We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Hook Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Red Hook Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Red Hook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape May, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We were so blessed to stay at the Red Hook Inn. The service was totally above and beyond what I could have ever expected. The owners were so kind and thoughtful. We had gone up to Rhinebeck for the Country Living Fair. The day before it just down poured rain all day. When Pat heard we were going over to the fair she offered to be our transportation there and back, so that we would not get stuck in the mud. Well Pat pulls out her classic Rolls Royce and drove us to the fairgrounds in style. What a great honor. She even took pictures of us inside the Rolls and emailed them to me.

The breakfast was delicious, personally cooked by the world traveled and renowned chef Nabil. On Sunday he was making a very famous egg dish and since I am not one to eat eggs he made us crepes', in the most fantastic strawberry sauce instead. The homemade muffin and fruit cup was the perfect touch to a lovely breakfast. Their staff was friendly, the room nicely decorated and the beds very comfortable.

The Inn brought a wonderful home feeling with the fireplace glowing and all the guests sitting around in the parlor discussing the day’s events. I will never forget the caring hospitality that went into making our mini vacation one to remember. Thank you so much Pat and Nabil.!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    57
    7
    20
    14
See reviews for
105
144
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We were in Red Hook for a family member's funeral. The Red Hook Inn provided a relaxing, comfortable place for us to rest and relax. The staff was kind, compassionate and took special care to be sure our needs were met. Breakfast was delicious. We were pleased and felt quite pampered.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rbfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedHookInn, Owner at The Red Hook Country Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
We are so glad we could provide you with whatever you needed during your time of sadness. We hope to see you again on a visit for happier circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Our room was dark and cluttered with too much furniture, electrical wires and surge protectors running everywhere, blinds that don't work, cabinets that don't open and close properly, too much road noise, and beds that are not comfortable. For what we paid per night, we expected something luxurious, but the Red Hook Inn did not even come close to that. Daily maid service consisted of making the bed and a change of towels. Never once did I hear a vacuum cleaner during my stay, dirt that was on the carpet on day 1 of our stay, was still there when we checked out a couple of days later. The curtains looked like they have never been cleaned. On a daily basis, we had to ask for tissues or toilet paper because the maid did not replenish them. The chef was away during our stay, and the cleaning girl did the cooking. The eggs were cold and runny, the coffee was cold, and our choice everyday was eggs, eggs, or eggs. The website said fresh flowers and chocolate, but we had neither.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Spotless_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedHookInn, Owner at The Red Hook Country Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Abe Lincoln once said "you can please some of the people some of the time......but you can never please all of the people all of the time". This must be how you feel and I'm sorry for your disappointment and scathing words.
Our inn is a family friendly, clean and warm place where we hope to have guests who are looking for the same environment.
Having to ask for tissues or TP periodically is not a tragic happening but an oversight or an understanding by us that the three rolls you begin with should last a guest for at least two nights.
We run our vacuums when guests are not in the inn, especially as some people linger in their bedrooms enjoying the comfort of their beds. If there was a rug stain I do apologize as we generally shampoo all rugs at least monthly to ensure that you did not carry something in , of course unintentionally. We care about your comfort and it never hurts to speak up while you are here to get something easily resolved.
As far as the 'cleaning girls' cooking breakfast, I'm proud to say that our staff are part of our extended family and have been with us since we opened 8 years ago. I am also in the kitchen and dinng room and have no issues with what is prepared alongside of me. While my husband was away, I offered you eggs any style, French toast, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh apple cider donuts, yogurt, cottage cheese, cereal, sweet potatoes, bacon, sausage and more. What was the real issue here? I have 24 hour Keuregs with hot coffee and the morning prepared coffee is on a burner..hard to get cold unless something broke down and it wasn't caught until your coffee became cold. So far no one else complained. I checked and its working fine.
Now onto your other complaints..I'm not sure who you or or what room you were in but we do not have one DARK room in the inn. Actually, there are only 3 rooms that might have street noise during rush hour in a country village and its limited timing. Not one of our rooms has non working blinds as I've just checked each of your complaints myself. Also, there is limited cabinetry and they all open and close perfectly. As far as electric surge protectors, the inn is 175 years of age and the electric outlets are generally located behind the bed. For your convenience with cell phones and computers, we have strips in every room.
All in all, I'd kindly ask you to be respectful and contact me directly so that we can dig a little deeper into whatever has made you so upset. I hope your state of mind becomes a bit more positive and that we may find a satisfactory outcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I took a 4 day Boot Camp course at the Culinary Institute and wanted a comfortable place to stay. I was fortunate to find the Red Hook Inn a short 20 minute drive from the school. The hosts were so friendly and accomodating; the breakfast was wonderful , and the room very cozy. The town was a nice quite but area away from the crowds of the nearby - more touristy towns. Nabil, the host and a Top Chef even gave me a review on making Eggs Benedict. Excellent stay!

Room Tip: Room with the fireplace and jacuzzi was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AGwilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

After a lovely but long day's journey over the back roads of the Catskills, we literally stumbled upon the Red Hook Inn and felt very fortunate for having done so. The owners are warm and caring and made us feel right at home. The room on the second floor was perfect -- large, bright, well appointed -- and the "cherry on top" was the terrific hot tub in the quiet back garden. Couldn't ask for anything more -- but there was: a full plate of home-made chocolate chip cookies, any-time coffee, and all of Red Hook to explore right outside the door. Breakfast was delicious and was bountiful enough to last us until dinner time. So we say: thank you Pat and Nabil! You made our city get-away an adventure which will surely be remembered.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedHookInn, Owner at The Red Hook Country Inn, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
We are delighted that we exceeded your expectations! Thanks so very much for your positive words. We look forward to your next visit to the Hudson Valley of NY!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

I read the reviews saying how wonderful this place is and wonder whether I'm in different world. Yes, the people who run the place are very pleasant. Beyond that, it has nothing to offer. My room was dark, dank and small. The bathroom - admittedly clean - requires that you be a contortionist to use. The sink is stuck in a corner, behind a wall, claustrophobia personified. It was about sixty degrees outside - and eighty in the room. The king size bed is not a king size bed. It is two singles stuck together. Which, of course, creates a bit of a dip in the middle. More than a bit. And more than a dip. More like a crater. One small window, which let's in neither light nor air. But the person who made up the room left the screen up, so it did let in the bugs. Breakfast would be fine for a roadside diner. Where you aren't paying too much. Scrambled eggs aren't too difficult, normally. Mine were more likely an improperly cooked omelet, with a bunch of ridges in it. One piece of soggy toast. I didn't bother asking for another. No jam. No jelly. No cheese. No nothing to make it a little more appealing. Luckily, the breakfast room is so dark that I couldn't really see what was on offer.
No, I won't be going back

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rja1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedHookInn, Owner at The Red Hook Country Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are sorry that you were unhappy. As the owner, I take pride in ensuring that you have ample space, comfortable bedding and a clean environment. The lovely room 2 in which you stayed is neither dank nor dark. We recently (January 2013) remodeled and removed a closet in that room to add 30 square feet and repaced a darker pattern wallpaper with a lovely linen paint. And as with many 1800 homes, bathrooms were built after the fact and closets or small spaces were used. InTHIS case,the bathroom is a good size and the wall separates the sink from the standard size tub. The room has 4 walls and a large window on which we use an 84" curtain from top to sill. The windows had just been washed and perhaps inadvertently the screen was left up, however, very easily rectified. The beds are full sized twins strapped tightly with a 4" foam mattress pad. We have couples stay very often in this lovely room and have never had a complaint. We will certainly review your comments to ensure that something out of the ordinary did not occur.

For breakfast you have many options and if the eggs from our hens did not meet your standard, all that was needed was to speak either to my husband, the chef, or to me. We offer eggs any style, fresh toast, English muffins,oatmeal, pancakes, French toast, yogurts, cottage cheese, fresh fruits, apple cider donuts, cereal, homemade jams, 3 fruit juices, coffee or tea and muffins. The choices are yours. While we serve Eggs Benedict on Sunday, you still have the other options.

Happily you found the inn clean and that WE were nice. Those two qualities are very important to us.

In the future, instead of waiting to blast a small business, take the time to speak to the nice innkeeper who truly cares about your comfort and would have jumped through hoops to fix whatever was 'broken'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We recently came back from a short visit to Red Hook. We chose to stay at a local B&B rather than big hotels to enjoy laid back environment. Our choice Red Hook Inn turned out to be a great choice. Very friendly staff, comfortable clean rooms and great food all added up to a great experience. My daughter enjoyed chasing the chickens in the backyard and eating fresh eggs for breakfast :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family_London340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedHookInn, Owner at The Red Hook Country Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thanks so much! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Hook
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
6.7 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
5.9 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
7.7 mi away
Church des Artistes Guest House
14.3 mi away
The Kaaterskill
The Kaaterskill
#2 of 7 in Catskill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Hook Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Hook Country Inn

Property: The Red Hook Country Inn
Address: 7460 South Broadway, Red Hook, NY 12571
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Red Hook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Red Hook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Hook Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Federal Colonial built 1841. 2 Brand new First Floor Wheelchair Accessible Rooms with roll in shower. Carriage House, an accessible addition to the inn, has two bedrooms, fireplace, separate entrance and can accommodate pets. 7 Second floor bedrooms are private, some with jetted tubs, all with private bath, Cable HiDef TV, WiFi, All new triple glaze windows, living room fireplace, community breakfast room (accessible), newly completed back deck, great covered hot tub and outdoor screen house.Great covered front porch with ceiling fans, wicker and rockers! On site parking. Totally non smoking, all food requirements met, 24 hour coffee, tea, snacks and cold water. 4 guest refrigerators. Onsite wheelchair and portacrib available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Red Hook Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Hook Country Hotel Red Hook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing