We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cozy Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
No.Springfield,VT
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Cozy Room”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Holiday Inn express this last weekend. Check in went quickly. I asked for a room close to the lobby and was given one with a King sized bed. Just what we wanted. The room was immaculate and quite cozy. We were only staying for one night but I was impressed with the micro-wave, the large frig. and coffee maker. The TV came in fine and had all the channels. The bed was really comfortable as were the pillows. The bathroom was very clean and had nice amentinites The only downside was the door had a gap between the door itself and the door frame which let in light and noise from the hallway. The noise level from the hallway was considerable especially at one in the morning, coming from inconsiderate guests.
The breakfast area was quite crowded but the breakfast items offered were very good and more than just cereal,toast and fruit. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. Oh and ask for a room on the second floor!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meggie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiepoughkeepsie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We are thrilled that you choose to stay with us during your visit to the area last weekend and thank you for your review. I am very pleased to read that you were impressed with our clean, comfortable rooms and delicious breakfast offerings. We strive to provide great value to our guests, which is why it is our pleasure to include a microwave and refrigerator in every one of our 121 rooms, something that most other area hotels charge an additional fee for or only offer in select higher cost rooms. I hope that you will accept my sincere apologies for the noise of other guests that you experienced, this is something that has been brought to our operations management team so that we can ensure it will not happen again. I have also alerted maintenance to look into our first floor room doors. Thank you again for your feedback!

Warmest Regards,

Katherine Gambino
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    152
    65
    21
    6
See reviews for
125
85
19
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fanwood, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were here to visit the Culiary & scour the wineries. Great location, close to lots of fun activities, we did the Walkway over the Hudson and River Cruise too! The staff was very helpful and friendly, even taking the time to explain the rewards club! The breakfast was great! Hot eggs, bacon and sausage, cinnamon rolls, bagels, english muffins, yogurt, milk, cereal, fruit, oatmeal, tea, coffee and juice! They even offered trays to take things back to your room! The best part was, even though the breakfast technically ended at 10am, they did not rush to clear things away. That alone made me feel welcome!! There was also a huge group in attendance while we were there - and there was always plenty of food at the breakfast & coffee & tea 24 hours too! The room was clean, bed comfy, they brought extra towels asap. Yummy cookies at front desk on Friday night is also such a treat!! We will be back next year! Thanks

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom23sings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiepoughkeepsie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review of our hotel! I am glad that you enjoyed your interactions with our accommodating breakfast staff and our helpful front desk associates who explained the IHG Rewards Club program to you. IHG Rewards Club is the best hotel rewards program on the market today in my opinion because the points accrue fast and can not only be redeemed for free hotel stays but also for gift cards, entertainment tickets, charitable donations and more! We are here 24/7 at the Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie for your assistance with special requests, extra towels & toiletries, concierge services, ect and it would be our pleasure to accommodate you again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Katherine Gambino
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I was here on business one night accompanied by family. The pros: the room was quiet and dark, and the front desk staff were friendly and efficient. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel away from Rt. 9 for a quieter stay. Breakfast options were fine with me, pretty standard. The breakfast room was crowded, because something was going on at the Culinary Institute, but it was a nice enough day for people to take breakfast out on the patio. There's a nice pool, although it's outdoors, unheated and closes early (8 p.m., I think) and the shallow and deep ends are separated by a lane divider, so lap swimming is not possible.

The cons: a wad of chewed gum stuck to the bedside lamp and spotty TV service. (The sound and audio would go out of sync and we had to repeatedly back out of and re-enter TV mode to fix it.) More importantly, the room wasn't set up well for a family. It was a king-bed room with a pull-out sofa. But the bed and sofa are at a right angle on perpendicular walls and when you pull out the sofa bed it blocks access to the left side of the bed -- literally, you have two inches of room between them. The person on the left side of the bed has to crawl down to the bottom of the bed to get out. There would be room to put the sofa bed on the same wall as the bed and have it pull out beside it, if the bedside table weren't as long as it is. I can't imagine why they've chosen this configuration. All in all, fine for a business stay, but I wouldn't linger with family.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, ask for a room on the top floor away from Rt. 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveSmall,TravelBig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiepoughkeepsie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we value guest feedback as we use it to continuously improve so that we can offer the very best in accommodations. I was pleased to read the positive feedback in your 'Pros' section. However, I would like to personally apologize for the unacceptable findings on the side of your bedside lamp. Our housekeeping staff is very thorough when cleaning the rooms so I was surprised that this was missed and I want to assure you that I have brought it to the attention of our Executive Housekeeper to ensure that this unfortunate overlook will not happen again. I also want to apologize that you were not satisfied with the configuration of our king bed guestroom. I think that our rooms with two double beds would be a better fit for your family if you should choose to give us another chance to show you that we are a good fit for both business and family stays, which I very much hope that you will. Thank you again for your review and your valued feedback!

Warmest Regards,


Katherine Gambino
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is the second time I have had to use this hotel in an emergency situation. Front desk is always very accommodating and friendly. The bed is extremely comfortable and the room is clean and well appointed. Breakfast is also very good and has a nice variety.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane2484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiepoughkeepsie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Wow, thanks so much for your high recommendation of our hotel! Any emergency situation can be difficult, but our staff is always here to help. I'm glad that you were pleased with our friendly and accommodating service as well as our comfortable, clean guestrooms and delicious breakfast buffet variety. I hope that you will visit to stay with us again for a nonemergency trip. I think a relaxing getaway to one of the many amazing spas in the area is in order!

Warmest Regards,


Katherine Gambino
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Was booked at this hotel by the Culinary Institute of America for a program held for our son for two nights in July. The location is immediately on Route 9 and located within 5 miles of many shop, restaurants, grocery stores, etc. Is about 5 miles to the Culinary Institute of America, 15 miles to the Vanderbilt Mansion and Franklin Delano Roosevelt (FDR) House, and about 45 minutes to West Point Military Academy.

The breakfast was plentiful with cinnamon buns, eggs, sausage, ham, make your own pancakes, cereals, yogurts, fruit cups, bagels, assorted breads, juices, coffees, teas, etc. Complimentary cookies, coffee, tea, and USA Today and local newspapers are provided.

Our room was quiet and did not face the highway. It was spacious enough, but only had double beds (much smaller than we were used to). The room itself had a refrigerator, microwave, iron, ironing boards, and travel essentials.

Overall, the hotel is a much older hotel showing obvious signs of wear, but was clean. Check in/check out was quick and efficient.

Room Tip: Be sure and ask for a room located away from the front of the hotel so it is not facing the Route 9...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teambono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiepoughkeepsie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie during your recent trip to visit our lovely area's historic sites and the CIA! I was very happy to read all of your positive feedback with our hotel about our delicious complimentary breakfast buffet, daily fresh baked cookies and complimentary USA today paper available for all of our guests everyday. We would be honored to welcome you back to stay with us again during your next trip to Poughkeepsie. Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Warm Regards,

Katherine Gambino
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia Falls, Montana, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We were here for a week while visiting relatives. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. We needed a few more clothes hangers and they were happy to oblige. The complimentary breakfast had a wide variety and something for anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiepoughkeepsie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time out to share your experience at our hotel with the TripAdvisor community! Our friendly and helpful staff is here 24/7 to assist with all guest requests, so we were happy to provide those extra hangers to you. Our dedicated pantry staff always puts in that extra effort to ensure our complimentary breakfast buffet is up to the high standards that our guests deserve and I'm glad that you enjoyed it. We would love to have you back to stay with us again during your next family visit! We offer great group discounts for family reunions too!

Warmest Regards,

Katherine Gambino
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarrytown
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We went to Poughkeepsie to celebrate our wedding anniversary with dinner at the Culinary Institute of America and decided to make a day of it and stay over. The staff were all very nice and accommodating. We have a king room which was clean and very comfortable. The outside pool was perfect at the end of sight seeing on a hot day. All and all an enjoyable stay. Oh and Hyde Park has a drive in movie theater. You never see them anymore!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momacita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiepoughkeepsie, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We are thrilled that you chose to stay with us for your wedding anniversary trip! I'm sure that the Culinary Institute of America was the perfect dinning spot for you both on your special day. Since we are located so close to the Culinary Institute, it is so much more convenient to just stay overnight with us instead of enduring a long drive home after an indulgently delicious meal. Thank you so much for detailing your satisfaction with our staff and clean, comfortable rooms. Our outdoor pool and patio is a popular spot during the beautiful Dutchess County summer weather and I'm glad that you enjoyed it! The Hyde Park drive-in movie theatre is a great landmark that was established in 1950! I have been seeing movies there since I was a little girl and I have to say it is certainly something worth traveling for, there's no better way to watch the latest movies! There is SO much to see and do in Dutchess County. We hope that you will come back to visit all of the wonderful area attractions that you did not get a chance to view and that you will stay with us again when you do!

Warmest Regards,

Katherine Gambino
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
422 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
264 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
277 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie

Property: Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Address: 2750 South Rd, Rt. 9 & Sharon Dr., Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-5282
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#5 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie is a newly renovated hotel, located in the heart of the Hudson Valley. The upgrades have been specifically designed for the modern day traveler and family who need modern efficiency without sacrificing comfort. As always you can enjoy our complimentary, deluxe hot breakfast in the newly renovated Great Room. Connect with family and friends or get all of your important work done without any hassle by using the complimentary, high-speed wireless Internet. Enjoy your daily workout routine with new Lifefitness equipment in the 24 hour fitness center. Guests can enjoy the new features in the rooms such as: 6 USB ports to charge all your devices, new 50 inch flat screen television, and furniture designed for the modern day traveler. Each room has a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee machine. As always the plush bedding will ensure you get a rejuvenating night’s sleep. Guests visiting the area for business or pleasure can enjoy the convenience to the popular destinations such as the Culinary Institute of America, IBM, Vassar College, Marist College, and Vassar Brothers Medical Center. While visiting the scenic Hudson Valley, guests should make plans to see sights like the Walkway Over the Hudson, Frances Lehman Loeb Art Center and the Samuel L. Morse home at Locust Grove. Enjoy live entertainment at The Bardavon Opera House, Chance Theatre, and Mid-Hudson Civic Center, located only minutes from the hotel. The hotel is also a great location when venturing out to Historic Hyde Park and Rhinebeck which host the Franklin D. Roosevelt Home & Library, Vanderbilt Mansion and Eleanor Roosevelt Park, and Dutchess County Fairgrounds. Enjoy the convenience by taking the Metro North Train into Grand Central Station in New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Holiday Inn Poughkeepsie
Poughkeepsie Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing