We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The extras that matter”
Review of Poughkeepsie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poughkeepsie Inn
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Reviewed 16 August 2013

In addition to the clean, comfortable, and quiet room, the Poughkeepsie Inn management took extra steps to contact me about my forgotten tablet found by housekeeping. The friendly and thoughtful manager took steps to mail it to me immediately. Our overnight stay was just right. Next door, the coyote grill dished up a delicious meal on a late sunday night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DairyQueen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed here for one week. It was head and shoulders above what I expected. The staff is customer friendly and their service was superb! My room was clean, bed comfortable and I felt secure all throughout my stay. They have an onsite laundry facility that is not expensive ($1.50 per machine).They are walking distance from five top notch restaurants (A Chinese buffet, Friday's, Coyote Grill, a Mexican restaurant and Wendy's), a supermarket, two shopping plazas. For breakfast, you can have continental or eat at IHOP which is 2 minutes by car. It's been a wonderful experience. I wholeheartedly recommend Poughkeepsie Inn. It's clean, family friendly, pet friendly, quiet and secure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front buildings for great WIFI reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank riverpaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Our room was clean and comfortable... the matress was on the firm side (ok with me)... sheets clean but pillows flat. Good shower.

Breakfast was better than expected, reception was friendly and helpful. Room pice as about $20 too high. I woukd stay again for $80. Better pillows and new FLAT SCREEN TVs would make it a better vakue.

Overall better experience than other reviews would lead you to believe.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jelfrank57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed for 7 nights. A very pleasant stay at this hotel. Owners are very friendly and all hotel employees also very helpfull. Nice and clean room. Good quiet A/C unit. Great location, close by waking distance to shopping and variety of dinning choices. My only observation is the hotel needs an outside full painting and a nicer eye catching sign.

Room Tip: Ask a room close to the front building for better wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miguel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The staff are very accomadating. We get a room on the end because our boys are loud and have trouble sleeping through the night. The place is very close to our sons school and has a great restaurant right across the street. The staff are also very nice to our sons who have autism. It's a great family inn.

Room Tip: Inquire by phone 24hrs in advance of check in about your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roseann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This was the worst hotel we encountered on a month long road trip through the North East. The bedding sheets were full of holes from cigarette burns, the blanket and bed cover were very soiled. The most disgusting item was the stained mattress. I can only imagine what caused the numerous stains. The parking lot was very "busy" through the night and there were characters hanging out at the facility at night.

We booked the hotel through Priceline and thus were unable to get a refund on our money.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank recon68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Yes, it's very convenient, and yes, the staff was pleasant at check in. And yes, the price is excellent - for a reason! Our room was musty, dirty, smelly, the cable box was bolted into the dresser top with metal straps, there was no mattress pad on the bed, and the bedspread was disgustingly stained. Immediately left to find a hotel room elsewhere, and when we returned 90 minutes later to express our complaints and get our money back, we were told that you can only get a refund if you request it within 20 minutes after you check in! I'm not a clean freak, but this room was horrible! Never going near that place again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#4 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
438 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
1.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie
Red Roof PLUS Poughkeepsie
#8 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poughkeepsie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poughkeepsie Inn

Address: 2625 South Rd, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5396
Region: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Price Range: £57 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Poughkeepsie Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Poughkeepsie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Econo Lodge Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing