We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liked the place but the amenities sucked” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meadowbrook Campground

Meadowbrook Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ray Brook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Meadowbrook Campground
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Liked the place but the amenities sucked”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed there for a week-end. The sites are great, good shade and really close to Lake Placid and the Mountains, but the amenities sucked. The restrooms are dirty, not well maintained and there's not even soap to wash you hands!!!! The water in the showers is cold. If you need woods, there's a guy who comes on the campground to sell lugs for a dollar each.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

Disappointed all around: Too close to road, noisy bar with drunk people, NEXT TO A PRISON, borders lumber yard, old showers. Was looking for more rustic site to compliment beauty of lake placid area. I enjoyed my trip to the area except for the campground, will not go back.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sher_ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ray Brook hotels

Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2007

Not expensive. $14/night. The sites are nice but the showers are very old. The problem with this campground…it is just behind an outside Bar and you can hear their music from anywhere since it is a little campground. I think the staff had a bad experience with campers during the summer since I had a cold welcome for the check in. And please respect the hour or the check out (11h AM). My little girl (3 years old) wanted to go to the washroom after the check out and the manager gave us a lot of … and asked to leave the wash room before she had an opportunity to finish her job. We left the camping right away. I do a lot of camping and I never got this type of treatment… before or after the check out. I think the staff should be flexible for young children.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Hickingfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2007

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the meadowbrook campground for a great weekend in september 2006. We originally reserved at this campground because it didn't cost much for the night.

We are "wild camping" fans and we were expecting the total opposite, but were pleasantly suprised. The campground is located in Ray brook, 5 minutes from LAke PLacid, NY. Each site is close to each other, but are placed in a way to accomodate anyone. There are some opened sites, (no trees) and there are some remote tent sites where even if you are close to your neighbors, you aren't close enough to hear them talk.

Staff at the campground were extremely nice and helpful and they were always smiling. They gave us hiking tips, weather information, as well as information on the high peaks trails, and on the different trailheads.

Women at the office even told us not to buy wood at some specific kiosk to avoid paying too much for something that would not burn. She also told us we could make our own campfire wood using dead trees anywhere on the sites.

There were some small negative points, but nothing really to cause problems. The showers were really old and floor was dirty (but hey... its a campground), and there was a railroad close to the tent sites. However, no train passed by during the whole weekend (at least during the night) so it was not a problem for us.

In conclusion, for 51 $ for three nights, we are going to go again for sure. Reservations are already taken for May 18th, 2007.

Helpful?
3 Thank Nouknitouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ray Brook
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
4.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
#1 of 8 in Saranac Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
4.7 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
4.1 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowbrook Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowbrook Campground

Property: Meadowbrook Campground
Address: 1174 NYS Route 86, Ray Brook, NY 12977
Region: United States > New York > Ray Brook
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Ray Brook
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Meadowbrook Campground Hotel Ray Brook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing