We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for quick visit”
Review of Hearthstone Motel

Hearthstone Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Hook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hearthstone Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Red Hook B&B and Inns
local
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK for quick visit”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed here for just one January night as part of a family gathering in the area. We had three rooms. Everything was clean and it looks like they are trying to fix things up. We had the same toilet paper problem reported by others but the heat and water worked just fine. The driveway is a mess. The beds were comfortable and we slept well. It is what it is.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ttravel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul77_11, Owner at Hearthstone Motel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad your stay was acceptable.
We hope you will stay with us in the future as we have made many changes since you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    3
    2
    3
    8
See reviews for
9
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We were lured to this motel by reviews posted here. The stay was late September and although cold weather came early, they would not turn on the heat. Very dated furnishings and linens. It was a sad environment. I would not recommend that you stay here unless you are desparate.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ba_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul77_11, Owner at Hearthstone Motel, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Yes, the weather did drop down to 75 degrees which maybe someone from Florida would find to be a "cold" temperature. However we explained to her that since it was still the summer we would need to have a plumber come in to turn the whole system on (something we normally only do in the Fall/Winter) and since it was 9pm on a Saturday we would be unable to have anyone come in. We offered her extra blankets plus a portable in-room heater however she continued to be displeased and stormed out. What else could we do?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Red Hook hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

The only reason to stay here is that there aren't many alternatives in Red Hook. Years of deferred maintenance shows at every turn. Rooms are superficially clean, but don't look in corners or window sills (yuck!). Housekeeping neglected to provide any toilet paper (empty cardboard roll in the holder when we checked in). Axle-breaking potholes in the driveway that had obviously gone unfilled for months or maybe years. Free wifi doesn't reach the rooms, but is available outside the office. The location is good for Red Hook and Bard.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thubner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philmont, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We had a great time staying at the Hearthstone and would definitely come back! The owner was very accomodating and the room was expecially clean. Fairly priced and worth every penny. Our family had come up to visit with relatives and were very impressed, especially with the location and the views of the Catskill mountains. I would 100% recommend the Hearthstone to anyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 8, the suite and found it to be wonderful - has a private balcony and great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul77_11, Owner at Hearthstone Motel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We have enjoyed having you as a guest for the last 3 years and am awaiting your arrival again this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We love it here. Our third trip to attend Bard graduation. We will return even after our daughter has graduated. If you want Holiday Inn, go to Kingston. If you want clean, safe, roomy logding in the 55 mph tradition of the Taconic go to the Hearthstone Motel, family owned and operated, surrounded by nature, on a rise overlooking an orchard for spectacular sunsets over the Hudson. It's a privilege to be here.

Room Tip: Turner Classic Movies is on Channel 66. Hearthstone room is huge, may be hard to heat in winter. A s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debtheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul77_11, Owner at Hearthstone Motel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your business and look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

No not stay here Norman bates place with no heat what the u no what I mean it's in the 20s might we have an igloo but not to heat the room, dang it's cold, is this guy nuts, only thing that sold it was the beautiful sunsets through the window. But would I come back, no. We had no clean sheets for two weeks at minimum, we had to ask for clean towels if we got them at all and had to buy our on toilet paper. The lighting in the bathroom only worked part-time and when they did work it made this awful buzzing sound that really got on my nerves. Oh, and get this we had to by our own ceramic heater! Does he not believe in heating the rooms. Not until October and this is in upstate New York.

Room Tip: There is a pet deposit but cats are not pets I guess considering he would not allow my cat to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Butterflyfaery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul77_11, Owner at Hearthstone Motel, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
This is a classic example of “no good deed goes unpunished”.

I’m sure by reading our guest’s grammar and spelling errors, you can tell that she must have been in one of her drug hazes, again. Ms.“butterflyfaery” (Trip Advisor does not allow us to use her real name) also forgets to mention that she did not pay for the room, her parents did. If she did, maybe she would realize that her parents paid $800, not the $1200 she claimed to have paid. Her parents came here on September 1, 2011 and looked at the room with butterflyfaery present. She said she liked the room. We then discussed our pet policy, the price, and my concerns about her smoking. We have all non-smoking rooms. I guess now I realize why they didn’t want butterflyfaery to stay with them, for this trip. After two weeks I observed drug use and cigarette smoking in the room. I called butterflyfaery’s parents and explained to them what their daughter had been up too, and why I was asking her to leave. * I told them they would receive a 2-week refund, at that time. Butterflyfaery’s parents practically begged me to keep her and told me that they were “God fearing people” and would put the fear of God in her, thereby straightening her out. I explained to butterflyfaery’s parents that I do not run that type of establishment and would rather her not stay here, if she had a drug habit. They then proceeded to tell me to let her stay because “we are her parents and promise you that there will not be any more problems.” Knowing her parents to be good people, I went against my better judgment and let her stay, trusting that her parents would take care of the problem. What I failed to realize was the fallout when her parents let her know what I told them. At this point, butterflyfaery locked herself in the room for 3 days, with AC blasting in 65-degree weather, with the windows wide open. Doesn’t take a genius to figure out what she was up to.
At this point I asked her to leave, which she did. Now, due to my extended kindness to butterflyfaery’s parents, I get a nasty write up on here. My advice for butterflyfaery: stop doing drugs, get a job, get a life, and stop having your parents take care of you at 32 years old because, unfortunately, your parents are the ones who walk away with the egg on their faces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larchmont, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Our room, #4, was in OK condition. The beds were fine, the place appeared clean, it was quiet (on the other hand only two of the eight rooms were occupied), the AC worked and so did everything else that had to work.
It was half the price, or less, than other area places charged.
The man who ran it was friendly, despite other comments to the contrary.
We picked it as a place to sleep while visiting relatives summering in the area, at a fairer price than others demanded, not based upon the decor.
If you are after decor, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QualityMatters2Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Hook
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
849 reviews
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
7.8 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
2.2 mi away
The Red Hook Country  Inn
10.7 mi away
Super 8 Kingston
Super 8 Kingston
#6 of 10 in Kingston
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearthstone Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone Motel

Property: Hearthstone Motel
Address: 7958 Albany Post Rd, Red Hook, NY 12571-2159
Region: United States > New York > Red Hook
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Red Hook
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hearthstone Hotel Red Hook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing