We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Fishkill, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service was excellent”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Thank you Maureen, Tanya, and Karen. My mother needed help with her accessible room and your staff was there for her. The wedding group loved the hotel. I appreciated the wonderful service your team provided in setting up the rooms and giving out the gift bags. Anyone needing wedding rooms in Poughkeepsie must choose your hotel. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your review. On behalf of Maureen, Karen and myself I would like to say it was our pleasure to have your family and friends stay with us! We thank you for your kind words and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    78
    63
    34
    25
See reviews for
84
62
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights to attend a wedding. It is a very pretty hotel with very accommodating, polite and helpful staff from the time we checked in until we checked out. The rooms were clean, equipped with a small refrigerator, coffee maker and bathroom toiletries. There is an attached garage to park for free if you are a hotel guest, free wifi and complimentary hot breakfast. The only thing I thought was tacky about the delicious breakfast was the tip cups where a gentleman prepares omelets. There was only one functioning elevator which really held up check out. A shuttle driver transported us back to The Grandview. There was a diner, deli, etc. within walking distance of the hotel. The only other disappointment was there was only one bartender on a Saturday night to serve a tremendous amount of people after 2 weddings ended. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank usermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your two night stay with us and we thank you for all your kind words. We will make a note of all your comments. We hope to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed one night for the Hot Air Balloon Festival in July. Upon check in the clerk advised me while I was asking for a high floor that was where the "wedding guests" are usually booked too so it could be loud. I understood and still went with it. We had a great view of the bridges on such a high floor. The only complaint I would have was if there could be more power outlets to charge things. The only one was in the bathroom which was frustrating. The room was comfortable, and not loud at all. There was only one elevator working but it didn't effect me as when I came and went there wasn't anyone around. Price was reasonable considering it was a Saturday night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fireant629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you had a great view from your room. We hope you stay with us again especially for next year's Balloon Festival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Yuck!! Almost $200 a night.......what a rip off for this dump! This place needs some serious updating! Only one elevator working was AWEFUL! It took us almost 30 min. to leave our room in the AM. You can hear the people in the rooms next to you, the sheets were stained and the breakfast at the community eating tables was AWEFUL! I would never stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stewardess79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We do apologize that you had to wait for the elevator, as one elevator is being replaced for the safety of our guests and unfortunately it is never a good time for one elevator to be down. Our breakfast is complimentary for all hotel guests, room service is also available if you did want to have breakfast with others. We will make a note of your comments but calling us a "dump" is harsh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Couple of good things... Free parking, decent bar, ummm... That's about it.
The negatives: one elevator working, rooms are loud as you can here every time someone above or beside you uses their bathroom, so bright in the morning with no way to keep it dark (the curtains are useless), the most uncomfortable mattress I have ever slept on in my entire life (so firm it was like sleeping on a piece of plywood), and an air conditioner that can't handle the size of the room. There are more reasons why you should not stay here but there are too many to list. I think you get the point. Stay somewhere else if you want comfort, quiet, or if just in general you want to be able to sleep.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have a comfortable stay, as our beds did not meet your personal comfort needs. Yes, one elevator is working while our other one is being replaced, as this may be an inconvenience it is for the safety of our guests to replace the elevator. We will make a note of your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed over on our way to New York City. Nice place, comfortable bed, good complimentary breakfast. Staff was courteous and helpful. They offered suggestions and seemed genuinely interested in our trip plans. I would stay again without hesitation.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review and your nice comments on our hotel. We are so happy to hear you would stay with us without hesitation and we look forward to having you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buford, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

When you name yourself the "Grand Hotel" you're setting yourself up to exceed all expectations, especially with the rates being charged. This is more like the "Poughkeepsie Meh Hotel"

Started when the elevator doors opened from the parking garage to very dirty carpets and scuffed walls. Not a "Grand" first impression. The only elevator that was working was very dirty. I can't figure out quite what is going on with the room doors. First hotel I've ever seen where they put the room numbers near the floor using the same reflective number stickers you would use on your mailbox. No clue why they're needed when there's a nice room number plaque on the doors.

The door locks were problematic for me all day. Had to keep putting the key in multiple times and the door handle would not go all the way down to open the door. It would stop short so I couldn't get the door open. I checked with some of my friends also staying on the 7th floor and heard the same story from them.

The room was decent, functional, but nothing special. No in-room safe that I could find which was disappointing. Bed was lousy. Combination of hard and thin mattress.

Attended an event that evening in one of the ballrooms. Food was mediocre, nothing to write home about. However, the security staff got downright rude at the end of the event to kick us out of the room. We were the last event in the room, it ended at 11pm at which time the lights were brought up to full brightness to encourage folks to start leaving. At 11:30 some of us were still chatting when the security guards were pretty forceful is saying we had to clear out so they could break down the room. It was already broken down, nothing left to do, the staff had been cleaning all around us while we were chatting. First time experiencing something like that and really unnecessary for a group that paid quite a bit of money for a ballroom that was done for the evening. Will recommend to the event organizers to find another location for the future.

Breakfast the next morning was..... well I'll just leave it at that.

Overall, this hotel is far overpriced for what it is. Very dirty, badly in need of renovation (which they have supposedly started) There are much better, much cleaner hotels very close by. You can find my reviews for another much better deal hotel nearby.

The only thing that was pleasant about this hotel was the staff, other than security.

Sorry, if this hotel was ever "Grand" it's time has long past.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biscardicreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have a Grand stay. The reason for the room numbers on the bottom of guest room doors, is to identify the room numbers incase of a fire. The security guards are here for everyone's safety and though you could not stay in the banquet room once the function was over, you are more than welcome to go to our lounge or lobby to continue chatting with friends. We are surprised to hear that you did not enjoy the event as this group has hosts many functions here. We are happy to hear the staff was pleasant to you. We are currently renovating and will gladly make a note of your comments. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poughkeepsie hotels
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
578 reviews
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel

Property: Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Address: 40 Civic Center Plz, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-3118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing