We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”
Review of Gaslight Inn

Gaslight Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Hook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gaslight Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Red Hook B&B and Inns
Maine
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stay away”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I called here to book a room the first week in April in order to attend Bard College's Admitted Students Day 3 weeks later. The elderly woman, Lorraine, took care of my reservation. I assumed we were all set. I called 2 days before to ask a question, and she couldn't find any record of me, just a note in her ledger about someone coming for Bard. She said Bard College guests are very unreliable about showing up. She said there was illness in the family, and she didn't know why I would want to stay there. So we were left with literally no rooms at any inns in any of the neighboring towns. I spent a couple of hours calling each one, and went further & further away. Finally found a room at the Comfort Inn in Saugerties, a half hour or so away across the Hudson. If this family wants to keep running this inn, they need to have someone else cover the phone and reservations.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelGalMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    3
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
3
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville Beach, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I have stayed at the Gaslight Inn on several occasions for business during the last few years and Lorraine as well as her family have been wonderful. She was so great to work with that she even rented me the entire "Big House" for several months rather than several small rooms for my employees so we could be more comfortable and have kitchen access. I've also stayed in room 11, 10, 9, 8 and 4 which are also nice and some even had kitchenettes. Lorraine is actually a very nice woman and will bend over backwards to try to make your stay enjoyable. There are also a number of very good restaurants close by such as Max's BBQ.

Room Tip: Some rooms have very small showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We made reservations for room 11. A few months later we were switched to room 10, without being told. Today we called and now we were told to go somewhere else and Lorraine was horribly rude. Book at your own peril!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank IPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Red Hook hotels

passage west
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We are a group of 20 Golfers from Cork in Ireland who go to Redhook every two years to play golf and chill out for a week , We have been staying at the gaslight for all our trips, (3) and we intend going back there in 2013, we find the gaslight a home from home, great facieltys, great company and great people running the place.Its a fantastic place to chill out and relax, , have a few beers and just relax. The friendly atmosphere is great and we really look forward to going there , in fact our trip to America would not be complete with a visit to the Gaslight hotel and meeting all there.

Room Tip: all th rooms are great , may bottom floor rooms would not be as good as first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keaneo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Clean, quiet and run by nice people. Oh, and affordable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Millhouse2368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

After a last minute getaway to the Rhinebeck swap Meet and Car show we had a hard time finding a room for the night. We stopped in the Gaslight Inn and Lorraine was happy to rent us an afforadable room even though she wasnt open for the season yet. Lorraine was very friendly and pleasent. Our room was clean and comfy. The views were beautiful and despite what another person wrote, we LOVED the wood porch floors. It added to the charm and we never felt the room shake. We hope to be back in July for another antique car show and if we do, we would definitely stay there again. Another note we felt safe leaving out 1949 antique car on the property not fearing anything would happen to it. A few other motels we had stopped at we left for fear our car may not be there in the morning.. Great value and charming Inn..
Bud & Tammy

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Smileyone01104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acworth, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This room was 95.00 per night. The rooms are in desperate need of updating. There were tiles missing from the bathroom floor. The walkway in front of our room was wood. Every time someone walked by the room the entire room shook. The traffic on the road was really loud. Not a good value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Hook
7.9 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
41 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
863 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
340 reviews
8.1 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
317 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Red Hook Country  Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaslight Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaslight Inn

Property: Gaslight Inn
Address: 8049 Albany Post Rd, Red Hook, NY 12571-2141
Region: United States > New York > Red Hook
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Red Hook
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Gaslight Hotel Red Hook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing