We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was just "Pough-fect!"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

If you are looking for a functional and friendly hotel in Poughkeepsie, be sure to stay here. The hotel is new, the rooms are well organized and clean, and the lobby is friendly and comfortable. Stayed here for a work related trip and enjoyed time with colleagues in the lobby area. The room was arranged in a unique way with the bed facing the windows, allowing for a nice view (even though there are only a few floors, my room was facing a wooded area and offered a nice perspective). The room was so clean and comfortable without any external noises. The hotel is spread out with only a few floors so the hallways can be a bit of a maze but easy access to stairs and elevators. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. We were close to many good restaurants as well and the location was near Locust Grove and many other historic sites in Poughkeepsie. Definitely a great find,

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows facing the woods; also, there is a sub floor overlooking a courtyard but...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NYTraveler273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POUCH1988, General Manager at Courtyard Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review, we are thrilled that you found our hotel to be just right!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Poughkeepsie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here two nights while visiting the Hudson Valley and FDR sites (presidential library, boyhood home, Eleanor's home at Val-Kill, and Top Cottage). Very clean and spacious rooms. Friendly welcome at front desk.

Room Tip: We faced the parking lot. It was quiet, but if you like landscape views, ask for a room facing the c...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We spent one night at this hotel after visiting Oleana (near Hudson NY) and before visiting the Vanderbilt Mansion in Hyde Park and the Walk Across the Hudson Bridge in Poughkeepsie.


Reception was quick and courteous. While driving, I discovered that I had a tail light/ turn signal out. One of the receptionists directed me to an auto parts store about a mile away. That saved me some search time. Thanks to her!!

Our room was on the first level very near an entrance which was always accessed by room key. The room was very nice with sufficient room and very good amenities.

Parking was good and access to the roads we needed was direct. Although this facility is south of the city of Poughkeepsie and the locations we planned to visit it was only a brief ride to the major sites in Hyde Park.

Our experience here was very good and I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JEDMAD_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

If you stay at the Courtyard, you need to meet Asifa at the front desk. She has the best recommendations and goes out of her way to help. The hotel is very comfortable and well located too--but she is the real star.

Thanks Asifa!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maggie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great location for work, pleasure or family travel. Love the consistency with the Marriott brand. Nice courtyard area, indoor pool, bistro and marketplace. The rooms have been recently renovated. Definitely recommended if in the area!

Room Tip: Request a balcony facing the courtyard area (but no smoking)
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori_Poughkeepsie_GM, General Manager at Courtyard Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you appreciated our brand consistency, new decor and renovations. We look forward to seeing you again at Courtyard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Nice sheets, decent towels, very clean. Nice to be able to open the balcony doors for some fresh air.
We called ahead & requested a ground floor room. When we checked in we were given a 2nd floor room, desk clerk corrected it & directed us to the best entrance. It was a long hallway & we found we were closer to another entrance but this would have a stairwell to the parking lot. So, It would seem we had a 2nd floor room! The property is on a hill. A little thing but we felt we were hustled a little by the desk clerk.
However, we were very pleased with the room. AC can be a bit noisy but I always travel with earplugs, so this was not a problem.
A nice stay & I would return when in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bklyngirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A 'mere' 18 of our nearest and dearest gathered here to celebrate 8 out of 18 summer birthdays. We try to do this every year, and this year Poughkeepsie was the choice. We biked the rails to trails. We biked and walked the 'Walkway over the Hudson. We visited Hyde Park (FDR). We dined at 'Shadows on the Hudson'. Some folks stayed up until 2:30 am playing 'Settlers of Catan'. As the title says, it was a stompin' good time.

The fine people at the Courtyard, Kem, Latoya, Asifa and Margese, were extraordinarily helpful. They could not have treated us better. We highly recommend them and their colleagues, and the facility.

Room Tip: Ask the staff for advice. It worked for us.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MikeJeanDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POUCH1988, General Manager at Courtyard Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

We are so delighted that you and your family choose to celebrate here in the Hudson Valley. What a privilege to be your host hotel! Thank you for your confidence and wonderful comments regarding our hotel and staff. It was so kind of you to recall so many names of the associates that helped make your experience memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
281 reviews
2.4 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
268 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Poughkeepsie

Address: 2641 South Rd, Route 9, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5273
Region: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#2 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range: £84 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Poughkeepsie 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Poughkeepsie boasts a convenient location to popular area attractions, local businesses and top corporations, including Marist College, The Culinary Institute of America, and the IBM Poughkeepsie facility. Our Poughkeepsie, NY hotel features 149 renovated guest rooms and suites with luxury bedding, a comfortable seating area, large work desk with ergonomic chair, high-speed Internet access, well-lit bathroom vanities with Paul Mitchell(R) products, and more. Unique among hotels in Poughkeepsie, NY, our interactive GoBoard(R) enables guests to view the latest news, weather, and airport conditions. The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) - at our Poughkeepsie hotel offers cafe-style meals, Starbucks(R) coffee, and an evening cocktail service. Standing out among other Poughkeepsie hotels, we offer a state-of-the-art busines center with high-speed Internet, boarding pass station, and free printing services. Guests will experience a new perspective on travel when staying at the Courtyard Poughkeepsie hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Courtyard
Poughkeepsie Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing