We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Special”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raquette Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Great Camp Sagamore
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We booked for our anniversary. Staff were attentive & personable. Meals were tasty & of quality. Coffee/tea & fruit were available 24/7. Most buildings were unlocked at all times.The grounds were impressive, & sharing the Sagamore culture & sense of history was great. The weather & foliage could not have been better. The group of others staying helped make the weekend memorable--fires @ the "lean'to" were fun. A tour of the grounds & nearby Raquette Lake boat tour is included. Canoes, kayaks & row boats are available for use after brief water saftey rules/overview. To get to the property, you travel 4mis. off the main road, to a secluded camp.
If you must use your cell phone or watch your weekly show or will freak out at having no lock on your bedroom door, this place is not for you. :)

Room Tip: You don't choose your room-it is assigned. We shared a bath & there were no issues with wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Betty_Mike2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

We arrived Friday evening for dinner and departed on Sunday after breakfast. A very lovely old and one of the few great camps open to the public. Well worth the price, rooms are rustic (as they should be) and very nice staff. The food was great. There were about 60 people there on our September weekend and everyone had a great time. Very secluded and private.

Room Tip: Rooms are assigned and not reserved on our weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hartwickvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Normally, I prefer sidewalks and subways to trees and lakes and my husband had enough camping as a Boy Scout. Sagamore Great Camp provided enough civilized comforts to allow us to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings of a "rustic" luxury "camp" and an elegant lake. The cloud formations reflecting off the surface of the lake, morning, noon and night, made it easy to see the attraction for poets and painters. I would recommend it. There are caveats, however. The food was mediocre but plentiful. The meals are only served for 45 minutes. Latecomers are out of luck. We had a spacious cottage with a private bathroom, a necessity at our age. But the bed was a standard double, much too small for the two of us. Fortunately there was another small bed in the front room of the cabin - without sheets, which had to be requested on the second day. One of their more ridiculous customs was to have guests strip their own beds and sort the laundry. But on the whole, it was a very positive experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

A long August weekend visit resulted in a very satisfying and comfortable time. As a couple we preferred and paid for a room with a private bath. The room was very clean, neat, roomy and comfortable. Minor exception was - if you want to be close to your companion while sleeping (or other things) you don't have queen/king sized beds, but that is a work-around. Meals were simple but fresh, very well prepared. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The Adirondacks has a great, rich history as the ideal vacation/escape spot for the very rich and not-so-very rich during the late 19th and early 20th century - and it remains, today, as the perfect getaway from the hub-bub of the urban lifestyle. The environment was perfect - very natural, remote, quiet and peaceful. Check their website for seasonal weekend activities of this Great Camp. It is the place to go! A Japanese website says "one of the top 10 places to visit before you die..." I totally agree!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ETC363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just spent a glorious weekend at Great Camp Sagamore. The weather was perfect and we had a glimpse of the Perseid meteor shower on Friday night. The food was (as always) great and the accomadations were excellent. I really enjoy talking to the staff and listening to the stories and history of the camp and surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveH924W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Love the place. Food was the best ever!so nice getting away from everyday rat race. Loge the lake but not the black flies! The hole area is so beautiful. Can't wait to visit again next year. Kids had a great time on the lake in canoe and kayak. Food prepared awesome. My compliments to the chef!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stillnotright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I love the Camp Sagamore. We took friends up this year and they were thrilled as well. We will be going up with the whole family soon. This is the perfect place to truly un-plug from all the stresses of day to day life! The history of the camp is fascinating and the setting rustic yet elegant. So many outdoor activities, yet sitting and knitting on the porch of Wigwam was my favorite! We even saw a moose on the beach at the far end of the lake. The staff are warm and inviting, and Jeff the perfect host! So looking forward to our next trip!

Room Tip: Wigwam is our favorite cottage, a little more secluded. Awesome view from the porch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Great Camp Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Camp Sagamore

Address: Sagamore Road, Raquette Lake, NY 13436
Region: United States > New York > Raquette Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Raquette Lake
Price Range: £50 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sagamore, once the summer retreat of the Alfred Vanderbilt family, is now a National Historic Landmark that runs a variety of residential education programs from late May until late October. Neither a hotel, motel nor resort, we are instead a non-profit "living museum," one that attempts to allow as many people as possible to learn more about Adirondack history, nature and the Gilded Age amid the rustic beauty of our wilderness location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Great Camp Sagamore Hotel Raquette Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing