We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Stay - Woefully Understaffed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Goshen, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent Stay - Woefully Understaffed”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just returned from a quick, two-night spring break getaway with our two daughters (8 and 5), and overall, it was about what we expected. We arrived at 2, check-in was immediate and our room was ready, even though check-in formally wasn't until 4. We went to our room and found it to be spacious and clean. We quickly changed and went down to the water park.

The water park is obviously the main attraction to staying at the lodge, and overall, I would say we got the most out of it. The biggest issue for us was just how understaffed the park was. There was no one checking wristbands at the entrance (then why state you have to keep them on for the length of your stay?) and no one to prevent young kids from entering on their own (then why state no one under 13 may enter without a parent?). I would say the park needed several more lifeguards to attend everything adequately - particularly the raft rides, where only one lifeguard was allowing people onto the three different rides, when one more lifeguard up there would have made the wait minimal and have the process run much more efficiently. I am also assuming that the lack of staff is what often kept one of the raft rides (either the family raft ride or the two individual raft rides) closed. When there are so few rides, to have any of them closed for any amount of time is a huge issue. The raft rides themselves are not great - all of them are completely dark for the entire ride. Considering their role, I don't think it would be age discrimination to point out that I question the ages of some of the lifeguards, as some were so old, I would worry about them hurting themselves if they did have to take action.

In addition to removing the evident rust and mold, and some paint touch-ups, what the water park would benefit most from is a separate pool for kids to simply swim on their own, rather than just an area where people use to enter and exit the lazy river. The lazy river does move swiftly and during the entire length of my stay, I never saw any of the lifeguards intervene despite extensive rough housing going on.

As for everything else - the room showed some age, with a broken lamp and paint peeling. I'm still trying to figure out why the shower would have a shower curtain that does not reach to the tub, because water was dripping onto the bathroom floor. Ate at Johnny Rockets one night, and while the food was good, again, there were so few servers, that some people were waiting up to 30 minutes despite there being plenty of empty tables. If you have the chance and are willing to take a short drive directly out of the Lodge entrance, check out Docksiders restaurant, great food and nice people right on the edge of Lake Glen.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJGinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    498
    275
    160
    111
See reviews for
1,292
28
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We enjoyed the waterpark for one full day and the Six-Flags Great Escape the next. Rooms were a bit small, but clean. Only ate lunch at water park (not in hotel), which was fine. Coffee shop in hotel was convenient.

Nice for a weekend. If you stay longer than a weekend, visit other Lake George area attractions, rent a boat, swim the lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNCCAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We found a great overnight deal through Groupon . The lodge was wonderful. Rooms had a nice size fridge and small microwave. It helped off set food/drink cost. We were able to bring sandwiches and snacks. All the slides and attractions were open and staffed while we were there. Loved floating in the lazy river and my girls (11 and 7) loved the slides and wave machine. Johnny Rockets was very good the next morning. Plus we were able to stay at the waterpark for a couple of hrs. after checkout(could have stayed longer if we wanted to). We didn't see any reason to purchase the locker, just kept a bag with our clothes under one of the deck chairs. The all you drink soda cups were nice also. We will definitely come again, maybe in the winter next time.

Room Tip: Don't bother with a locker after checkout. All you need is your clothes to change into.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

It's a great place for a weekend visit but not a long stay. The hotel room was clean and nice but had a real strong chlorine smell in the entry way closet. The water park was fun but would be better for older kids. I wasn't too impressed, I wouldn't drive out of my way to go there again. Be prepared to spend lots of money when your there!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DRMcIntyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I've been here several times over the last 4 years, always a nice place to visit. Recently the water park has become very run down. Mold, stains, chipped paint everywhere, broken Slides with metal gates surrounding them, and the overwhelming strong chlorine, lack of staff.

The rooms are nice, big...starting to show their age as well. Stains, pealing wall paper.

Gift shop and kids club prices weren't bad. Lobby very inviting.

I honestly would only stay again if I got a good travelzoo or groupon deal.

My standards could be higher because of my recent visits to Jay Peak indoor water park. Clean, open, bright, uses some salt water.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kcrwley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Queensbury hotels

New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I went with my cousin and my two children 3 and 7 and my sister and brother in laws and their two children 6 and 9. We booked a family room which had a kitchen, two full baths, 3 queen beds and a pullout sofa couch. The waterpark is small but had plenty of things for the kids to do. I liked that the waterpark was right inside the resort so we could get out and go right to our rooms and change. I loved the whole log cabin feel and the room and hotel was clean. There is a game room for the kids, a gift shop, a kid's craft center and a coffee shop area as well. There is also a Johnny Rock's restaurant on premises with good food. I liked that everything was on site. All in all my children loved it and so did the adults.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WandaW0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

While the design of the hotel is beautiful, we thought the rooms were starting to get run down relative to the cost. Lots of activity at night but they had a quiet time curfew. Of course, our kids loved the park. The bogie boarding/surfing ride was exceptional. Staff at the waterpark were good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queensbury
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake George (Queensbury)
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1.0 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#14 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites of Lake George
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#9 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#3 of 11 in Queensbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark

Property: Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Address: 89 Six Flags Dr, Queensbury, NY 12804-6215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queensbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Queensbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready for a fun-filled stay in the Lake George area you'll never forget? The Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Water Park is a 200-room family suite lodge near Lake George, a resort featuring an incredible 38,000 sq ft indoor water park with attractions designed to make every age group smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Queensbury
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge And Indoor Waterpark
6 Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark
Great Escape Lodge
Six Flags Great Escape Lodge & Indoor Waterpark Queensbury, New York - Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing