We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not impressed at all”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We too stayed for a wedding, and yes the trolley to the Grandview was great, but I didn't sleep the entire night! The bed was hard as a rock-I felt like I was sleeping on a table! I travel often and am used to beds that are subpar, but this was the worst I have ever encountered. Also we had problems with the AC in the room. It only cooled that side and the rest of the room was very warm.
Would not stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triptakers84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    77
    63
    33
    25
See reviews for
84
62
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
katona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Grand Hotel sits in a rather desolate area that is currently under some construction. We we there for a wedding at the nearby Grandview. There is a no fee parking garage for the guests. An elevator brings one right into the lobby. Check in was easy and the staff is very accommodating. The complimentary trolley service to and from the Grandview ran frequently, without incident. The king size bed in our room was firm and comfortable. The bathroom was well equipped with toiletries and plenty of towels. The walls don't offer much protection from hall noise, however. The hotel's house breakfast offers more than enough choices for anyone from an omelette bar to both hot and cold selections. The interior of the lobby, bar, and it's hallways are far better looking with the beautiful light fixtures than the somewhat drab hotel rooms. Overall, not a bad place for one night .

Room Tip: The hotel claims to be all non smoking, but some rooms smelled of stale smoke! Ask for a room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night to attend a wedding at The Grandview. THe free trolley shuttle provided by the hotel was a great plus for the wedding.

The hotel itself was nothing special. It is old and show its age in some places. The rooms are small, but ok for a night or two.

The air conditioning needs to be improved in the hallways and common areas. Also, the room unit only ran at one fan level even though it said low medium and high. One of the sliding mirrored doors on our closet was off of the track and the A/C return vent was loaded and caked with dust. These things are just poor housekeeping.

I wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicagokris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congers, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My family and I stayed here this past weekend for one night to attend a family wedding. Given the mixed reviews on TA, I almost booked another hotel in the area, but my family talked me out of it. For the ease of being with the rest of our family and friends, the hotel proved to be just fine.

LOCATION: The hotel was very easy to get to by car - just a mile or so from the Mid-Hudson bridge. The attached parking garage (also used for the Poughkeepsie Civic Center) is a great convenience, but, unfortunately gives a terrible first impression to the hotel. The parking garage and attached elevator are dirty and shady-looking; we weren't there at night, but if lighting is not adequate, it would certainly feel sketchy. Thankfully, the ambiance improves the moment you step into the hotel lobby, which is very nice.

ROOM: The room is what you would expect from a moderate-level hotel chain. Beds were comfortable and room was clean. Air conditioning worked, toiletries were provided as were fluffy towels. No complaints here. A place to change clothes, shower and sleep. The basics.

BREAKFAST: Breakfast, which was included in the price of our room, consisted of a hot breakfast buffet. French toast, eggs, bacon, sausage, oatmeal, assortment of pastries and an omelette station were all selections to choose from. Again, perfectly adequate, but nothing to wow you. It worked for us because it gave us an opportunity to continue the wedding festivities, see the newlyweds and continue socializing with friends and family.

VALUE: At $200 for the night, inclusive of tax, for 4 people, this wasn't horrible. If I were traveling with my husband alone for the night, I would have hoped for something a little more luxurious for the price.

WEDDING SPECIALTY: While we were at the hotel, it became clear that the venue caters to wedding guests during the weekend. On our way to take family photos in the small, outdoor courtyard, we passed (I believe) 2 wedding receptions already underway on Saturday afternoon, and could only imagine that there would be others in the evening. Trolley service was provided to our venue, The Grandview, which was a helpful and most welcome touch to help with transportation to and from the wedding venue. The hotel bar was open until 2 am to receive guests coming back from the wedding, allowing the festivities to continue.

Overall, the hotel fulfilled a need for us during a very happy occasion. I probably, however, would not return if traveling on our own, as I prefer something a little more luxurious and not cookie-cutter while traveling on vacation.

Room Tip: Our room, and typical 2-queen, immediately overlooked the parking garage, but provided a wonderful v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Two friends and I were eager to visit The Chance to see Ben Marwood, Off with their Heads and Frank Turner. The venue and the show were terrific. The hotel was neither exceptional or awful. The lobby is lovely and the help at the desk friendly, but much like Poughkeepsie, the hotel leaves you with the impression that it has seen better days. The rooms are small and tidy and the bathrooms tiny. One innovation I found interesting, and a little disconcerting, was the assurance that the TV remote was sanitized. I would stay there again, but the price was a little high considering the accommodation.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PGWbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were coming to see the fire works on the Hudson River. We also wanted to walk the WALKWAY.The hotel is located about half a mile from the Poughkeepsie train station. It was clean, the staff was friendly. They had a bar that served food too.
They also included a hot breakfast with our stay and the price was definitely a great value. The room had a fridge and microwave oven which was great for the few items we brought with us. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 632 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This hotel is the best in Poughkeepsie, NY. It give you a feeling of old town friendship and history mixed in with it. When visiting or needing a place to stay in this area, this is the hotel to stay at. The food, employees, rooms, and clean hotel are great!!! Try some old town friendship here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
572 reviews
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel

Property: Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Address: 40 Civic Center Plz, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-3118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing