We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun tubing time!”

West Mountain Ski Resort
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun tubing time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have been to West before but it had been a couple of years and they are now under new management. Things were great! Kids had a blast tubing and I sat inside and kept warm reading and watching them. Clean and lots of space for people and all the stuff you bring when you ski.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Palmtreelady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    7
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Needs some improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I grew up skiing at West Mountain and it was great when I was a kid because there were inexpensive ski classes. Now that I'm an adult, I find it's difficult to pay the amount they're asking for. I usually only want to ski for 2 hours, and am disappointed you can no longer buy a 2 hour pass. The parking lot needs to be paved. It is covered in pits and is very disorganized without any lines. The lodge needs to be revamped with better storage areas and more space to get around. The trails that are open are good for the intermediate skier, but half of the trails are usually closed all year due to lack of snow or lack of maintenance. There usually aren't many lines to get on lifts, so that's a plus. I also miss the ability to purchase lift tickets at the Northwest Chair, as it was easier to park there, purchase a ticket, and ride up that way (much less congested).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank tarantular50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New ownership”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We recently visited West Mountain Ski Lodge for a family get together. West Mountain is under new ownership with a plan to revitalize the whole area, Ski Lodge, ski lifts, trails, etc. It is a beautiful location, located several miles south of Lake George and just outside Adirondack Park. They are currently offering steep discounts on a season pass. The lodge is spacious with a large bar and dining areas and a beautiful view of the slopes. It promises to be an exciting new winter for skiers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lipapaloNewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming, but seedy.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Everything one wants in a ski center, but a bit run-down. Perhaps business is bad. Nothing challenging, if Alpine skiing is your forte, but great for most folks.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adirondacks, Ny
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great little ski mountain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Small but family friendly ski area that's an easy hop off the Adirondack Northway. Never ridiculously crowded. Welcoming lodge and nice bar and restaurant.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Mountain Ski Resort also viewed

 

Been to West Mountain Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing