We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel. An 80's vibe.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average hotel. An 80's vibe.”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed for a week on business. The free breakfast is very solid and good. Staff are nice, with Keisha being very friendly and helpful. Rooms are O.K. with older tube TVs and old bath/shower one piece units. There are some good restos and bars (by small town standards) nearby. The hotel bar has odd hours and is not cheap. Not a glam hotel but good enough if you are not too fussy.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a river view. The street view can get noisy with vagrants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadhemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    78
    63
    34
    25
See reviews for
84
62
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lagrange, NY
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Had a friends party in one of the party rooms in the front hotel and it was perfect. We had open bar and a lot of food which was basic but presented beautifully. That being said, we were not happy when the food, which was barely touched was removed promptly two hours into the party, as many guests arrived late and from out of town or were socializing. I spoke with many people after the party that did not even realize that there was food served which was very upseting considering the $9,000 price tag. All in all, nice place. But very rushed. Also, overbooked rooms so had to have guests with reservations stay in our room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cerveza930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albany,ny
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

This is the first place I have stayed that did not provide any type of glass or cup in the bathroom. no ice buckets either but since there are no ice machines i guess it kinda makes sense.
I asked 5 other guests and they all confirmed. Rooms are outdated, beds are awful and the tv's are small and old, no hd here. Bartenders have the personality of sponges and the free breakfast is military style in a vacant banquet room.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed only one night, as the prices were too high to stay there both nights of our trip, and our room was comped as we were part of the bridal party. However, regardless we were disappointed with three things:
1. Room service was ordered by the bridal party for the Bride and Groom on the wedding night- and was delivered to the grooms brother. While a member of the wedding party, it was specifically stated to be delivered to the bride and groom, who have completely different last names than the person it went to- who was also not in the bridal suite!
2. Water pressure and temperature control in our room were poor- we had little water pressure and were woken at 6AM because our room had reached over 80 degrees- with the AC "running"- other members of our party had the same issue.
3. The complimentary breakfast included with our stay (and that of what appeared to be the majority of guests stays) reminded us at every dish that "gratuity is not included". Thank
you- that is good to know. Once. Not at every dish I pass, and then again at the table.

While the hotel itself was pleasant, the staff was pleasant, and the aesthetics gorgeous, I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here again- the Quality Inn down the street was much better for half the price.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raspberryangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Actually this is the only hotel in the Poughkeepsie city limit at this time..Nice hotel,,large rooms,,ask for the river view side of the hotel..Connected to the Mid Hudson Civic Center which is located at Main st and Civic Center Plaza! Free parking for guests at the parking garage connected to the hotel.I was here for a family reunion,,the food was good and good service..There is also at least 5 great restaurants, a few bars and night clubs within walking distance,,but you have to be careful late at night..I didnt like that they lock all exterior doors at 11pm and you can only use the front door to get into the hotel,,they have to buzz you in...

Room Tip: Get a river/mountain view room. Most of the rooms on the west side of the hotel have mountain views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeropero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomasville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

After driving 11 hours to a place I have never been and wondering where I would stay I found this hotel. From the moment I called for rates they treated me like royalty. I was given an awesome room that was very clean.

The on site restaurant was perfect and the price was better.

I must mention Tom at the front desk and Dawn at the restaurant.

Thank You Poughkeepsie Grand

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Just got married at the Poughkeepsie Grand on Sept. 2nd. The people and service went well above my expectations! We booked the Diamond Package, and there was enough delicious food to feed a third world country! Our planner was a sweetheart, and special thanks go out to the staff that was assigned to our night, as they could not have been nicer! Our guests are still raving about the food, and the entire night! We belong to a yacht club, and attend numerous parties during the year. Many of our guests were friends from the club. They couldn't say enough good things about it. Thank you Poughkeepsie Grand for making our special evening, more special than I could have imagined!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
578 reviews
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel

Property: Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Address: 40 Civic Center Plz, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-3118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing