We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were "hooked" by the weather...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Red Hook Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Red Hook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We were "hooked" by the weather...”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Our stay at the Red Hook Country Inn was an unplanned and most welcomed stay. We were originally headed south to return home to NJ the day after the hurricane and were only able to get as far as Red Hook. A phone call to Pat was all that was needed to give us a sense of security that we had a place to stay. She said that she would make arrangements for us at her place or at the place of a friend. We did stay in a beautiful and comfortable room at the Inn. We dealt with a loss of electricity and water; however, the warmth and consideration of Pat and Nabil eradicated those missing amenities. We enjoyed a camp-type of breakfast in great style and cuisine and made wonderful friendships! Many thanks, Elaine and Barry Hoffman

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elainemkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    59
    7
    20
    14
See reviews for
110
145
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We have to admit, we were a bit nervous when we pulled into Red Hook Country Inn. We weren't sure what to expect, this being our first time at the B & B. You can't help but fall in love with the innkeepers, Pat and Nabil! They are just so warm and friendly, you feel right at home. We stayed in the rooms upstairs and they could use a little updating. Pat said they have plans to update them this winter. I had a chance to peek into the rooms downstairs that were newly renovated and they are SO nice!

Chef Nabil was EXCELLENT. Breakfast was the best part of our stay. We have 2 young sons and they enjoyed every minute. Nabil let our son crack his own eggs every morning, freshly laid from the chickens out back. He would then cook them up for him! His vibrant and upbeat personality greeted us each morning. He was wonderful.

I recommend this BB for anyone looking for a relaxing get away. They are child friendly, which is rare for a BB but greatly appreciated!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Grove, New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Dear Nabil & Pat,
It was nice meeting you last week at your friendly family atmosphere Red hook county Inn , your reception was very warm , the room was very clean , comfortable ,and supplied with all what you need for your stay, TV/Video with nice selection of movies plus library of books, magazine and daily newspapers let you feel like you are at your house with 24 hours of coffee, tea, cold water and cookies .
The breakfast shows your great hospitality with various items from nice selection of juices, coffee's, tea's and spacial Nabil omelet with delicious home made bread .
It was one night , but left for me & my wife very nice romantic memory and we decided to do it again and again. Overall every things was Excellent.
God bless you, your place and business with our best wishes.
Mamoon & Shafia

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamoon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This unpretentiously comfy inn is run by a couple who leave no stone unturned for their guests. If you whisper that you'd like something, some service or change in accommodations-- a special cereal for breakfast, a table outdoors on the terrace instead of in the main family-style dining room, reservations for dinner somewhere, tickets to an event, etc.-- it almost magically appears. The Inn building itself echoes the innkeepers' easy-going affabitliy; housed in a Federal-colonial style structure, its undecorated decor leans to subdued flower prints on walls, table linens and upholstery, assorted carpets mellowed by time, and Late Victorian-early 20th century furniture, as well as an abundance of "tschotkes" ranging from charming to funny to kitschy, and all contribute to an atmosphere of unself-conscious, relaxed friendliness. The English--cottage-style front garden signals the spirit of the place; overflowing with flowers, shrubs, vines (they let us take cuttings from some plants) and the occasional plaster gnome, it leads directly onto a front porch where you can hang out, read, chat-- or not-- with other guests. There is an ample garden in the back, with a (mostly unused) gazebo and a pleasant view of the vegatable gardens and beyond; the area is often visited by the chickens who provide the Inn with an endless supply of eggs and lots of fun for guest children who gather them. Rooms share the same quirky, unaffected concern with simple comfort. Technically the Inn serves breakfast only, but in truth the kitchen seems to be almost always more or less open, with the innkeeper and her chef husband delighting in whipping up any of their specialties, which run to eggs in many styles, pancakes and assorted other guilty pleasures. But with all the old-fashioned comfort, there is internet access, a computer-savvy innkeeper, good showers and working air conditioning and televisions in all the rooms we saw.

The Inn's location is what first drew us there,. Conventiently located in the center of
Red Hook, it is minutes away from Bard College and its wonderful music festival and it is handy to the Dutchess County Fairgrounds with its terrific annual fair. It is also convenient to interesting artistic centers like the towns of Hudson and Rhinebeck and we found it to b e pleasant trip to Glimmerglass for the opera and even to Williamstown for theater. The area is lovely--quiet, verdant and ungentrified-- and home to several important historic houses, like Frederick Church's Olana and several grand Hudson Valley mansions including Franklin Delano Roosevelt's Hyde Psrk home. We have speht our summer vacations there for the past several years, planning around the two-weekend Bard Music Festival, and we have never been bored nor have we ever wished for better accommodations.

Room Tip: Just tell the innkeepers what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harriettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Brook, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Our GPS led us to this gem of a place while exploring the Hudson River Valley. Our room was so welcoming and the king-sized bed so luxurious. We planned on only a one night stay but just had to stay another. Our hosts Abil and Pat were so warm and made us wonderful breakfasts! Abil is a Master Chef no less! There is so much to see and do in the area. We also loved sitting on the porch in the evening with a glass of wine. This Inn is a must for anyone visiting the area. We are already looking forward to returning. Linda and John Patrick, NJ

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2011

As my daughter and I traveled to NY after passing through 5 other states, we were not sure where to stay to be able to visit Bard College early the next morning. Our GPS (Gypsy) gave us a few suggestions. Serendipity brought us to Pat at the Red Hook Inn.....she had just rec'd a cancellation for that evening. As we pulled our packs up the flowered pathway, over the welcoming front porch and into the welcoming light of the front hallway, Pat welcomed us with overflowing graciousness. We were made very comfortable in the beautifully decorated room #4 with two extremely comfortable beds. We were shown the guest amenities: video tapes, books, water, snacks, a refrigerator, comfy bathrobes, coffee and more. Pat suggested we grab our late dinner at the 24 hour diner just 4 miles up the road. Delicious and fun! ( we went back the next day for lunch after our school tour)
Early morning risers can enjoy a cup of coffee on the front porch oasis on any of the comfy seating options surrounded by tropical and local flora. We were greeted by Pat's husband at around 8:15 am with a full menu of home made breakfast choices.... fresh eggs, strawberry compote, blueberry pancakes..... and more gracious hospitality.
My daughter and I highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, New York
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2011

My husband and I just wanted a quick get away for our wedding anniversary.He went on line and found The Red Hook Inn B&B. From the time we got there to the time we left Pat and Nabil were very accommodating and warm. Our room was cleen and cool (durind the heat wave 7/11). The best sleep I have had in weeks. Tastefully decorated without missing a detail. Nabil's breakfast, to die for - Egg Benedict cook to your specification. Pat is a wealth of information of the area's attraction. Coffee and tea all day and fresh cookies better than chain hotels. We are already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Hook
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
876 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
5.8 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
319 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
5.0 mi away
Beekman Arms and Delamater Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Hook Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Hook Country Inn

Property: The Red Hook Country Inn
Address: 7460 S Broadway, Red Hook, NY 12571-1771
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Red Hook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Red Hook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Hook Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Federal Colonial built 1841. 2 Brand new First Floor Wheelchair Accessible Rooms with roll in shower. Carriage House, an accessible addition to the inn, has two bedrooms, fireplace, separate entrance and can accommodate pets. 7 Second floor bedrooms are private, some with jetted tubs, all with private bath, Cable HiDef TV, WiFi, All new triple glaze windows, living room fireplace, community breakfast room (accessible), newly completed back deck, great covered hot tub and outdoor screen house.Great covered front porch with ceiling fans, wicker and rockers! On site parking. Totally non smoking, all food requirements met, 24 hour coffee, tea, snacks and cold water. 4 guest refrigerators. Onsite wheelchair and portacrib available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Red Hook Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Hook Country Hotel Red Hook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing