bit on the stiff side. The bathroom was clean, and water pressure in the shower was good. Small old box TV in the room that had the basic channels. The room was quiet, we did not hear much noise from other guests.

The rooms have drop ceilings, which is something I've never seen in a hotel. Kinda weird.

Breakfast is basic, toast, muffins, sausage, eggs, bacon , cereal, waffle machine, etc. There wash't anything particularly tasty, but nothing offensive either.

All in all, if you need a place to stay, and will not spend a whole ton of time in your room, you should be fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dak1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    26
    17
    34
    77
See reviews for
38
54
21
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
176 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Here for Vassar graduation. The bad: Toilet didn't flush, but they did fix it quickly. Wallpaper peeling, water damage visible on ceiling. Water temp in shower variable, when not expected. TV old model. Breakfast included but everything super sweet, except for rubbery sausage patties and soggy scrambled eggs. The good: beds and pillows. Won't stay here again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Cantorpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poughkeepsie hotels

Bolton Landing, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed here for our daughter's graduation from college. If it were not graduation weekend we NEVER WOULD have stayed here but everywhere else was booked. The rooms have not been updated in over 20 years. The sheets were very thin, there were holes in the sheer curtains, and
cracks in mirrors. This hotel is very run down and needs a major renovation. They should be embarrassed to charge the rate that we payed.

Room Tip: There is no good room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebA402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

After booking through Expedia on a discount not knowing the name of hotel, I then read the reviews of the Clarion here. I was afraid I had made a terrible mistake. I have done this through Expedia before and was very satisfied. The hotel was very good! Yes the hallway rug looked old, yes the hall ceiling was missing a few tiles, but our room was spotless, the staff extremely helpful, and room was by far the quietest I can remember staying in! it was well worth the price with hot breakfast included.

Room Tip: We had room 259
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Mold and Disrepair

I attended a conference here, but chose to eat and sleep elsewhere because I read the reviews. Thank goodness for Tripadvisor. After seeing the common areas of the hotel, I shudder to think what the sleeping rooms are like. The property appears to have a serious moisture problem. One of the ladies rooms has mold growing up the wall. A sitting area just off the lobby is nicely decorated with wooden bookshelves and local history photographs, but if you look up, you see peeling paint, stained ceiling panels, and cobbled repairs. There is no elevator, and conference attendees with mobility issues had great difficulty negotiating the stairs to the ballroom, especially since one handrail had become detached from the mirrored wall.

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood Lake, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Although the people working there were very nice, the place was very shabby and run down. It was almost as if someone had tried to take over but didn't really know how to do it. We were there for a weekend conference. The same food was served all weekend and was not good. They kept running out, as well. Our room was lacking a hair dryer and ironing board and the smell of smoke was overwhelming. No elevators, and it is 3 floors, so no handicapped accessibility. I do have to say that the pillows were good!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

True the place needs WORK, no refrigs, no microwaves, no balconies,no elevator. Expect to do some walking to your room. But housekeeping was right on top of things, even called the room every day to see if I needed service and If they could clone Jeanine at the front desk she was terrific. The other front desk people need to take pointers from her and get more informed (when you ask a question about the business center you don't expect to get the answer ummm I'm really not sure how thing work). The bed was very comfortable, but ask for a extra blanket.When I ordered dinner, they had run out of chicken.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JustVisiting091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
4.0 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercury Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercury Grand Hotel

Property: Mercury Grand Hotel
Address: 2170 South Rd, Rt. 9, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601 (Formerly formerly Clarion Hotel )
Region: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercury Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercury Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Poughkeepsie
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing