We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun but the water was too cold!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Brooklyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun but the water was too cold!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The facilities and rooms are fine. They seem to be lacking a few niceties but it is a great spot for kids (aside from all the soda and unhealthy food they are pushing).

My main complaint was the temperature in the water park. Both days we were there the water was about 5 degrees too cold and the air wasn't warm enough to compensate. This had us avoiding getting sprayed with water in the lazy river and covered in goosbumps. I saw a number of eager kids shivering with blue lips. Being November, I expected the air and water to be warm and inviting not chilly. Also the main hallways in the hotel are poorly heated which is not optimal when you are walking around in a wet suit.

I would go again but try it in the summer. Also the lifeguards are super weird! They seem more concerned with their hand signal protocols than actually watching the kids.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    502
    277
    162
    112
See reviews for
1,305
28
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

My husband & I took our 3 & 9 year old daughters here for a weekend get-away & we really had a great time. We had a suite, which was perfect - very spacious, clean, comfy. We spent a good deal of time in the water park - the price of which was included in our room rate. The other time was spent in the many outlets nearby. The hotel does an excellent job catering to families. My only complaint was that someone upstairs from us was letting their kids race up & down the hallway, which was annoying. Oh, and we had 1 very squeaky bed - albeit very comfy!!!!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kira W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
161 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This place was way fun! Halloween theme thruout the lodge. Friendly (most) staff. Water park was a bit smaller then expected (having been to Great Wolf Lodge) but still fun and not too crowded. I would def recommend it! The entire lodge was immaculate and that's a huge plus, especially for a waterpark where the rooms tend to be damp and musty. Great place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonda, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

So much fun and everything you need under one roof. The room was excellent and so many entertainment choices in the lodge and near by.the water slides were exhilarating to say the least and the hot tub hit the spot. It truly is a great escape!


  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
144 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here with the October offer including Continental breakfast (which is actually pretty good, but served in an uncharming room), for a one night stop over.

The hotel is placed by the (the closed for the season) Six Flags themepark and, thereby, a bit secluded from the town.

There were very few guests, which made the kids 4 hour trip to the waterpark that much better. The waterpark is focused close to 100% at kids with no adult lagune to relax in. That's OK, but would have been appreciated. Prices are - as always in these places - of the chart in respect to (standard junk/fast) food and beverages, as well as for example use of lockers. However, a close to normally priced Johnny Rockets is placed within the hotel including a huge sportsbar, which gives just a little free space.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom/2 bathrooms suite, which was very, very large. That - combined with a fair price for the stay including waterpark, passes and breakfast - brings this place to a (just barely) 4 star rating. But thank good, that it was only one (fun) day...!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Met my sister here so "long distance cousins" could see each other (ages 7-12) on a Sunday-Monday. They had a ball in the waterpark. Older kids liked boogie boarding the best. Younger ones liked the water dump slide. Adults like swimming in the lazy river. Be forewarned that it is extremely noisy due to pouring water and piped in music, even when it is not crowded. Outside of the waterpark - the Halloween decorations were tastefully done and very atmospheric. The arcade has no video games (a plus) just "games of skill) that you play to win tickets. It was fun for the kids, but I think some of the adults went hardcore trying to get enough tickets to redeem for anything that wasn't kiddie junk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAL153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was a stopover on the way to Lake Placid--our second time visiting here. We stopped mid-week in October and, literally, there were times where there were more lifeguards than kids in the facility. Plenty of things to keep a 12, 10, and 6 year old entertained. We stayed in a Klub Moose room where my younger kids had their own log cabin inside our room. They loved it.

Only downside to October, is that the amusement park outdoors is closed and a lot of the restaurants inside the restaurant were closed for the season. Johnny Rockets and the snack bar were still open though.

Great value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjclark71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queensbury
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake George (Queensbury)
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites of Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#3 of 11 in Queensbury
306 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#14 of 88 in Lake George
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804-6215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queensbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready for a fun-filled stay in the Lake George area you'll never forget? The Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Water Park is a 200-room family suite lodge near Lake George, a resort featuring an incredible 38,000 sq ft indoor water park with attractions designed to make every age group smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Queensbury
6 Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge And Indoor Waterpark
Great Escape Lodge
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Queensbury, New York - Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing