We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A crowd in search of coffee.”

Sutton's Marketplace
Ranked #23 of 111 Restaurants in Queensbury
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A crowd in search of coffee.”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

A Monday morning in the Lake George region of NY. A crowd of six in need of a coffee fix and some breakfast. We saw the sign for Sutton's and we were very glad. Six breakfasts and many cups of coffee later, we were ready to hit the road again. Reasonably priced, fresh fresh fresh food ( the eggs were great). Attentive and friendly staff. I felt right at home. So glad we passed by some other places and found this by chance.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jelmwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    60
    24
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Way toooo long for breakfast!!!!”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

It took over 2 1/2 hours for breakfast on Saturday. Way too long when there are other things to do! We were told it would be a 45 minute wait so we expected that, but then once we sat the service was very, very slow. I think it took an hour to get our food when we finally were sat and ordered. $6. for a small glass of mimosa seemed a bit much. I was in a group of 5 and none of us ordered anything that was unusual - should not have taken that long. The food was ok when it came and the grilled raisin toast is unbelievable but it's not good enough to get me to go back there ever again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank msamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“What happened?”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Have been coming to LG for over 25 years and this restaurant has always been the best around. We have noticed a steady decline in service and food quality the last couple of years. Today we received our food very late after having to get the attention of the waitress to order. When we asked where our food was it took another extended delay to arrive. We refused the sweet potato fries for being cold. The soup boule had been sitting for so long the side had exploded allowing soup to spill into the salad. The black bean burger bun was almost blackened and unedible. The waitress' response to all of this was rather negative and a bit defensive resulting in a very unpleasant atmosphere in which we were spending our hard earned money. Upon receipt of the bill she insinuated that it was their favor to have not included the cost of the fries. Hello they were returned for being cold. After asking to see the manager we were informed she was not available and were handed a restaurant card without her name on it. We had intended to purchase pie for dinner but after such a disappointing experience at lunch we felt no need to spend further at this establishment. We will not return to eat here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gocaps0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be..”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

That is about as perfect a title for Suttons. I started coming up here from NJ in 2000. Summers, Winters, no matter what a stop or two at Suttons was always on the agenda. Food was great, shop was full of samples, and wide selection of goodies, for young ones, to pets ! Now the store seems to have nothing, for some reason you cannot be sat in the restaurant between 1130 and 12. It just has lost its place in my families heart. The SIlo up the road was also one of our stops routinely and we will continue there. FOod has not changed and the store has gotten better over the years. I will continue to stop in Suttons when I visit the LG area and hopefully things get back to how they used to be here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NJinLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hoped for more.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great reviews were very enticing but the food was "so so" with a runny omelette, average toast, french toast that was flabby and thin slices. There are better options, it seems. Certainly not a place we would travel to experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RocDocRochesterNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sutton's Marketplace also viewed

 

Been to Sutton's Marketplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing