We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Option for HITS Saugerties”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bavarian Manor Country Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Purling B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Option for HITS Saugerties”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This turned out to be a great option while at the HITS horse show in Saugerties. It is about a 20 minute drive north of Saugerties along a few scenic country roads. For basically the same price as an impersonal hotel located about the same amount of miles in the opposite direction of the show grounds, this Bed and Breakfast was historic and charming and had a fantastic home cooked breakfast which was included in the room rate. The other nice feature is that when you come back from the show, dusty and tired, there is a quaint little bar with a nice selection of craft beers to cool you down. I liked this Inn and appreciated the easy going pace and relaxed atmosphere, and would definitely stay again while at HITS.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo333NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    26
    8
    4
    8
See reviews for
22
48
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
475 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Step into the Bavarian Manor Inn, and you step back in time. We recently had the pleasure of staying here during a couples getaway in the Catskills. The room we chose (a "cozy") was small but comfortable. We had plenty of time to relax on the porch and enjoy the grounds. We happened to stay during a specialty weekend where there was a comedy show, so the restaurant was closed. We ate in the bar and still had a nice selection of beverages and bar foods (which were really much more than just that and included things like potato pancakes and different sausage dishes.) Breakfast, which was included, was full, with eggs, fruit, and pancakes/waffles. As long as you stay here expecting old world, you will enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton Square, New Jersey
Level Contributor
158 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I really think the Bavarian is the perfect Catskills retreat in so many ways. The grounds are beautiful and it is wonderful to stroll around the pond, bird-watching and making friends with the resident cat and the two wonderful dogs (Sadie and Cooper). You really feel like you are away from everything in Purling, which is just a tiny mountain town, but if you get bored with nature you are only twenty minutes from the shops, galleries, and restaurants of Hudson. We only spent one Friday night at the inn, but we enjoyed having a German feast and cocktails at its German restaurant and bar. German food isn't my favorite but you don't see it very often any more so it's a treat to see it done well, and the desserts are really phenomenal, especially the bee sting cake. The bar is a gathering place for the entire Purling community, so the action spills over into the lobby and out into the wonderful porch, and it's great fun to chat with other patrons or just people watch (it isn't a rowdy scene and everything was quiet by 11 pm). We had a "cozy" room (one of the small budget priced ones) and the bed and pillows were perfect; the shower might have been a little small for a big or tall person but the water pressure was great. The only amenity I really missed in the room was a hair dryer, since they are so common in hotels now and I never bother to pack one any more, but the mountain air did the job while I was eating my delicious complimentary made-to-order breakfast, which impressed even my picky traveling companion.

My only criticism of the inn is that they started cleaning our room while we were eating breakfast instead of waiting for us to check out. When we returned, they had made the bed, which made me wonder if they knew we were leaving or not and if they had changed the linens (the pillow cases looked pretty fresh, but you can't be sure!). They also replaced the towels and the bath mat, which was awkward since one of us still needed to shower and shave. I've seen other hotels do this and it always annoys me because even if they do come back and finish cleaning the bathroom and etc. after a guest does check out, I feel like there is just too much risk of cross contamination (in fact I had a nasty surprise a couple of years ago when I pulled back the sheets at a hotel and I am pretty sure it was due to making up a room before the previous guests had checked out). Other than this, the place seemed very clean and I have a sensitive nose, but I didn't notice any disagreeable odors.

I really love the Bavarian Manor Inn--you can just feel the history, and enjoy the Catskills the way previous generations did, which is a special treat. It's a great value too--you should go!

Room Tip: If you don't mind climbing stairs and want a view, pick a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank develbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floral Park, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Found this wonderful place by accident we just wanted to find a nice German Restaurant in the Catskill area. We travel that area lots of times and never heard of it. Lucky for us the name came on the computer. we booked a room(lovely,clean and comfortable) Dinner was just GREAT, prices are very nice. The Breakfast which is free is better than I do at home. Service could not be better. Everyone makes you feel like family. Can't say enough good about the Bavarian Manor. We are going for our third or fourth time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveling201476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyside, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

can't say enough wonderful things. I was a bit nervous, because we had our dog and we had never stayed at a small inn before. It was just wonderful, they had a gift bag waiting for the dog. the rooms were very nice and neat. just old world charm, very cozy.
The staff and the owners were just wonderful. It was also great that bumblee was allowed in the sitting area, so after a day of skiing @ Windham, we would sit downstairs with the dog, and play checkers or chess and the restaurant bar was right there so we could relax with a great German beer.
We tried the restaurant and they had a vegetarian menu. we ordered different dishes and each was tasty just delicious.
great weekend getaway we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We have a large dog & Bavarian Manor was incredibly accommodating to all of us. The room was clean & comfortable, the host/employees very nice, plus there's beautiful land around the B & B for a dog walk. And, although I'm not usually so keen on German food, the restaurant was great!

I would definitely return, with or without the dog!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spinchick-RRMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Accommodations were great, food very good and a wide variety of German beers on tap and in the bottle. The hosts, Stan and Suzanne made you feel at home and were always available to answer questions .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JASUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Purling
10.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
8.4 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
12.6 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hudson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Winter Clove Inn
Winter Clove Inn
#2 of 4 in Round Top
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Kaaterskill
The Kaaterskill
#2 of 7 in Catskill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
13.2 mi away
Christman's Windham House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Manor Country Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Manor Country Inn & Restaurant

Property: Bavarian Manor Country Inn & Restaurant
Address: 866 Mountain Avenue, County Route 24, Purling, NY 12470
Region: United States > New York > Purling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Purling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bavarian Manor Country Inn & Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bavarian Manor Country Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavarian Manor Country Inn & Restaurant Hotel Purling
Bavarian Manor Country Inn And Restaurant
Country Inn Purling
Purling Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing