We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value Hotel - I Strongly Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercury Grand Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
New Jersey
1 review
“Great Value Hotel - I Strongly Recommend”
Reviewed 2 November 2009

It's a very beautiful hotel as soon as you enter it.... the staff is very frandly and ready to help from check in to anything you want to know about the areas. Delicious food in the restaurant. Fantastic bar for drinkers. Best full service hotel in poughkeepsie, Fishkill, wappinger falls area in terms of quality of service and money you pay for that. Great Value Hotel, I Strongly Recommend.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    26
    17
    34
    77
See reviews for
38
54
21
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Let me start with a disclaimer...a friend and I decided, AT THE LAST MINUTE - (2 wks out), to attend the NYS Sheep and Wool Festival in Rhinebeck. Everything for miles around was booked. We were able to book a non-smoking (important to us) room with two beds, including hot breakfast, for $89/Friday, $125/Saturday (AAA rate). (compared to $209+ each night nearby).

Pros: The room was clean, the beds were comfortable (double-sheeted blanket), and the breakfast was good. They offered excellent scrambled eggs, two meats each morning, hash browns, french toast, fresh fruit, coffee, milk, & juice, along with cereals, english muffins, and bagels. We asked for a room away from the Comedy Club (based on recommendations here) and got it. FREE Wi-fi. Fitness Center. Coffee maker in room.

Cons: There was traffic noise from the street, although it was drowned out by the sound of the heater (thankfully I brought earplugs) and the thermostat was tempermental. The ice machine didn't work (but the desk clerk escorted me into the kitchen and personally filled my cooler from the giant ice machine there). The shower was demon-posessed. Only cold water would come out of the shower head while hot water came out of the "bath" nozzle, pooling around my feet because the drainage was "less than adequate."

If not for the full, hot breakfast, I would agree with a previous reviewer and say that it is not quite up to par with other AAA three diamond hotels. For us, because there wasn't much to choose from, it served its purpose...and considering the breakfast and free wifi...was actually a value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom2Schnauzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2009

For the $189 I payed for this hotel, it was not worth it! It was a sad hotel in need of an extreme makeover. The room was outdated, and they must have been covering a smell, because the room was heavily covered in a potpourri. The carpet was stained and dirty. Our room was in the basement level, and the corridors from the main stairway was not even lit down there. And the complimentary "hot" breakfast was not delicious. The "hot" eggs tasted like metal. The orange walls of the dining hall was ugly and the furniture belonged in a dump. Basically, it was not an appetizing room to be eating in at all. I never ever want to go back to this hotel. Its says its a three star, I would say its half a star, at best.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mid-Range_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poughkeepsie hotels

Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

The room was ok - I don't think it rates 3 stars. However, a wedding reception which was hosted at the hotel during our stay could have been taking place in our room. There can't be any sound proofing at this hotel. We were told the event would end at 9:30PM but it did not end until 10:30PM. We were one of many travelers who complained to the front desk attendant who was non-responsive.
Then at check out I found that my card had been charged an additional 25% for 'incidentals' - the front desk' attendant's words. I asked to speak to the manager who said this was typical billing policies. I asked why there wasn't any type of notification and he just continued to say it was standard billing policies. He then proceeded to charge my card the correct amount and now my account is reflecting 2 charges because the 1st charge has not dropped off yet!
I think this is fraudulent billing by this hotel and I intend to notify the BBB and AAA.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

We arrived for a weekend getaway. We had 2 rooms for 2 couples with children. Upon check-in, one room was completely filthy and unmade. We were then swiched to another room that had a musty smell, stained and burned bedsheets, non-working lamps, non-working clock and I can go on. The other room was also just as bad. The hallways had a musty odor and the hotel is simply disgusting. The only nice part of the hotel is the lobby, which is deceiving. Other hotel guests were also complaining. The sign says AAA gave it a 3 star rating. I am going to contact them and see if this is true or outdated. Definitley do not stay here!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eastquogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing,W.Sussex,UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Having read the reviews of this hotel, we were worried about what we would find. In fact, we were pleasantly surprised. The room was quite comfortable and the restaurant was very good. The hotel does need some updating but generally is ok. On arrival we were given a voucher for 10% off an evening meal and a free breakfast buffet which was pretty good. Would recomment this hotel to anyone who does not want to spend too much.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sussexlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central New York State
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2009

I had read some bad reviews about this hotel and was nervous about our stay. We stayed on a Saturday night- there were two shows at the comedy club and a loud wedding going on. Bass was thumping loudly in the front of the hotel. I requested a quiet room away from the noise and got a nice, clean, quiet room on the upper level (rm 375). It was a long walk from the car to the room and I didn't see an elevator so this could be an issue for those that have trouble with stairs. The room had a king size bed, couch, desk, desk chair, small TV, two phones, bedside tables, lots of drawers, coffee pot, hairdryer, iron & board, closet, nice bath, and free wireless internet. Everything worked in the room and we slept well. Had to go down a floor to find an ice machine, this floor had smoking rooms and the hallway reeked of cigarette smoke. The front desk staff was friendly. We didn't partake of the included hot breakfast so I can't comment on that. A great value for $79 from Priceline!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fynster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
410 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
266 reviews
4.0 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
545 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercury Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercury Grand Hotel

Property: Mercury Grand Hotel
Address: 2170 South Rd, Rt. 9, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601 (Formerly formerly Clarion Hotel )
Region: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercury Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercury Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Poughkeepsie
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing