We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and restful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn on Lake Champlain
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This was our first experience at a Bed and Breakfast, and owners Nancy and Joe were gracious hosts. We had a very comfortable king-sized bed in a beautifully decorated room that was spotless - the bathroom as well was exceptionally clean. We had the option of eating breakfast at 8 or 9am, and what an awesome breakfast it was! The website accurately describes breakfast as "gourmet" - homemade scones, stuffed french toast, and fresh fruit included.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janeaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Lake Champlain Inn recently. It's a pretty and comfortable house, lovingly renovated by the owners who have been there for more than 20 years. The B and B is well off the beaten track. It's a good twenty minute drive to get to the nearest town for lunch or dinner, so if you want to be closer to places to eat, this is not the spot for you. Also, we found the room to be very small, especially for the price. We had the room pictured in the large photo above. There is basically only space for the bed and a chest in the room. There is one tiny bedside table on one side of the bed, it's so small that you can't even really put your book on it before you fall asleep. The bathroom was also strangely configured so that one had to manoeuvre the door in a certain way to get to the toilet. Our hosts had some last minute important personal business to attend to on our first morning there. Perfectly understandable, we didn't need to have a hot breakfast, and they gave us a key to the house since they left before we awoke. Breakfast was left out for us - one scone, a fruit cup, and coffee. They could have at least left some additional scones or bread in case we were hungry and wanted more, and maybe some butter and jam. For $150 per night, you don't expect to be rationed with one breakfast scone. I have stayed in perhaps 50 different B and Bs all,over the US, Canada, and Europe, and found the Lake Champlain Inn to be average, but not fantastic.

Room Tip: Don't get the smallest room. The other rooms are much more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PMtraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We've stayed in a lot of B&B's and cannot remember any as delightful as Joe and Nancy's. It has everything you'd want in a country getaway. Clean. Comfortable. Pretty. Peaceful. The owners extend themselves to make sure you're pleased and serve an awesome breakfast, too. Stay here. It's exceptional!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertFJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Our stay at The Lake Champlain Inn was delightful in every detail. We loved the decor, the delicious breakfast, the knowledge and helpfulness of our hosts, Joe and Nancy. Their suggestions about sights to see in the area and on our way back home were spot on.
We look forward to returning to the peaceful, quiet setting where guests really do get TLC.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Although the Inn apparently has central air conditioning, it was too warm for us. The queen sized bed was firm and comfortable for me but the footboard made it uncomfortable for my tall husband. The private bathroom was sparkling clean. There was no choice in the menu for breakfast--no eggs, no yogurt, no milk, no cereal--only fruit, juice, coffee, a tasty scone and an extremely bran-rich pancake (if that is what it was??). My digestives are normally fine with my usual diet of salads, nuts and lean meats. I paid the price of eating the bran pancake the next day. I'm glad I was home!

Room Tip: Stay away from the bran pancake. Don't feel pressured into leaving a large tip when they have y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We were the only ones there so it felt like we were in our own home. Should have taken a bigger room but it was for just one night on our way to Montreal.
Owners were lovely and very helpful
Breakfast was delicious. They told us to stop at Ausable Chasm, we did and loved it. Nice to walk off some of that fabulous croissant (the best I've had) and Fritatta. Chasm was beautiful and the raft ride back was fun. You can also tube it back.
Ate dinner at Emerald's at the Country Club I would suggest there and stop at the Wind Chill Factory for Ice Cream/Frozen yogurt!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micheleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

First and foremost, I would like to thank Joe and Nancy for being so kind and attentive to all our needs. This quaint Inn on Lake Champlain was the perfect Anniversary present. My husband and I spent four wonderful, restful nights at this charming place. From the moment we entered their threshold, to the time we left, all our needs were fulfilled. This was our first trip to the Adirondacks and Joe and Nancy made sure we would have a great time. They helped us arrange our days for sightseeing, dining at restaurants (and making reservations for us!), and prepared wonderful breakfasts for us, all with grace and kindness. Nancy even went out of her way to accommodate certain dietary needs (what a gal!) Our room was immaculately clean and the beds were very comfortable. The banter with others guest at the morning breakfast table was so enjoyable we did not want to leave. The rooms are reasonably priced and you certainly get a lot of "bang for your buck". We have stayed at other B&B's and this one tops them all! Thank guys for a great vacation!

Room Tip: The Lake Room had the best view and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terra360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Inn on Lake Champlain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Lake Champlain

Address: 428 County Route 3, Putnam Station, NY 12861
Region: United States > New York > Putnam Station
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Putnam Station
Price Range: £123 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn on Lake Champlain 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on Lake Champlain is a beautiful 440 acre horse farm B&B, nestled just east of Lake George, on the western shore of Lake Champlain. Our guests retreat from the modern world to be refreshed and rejuvenated by the beauty and fresh air of the Adirondacks. We offer four rooms at competitive rates from $90-165.°°/night. At The Inn on Lake Champlain you will be immersed in timeless elegance; from original woodwork, beautiful antiques, original and antique artwork, afternoon tea, lovely, meticulously clean bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, beautiful quilts, luxurious cotton linens, and scrumptious homemade breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn on Lake Champlain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing