We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ray Brook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sherwood Forest Motor Inn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

First off I would like to say that the Sherwood forest motor inn is a wonderful peaceful place to stay. The cabins are cleaned everyday. The bathrooms and kitchen are cleaned everyday. Floors are vaccummed and they are all on a nice little lake. The cabins are very well maintained. I know this because I know the owners very well. They are a wonderful hard working family who would give the shirts off of their back. And I you asked anyone in the area they woul say the same thing. The prices are a good prices considering the economy today. I recommend the Sherwood forest motor inn to anyone who wants to have a peaceful welcoming place to stay on their visit to the adirondacks. The negative comment are rude and obviously thy did something wrong and got in trouble. But on a clensliness scale I rate it a 5 out 5.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amar2089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    9
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
OceanCity, MD
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Many of our friends recommend we stay here, and we fell in love with this place as soon as we arrived.This is a wonderful family owned and operated business that we enjoyed our stay at. With its quaint setting and wonderful accommodations, we will definitely be returning in the near future. The family was pleasant and helpful, and the cottage we rented was perfect for a few nights away. It had a nice deck that over-looked their privately owned lake, and a fireplace indoors that offered a cozy touch to the place. The cottage was clean and the owners provided us with fresh linens each day. Wood was provided on site as well, so we were able to have a fire whenever we wanted. As for the price, it was more than reasonable, and much cheaper than the surrounding area. Also, being situated right between Lake Placid and Saranac Lake, it was convenient no matter our plans that day. I disagree completely with the one or two poor ratings. Sherwood Forest is a beautiful place where we were treated wonderfully, and will be returning to for years to come. I would recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Little log cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahLo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malone, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

i recently took my wife and son on a mini vacation about 4 months ago. sherwood forest was recpmmended by some friends. we were charged an otragous amount for 3 night stay. i was really appalled by the price. the cabin looked like it hadnt been cleaned in six months.the window sills were dirty, it looked like the cabin hadnt been vaccumed in months either.the bed sheets were dirty beon belief. the bathroom looked like it had never been cleaned. you always expect your accommodations to be clean when you check into a hotel, motel, etc. after looking things over, we decied not to stay. we wond up staying at the tail of the pup just up the road,very nice, clean and it cost half the price. i would never stay at sherwood forest motor inn again, and would recommend anbody else not to do so either. signed a very unhappy family.

Room Tip: spend a little more, and travel 4 miles into lake placid,n.y. i found out prices our good and plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ray Brook hotels

Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Having first visited -- and been disappointed by -- one or two other cottage places in the Lake Placid area, I was very glad to find Sherwood Forest Motor Inn. I think we had the nicest cabin/cottage (#9) but they all looked nice. However ours had a very nice large deck extending over the lake. We spent most of the afternoon and evening on the deck, until we finally went in and made a large fire in the wood-burning fireplace. A real Adirondack-type day! The place is not fancy and only has a microwave, but the big draw here is its incredible location on a very peaceful lake. (Plus there's food nearby.) I would definitely recommend it for anyone staying in the Lake Saranac/Lake Placid area who wants to experience a lake-house vacation on a very moderate budget (between $100 and $125 for all cabins, I believe).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lloydering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

These cabins were situated right near a no-swim lake. They were probably built in 1950 and not updated since then (including the refrigerator and curtains) They are rugged and authentic log cabins. Seemed more like hunting cabins. They had everything we needed for a quick one night stay on our way elsewhere. The front desk staff was helpful and there's a cute restaurant within walking distance. I would say they are a bit overpriced -but if you're staying at a place titled ' motor lodge' you really aren't expecting luxury. I would probably not stay there again - but these really did serve our needs - it was quirky.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoelleGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohawk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

we had a cabin with a fireplace sicne it was chilly. The porch was fairly new looking carpet was clean, then you open the door of the living room, it hadn't been vaccuumed in many stays of others, dead bugs in all the window sills . The kitchen was OK but only had one plug for the coffee pot or toaster behind the stove. The bathroom was lets just say fair as well, leftover hair and mold in the cracks of shower, gross, wall where mirror is was also gross! Bedrooms were OK, except for the dead bugs in the window sills. Outside cabin was a electric outlet/ plug the was coded for inside use, not outside, there wasn't any cover over it to protect it from the elements. THEY COULD HAVE A GREAT BUSINESS IF THEY JUST SPRUCED IT UP. (oh yeah the housekeeper never took our soiled towles or garbage) not sure what her job was except to bring the clean towles

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BuggedoutMohawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pike126
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2008

We rented the honeymoon cabin. It was great. Clean and fresh.
The fireplace was lovely and the deck overlooking the pond was beautiful. My husband caught a small pike in the pond. Housekeeping and fresh towels everyday. The location is perfect have way inbetween Lake placid and saranac lake. We had a lovely stay and would recomend it to anyone.

  • Liked — fireplace
  • Disliked — too close to eachother
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pike126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ray Brook
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
3.9 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn Lake Placid
Quality Inn Lake Placid
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Forest Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Forest Motor Inn

Property: Sherwood Forest Motor Inn
Address: 15 Knotingham Road, Route 86, Ray Brook, NY 12977
Region: United States > New York > Ray Brook
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Ray Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sherwood Forest Motor Hotel Ray Brook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing