We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Fall Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Red Hook Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Red Hook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Easthampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Fall Getaway”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

A warm and charming weekend in the Hudson Valley awaits you at The Red Hook Country Inn. Gracious innkeepers cater to your every need. Large, clean, comfortable rooms welcome you with fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. An outdoor hot tub and cozy screen house invite the guests to enjoy the natural surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CCLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    58
    7
    20
    14
See reviews for
108
144
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

If you need to be close to Bard College this place is adequate (and also wonderfully close to the terrific Mercato restaurant!), but I much prefer my stays in Hudson (at the Merchant House) and Rhinebeck (Delamater Inn). At those, both the inn and restaurant options are better.
At Red Hook Inn, the proprietors are gracious but the inn itself has some problems. Despite seemingly sincere efforts, the food is adequate at best (I skipped my breakfast altogether on the third morning), the first floor entry and sitting room have a funky smell (animals?) which I was happy to leave, and the noise level is the worst I've ever experienced at a B&B. The window air conditioners are only installed with foam at sides, so noise from street comes right in, and it's loud! At $250+ per night, this was a disappointment. If it was half that price I'd have overlooked the shortcomings and just appreciated the location. Won't stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor; you'll hear every footstep, and every time the front door opens/closes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedHookInn, Owner at The Red Hook Country Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to express your feelings. We accept negative comments with the understanding that it can only help us improve!
Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Very nice folks, welcoming and eager to please. Comfortable place, well located and clean. Much more enjoyable than the chain hotels , but you pay for the privilege.The decor is unusual, but charming as an ensemble. Works for me. The traffic during the Fair is awful, but can be avoided. Walking to town is wonderful and I would recommend this accommodation and the restaurant down the street.

Room Tip: Enjoy the porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Red Hook Inn literally "took me in" very late one evening, without a reservation and it was truly my "home away from home" during my visit to nearby Bard College. On previous visits, I stayed at the well-known chains that are further away. They were fine, but lacking in any warmth or personal connection. On the other hand, the proprietors of the Red Hook Inn -- Pat and Nabil -- provided a warm welcome, a personal touch, superb food, and gracious surroundings. On this trip, the Inn provided everything I needed and more -- unexpected but most welcome personal hospitality. Pat and Nabil obviously love what they do and they do it very well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stripes18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Our family stay at the Red Hook in was a treat for everyone in our family. We all loved the incredible breakfasts and the relaxed warmth of our hosts, Pat and Nabil. My younger son had a wonderful time exploring and roaming the back yard, and getting to hold a freshly-laid chicken egg. My teenage son loved that the location on the main street of Red Hook let him go out and explore the town on his own. And my husband and I loved it all of it. The family suite was perfect for us - small, but with two separate rooms,very comfortable and nicely decorated. We'd love to go back, and we recommend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKnauth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

we had a wonderful experience. Our dinner was delicious and the hostess, Pat was very friendly and accomodating. her husband Nabil prepared our meals to perfection and the turkish coffee and halva was the perfect ending to our dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adc478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fancanada108
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My daughter and I booked at this Inn at the last minute using hotels.com. We were delightfully surprised by the comfort and spaciousness of the room and the friendliness of Pat and Nabil, our hosts. The breakfast was amazing, too! Turns out that Nabil is a classically-trained saucier and the hollandaise sauce he prepared on our eggs florentine was fantastic! The Inn is very comfortable and is located on the Main Street in Red Hook, so you can walk from there to many shops, restaurants, etc. I highly recommend this Inn for a relaxing night's stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Hook
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
863 reviews
5.8 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
41 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
317 reviews
6.7 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
167 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Hook Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Hook Country Inn

Property: The Red Hook Country Inn
Address: 7460 S Broadway, Red Hook, NY 12571-1771
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Red Hook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Red Hook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Hook Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Federal Colonial built 1841. 2 Brand new First Floor Wheelchair Accessible Rooms with roll in shower. Carriage House, an accessible addition to the inn, has two bedrooms, fireplace, separate entrance and can accommodate pets. 7 Second floor bedrooms are private, some with jetted tubs, all with private bath, Cable HiDef TV, WiFi, All new triple glaze windows, living room fireplace, community breakfast room (accessible), newly completed back deck, great covered hot tub and outdoor screen house.Great covered front porch with ceiling fans, wicker and rockers! On site parking. Totally non smoking, all food requirements met, 24 hour coffee, tea, snacks and cold water. 4 guest refrigerators. Onsite wheelchair and portacrib available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Red Hook Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Hook Country Hotel Red Hook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing