We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marriott never disappoints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Certificate of Excellence
Central Village, Connecticut
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Marriott never disappoints”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We had a very pleasant experience here. The desk staff (and all the employees for that matter) were courteous and friendly. The room was spotless, as was the rest of the hotel. Everything worked and we had no complaints with any of the accommodations.

The Bistro was a minor disappointment because the first night we were there we had planned to have a light dinner after a big lunch nearby. Unfortunately, they had run out of most of the things we requested, apparently due to a big crowd the prior night. We wound up going to a nearby TGI Fridays as a result.

We were surprised by the color scheme in the room - colors were very bright. This seemed to date the hotel a little - but nothing was worn and there were no signs of anything being outdated.

The toilet is one of those new-fangled low flow units, which drives everyone nuts. I don't understand how you save water when you have to flush twice every time. But that's not Marriott's fault, I guess.

Overall, a very pleasant stay and we would definitely stay there again. The location is excellent, nearby are several universities, the Culinary Institute, and the Franklin Roosevelt museum and library (worth every penny to visit - it can take more than 4 hours to see it all, so go early). Also the Vanderbilt mansion is nearby, but we didn't get to see it this trip. We want to go back to do the 'walk across the Hudson' in the spring or summer.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, facing the courtyard. The rooms were extremely quiet; there was a girls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fusion_Pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    186
    64
    13
    8
See reviews for
124
123
22
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The front desk people at this property are wonderful.

Kemorene Henry is above and beyond what we normally find in the best of hotels. She's great.

The other front desk staff members we met were also just wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayorsat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I come up here on business once a month and this place is very cozy. The staff seems to always be friendly. I usually request the first floor not basement floor because its out of the way. The fitness room is great for a quick cardio session. Pool is indoors and good for a swim. Do not waste money on the Bistro place. The are over priced and there are many places near the hotel to grab cheaper better food!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Poughkeepsie_GM, General Manager at Courtyard Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your candid feedback from your recent stay. I know there are many hotel choices in Poughkeepsie, we are very thankful for your loyalty. I am pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable and the staff was friendly. Please reach out to me personally when your travels bring you back to the Hudson Valley. I would be pleased for the chance to have you sample some of the seasonal fresh menu items in our Bistro. I know you will be pleasantly surprised with the variety and freshness of the ingredients!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We were in town for a pre-Thanksgiving visit w/ family. We chose Courtyard based on price & previous stays here for family visits and business trips before our daughter & her family lived here. The Courtyard is dependable for providing a comfortable, pleasant stay; everything working as expected in our room and staff that makes you feel welcome.
We had our family in to use the indoor pool on this extremely quiet weekend at the inn. Very pleasant w/ only one other family also in the pool while we were all enjoying ourselves.
The only things that we could ask for were a lower nightly rate, (all lodging is high around here), and a complementary breakfast. But this is the Hudson Valley and that is wishful thinking.
All in all, very enjoyable!

Room Tip: Courtyard side is quiet in winter without cars or people to make noise. Lone elevator is clear in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrDale14424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here for four nights in late October 2013. We used it as a central location to visit a lot of the Hudson Valley attractions (FDR's home, Vanderbilt Mansion, West Point). In fact, as mentioned in other reviews, one of our destinations, Locust Grove, was within walking distance, and was convenient for taking a walk since the grounds are open during the day. The hotel itself generally worked for us. We were on the first floor, so it was easy to load and unload. We were towards the back of the building, so there was no road noise. The hotel itself is right on US 9, so the traffic going by the front of the hotel can get pretty loud, and I'm not sure how audible it would be in rooms that are close to the front of the building. Also, you can only turn right out of the hotel onto 9 South, so if you want to head north, you'll have to make a U-turn. The room gave us plenty of space and included a coffee maker, which came in handy. Occasionally I could hear noises from the other rooms, but it wasn't to the point of being an annoyance. We had breakfast at the bistro cafe once, but generally went for other meal options since the bistro was rather expensive. Fortunately, there is a grocery store and several restaurants nearby (including Coyote Grill wihin walking distance). Unfortunately, there was no fridge or microwave in the room. The lobby also offered two computers for use, which was covenient. All in all, a worthwhile stay.

Room Tip: The back of the building may be quieter as it is further away from the road. Also, an interior room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jp312trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We only stayed here because our friends booked their wedding block here. The lobby and staff are nice enough but the room was disappointing. Everyone else was placed in upstairs suites. We were placed in a dark, damp basement room separated from the rest of the wedding party. The upstairs rooms were very nice and all had balconies. They allowed us to hold the after party in the lobby, which was great. At the end of the day, the bride was happy, which was really all that mattered. I would like to believe that we just had an unusual experience, and so I am going to give them an average rating. That being said, we won't be returning to this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NicholoBlahnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POUCH1988, General Manager at Courtyard Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience from your recent stay at our property. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your room assignment and location. We are indeed built against a hill so there are rooms only on one side of the corridor on the ground where your room was located. This may have made the hallway seem less bright than other areas of the hotel. Some of our hotels do offer balconies or flat patios in about 50% of the standard rooms. Please do not hesitate to request these features in advance and our staff will make every effort to accommodate your party. Thank you again for your visit. Please feel free to contact a manager directly should your travels bring you back to the Hudson Valley. We would appreciate the opportunity to provide you with an enhanced experience on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We recently stayed at the Courtyard Marriott in Poughkeepsie, NY for a wedding and the service, accommodations and staff assistance was excellent; specifically Asifa and Kem?sp were especially pleasant and helpful with all of our requests. I would stay at this hotel again. Alice and Joe Pepin,

Room Tip: Only can judge the one I was in on the second floor and was very satisfied. Only thing is they shou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
2.4 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Poughkeepsie

Property: Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Address: 2641 South Rd, Route 9, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5273
Region: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#2 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Poughkeepsie 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Poughkeepsie boasts a convenient location to popular area attractions, local businesses and top corporations, including Marist College, The Culinary Institute of America, and the IBM Poughkeepsie facility. Our Poughkeepsie, NY hotel features 149 renovated guest rooms and suites with luxury bedding, a comfortable seating area, large work desk with ergonomic chair, high-speed Internet access, well-lit bathroom vanities with Paul Mitchell(R) products, and more. Unique among hotels in Poughkeepsie, NY, our interactive GoBoard(R) enables guests to view the latest news, weather, and airport conditions. The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) - at our Poughkeepsie hotel offers cafe-style meals, Starbucks(R) coffee, and an evening cocktail service. Standing out among other Poughkeepsie hotels, we offer a state-of-the-art busines center with high-speed Internet, boarding pass station, and free printing services. Guests will experience a new perspective on travel when staying at the Courtyard Poughkeepsie hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Courtyard
Poughkeepsie Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing