We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed and Breakfast for Bard College Families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Red Hook Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Red Hook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamptons, NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Bed and Breakfast for Bard College Families”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We have stayed at the Red Hook Inn many times over the years while our daughter attended
Bard (6 years!) and afterwards. Proprietors Pat and Nabil run an attentive, cozy operation. In the winter, we would sit around the fireplace and in the summer on the front porch watching Main Street Pass by. When our daughter unexpectedly graduated, suddenly last May, Pat called around to her friends and her competition looking for a room for us before a cancellation allowed us to stay with her. When the weather turned abnormally cold, Pat and Nabil dug out warm coats for their guests. At breakfast (very satisfying as Nabil is a chef) the other guests we met were always interesting and often from around the world. One New Year's Eve, Pat used her local connections to secure a last minute dinner reservation for us in one of the nearby restaurants. The Inn is right in the center of Red Hook within a block or two of several restaurants and bars, although a car is needed for the five minute drive to Bard.

Room Tip: We have happily stayed in several of her rooms without any complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunenuthin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedHookInn, Owner at The Red Hook Country Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to express your thoughts about your stay. We strive to ensure that you enjoy yourself and are delighted that it was a success! Hope to see you on your next visit!
Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    59
    7
    20
    14
See reviews for
110
144
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Frenchtown, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Came upon the Red Hook Inn by chance and could not have been more pleased. It is an easy and friendly place with real furniture, a great big bed and and a great big tub and a great breakfast, fixed by Chef Nabil with the help of a few handsome hens out back. Chef Nabil really understands scrambled eggs, soft! He fixed them an hour earlier as a kindness. The place has a warm family feel, gentle and respectful of privacy. The Flat Iron Restaurant next door was superb. I will make detours to have this experience again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A thoroughly welcoming and friendly place. Excellent location in the midst of charming village of Red Hook. Warm welcome by the hosts. And excellent personally served breakfast by the host/chef himself. We stayed two nights and were extremely pleased with all aspects of the Inn.
Highly recommend.
Lynne and Walter, Seattle

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 416Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I know they say, business is business but this felt like HOME. My mother and I are from Jamaica, WI and we live in GA or Brooklyn, NY. The staff at Red Hook was excellent. The rooms were clean, beautiful and comfortable. Hi Pat and Nabil thank you for showing my mom and I warm hospitality and kindness. If you are looking for a relaxing, respectful, serene, authentic experience/getaway you MUST stay at the Red Hook Inn. I took my mommy there for her 58th birthday and Pat's barbershop quartet gave my mom a wonderful surprise and sang her Happy Birthday in accapella. The food will tantalize your pallet and the desserts are delectable. Don't wait, book your stay at the RED HOOK INN NOW- It's a MUST do for your bucket list and better yet, it's a MUST do for your Live Life Now list. Kimberly and Beverly Gordon.

Room Tip: You can bring your computers, they have WIFI
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Our family's long-anticipated Hudson River history ramble was perfectly timed for October's leaf-peeping, and we were delighted with our two beautiful rooms at the Red Hook Inn. But the 2013 government shutdown squelched our plans to visit Hyde Park's historic sites, and meant that other local attractions were overbooked. Fortunately, the owner of this completely charming inn knew just what to do. Her persuasive phone call to Olana secured tickets for a sold-out tour of the artist's magnificent home/museum. Well-rested and nourished by a lavish breakfast, and guided by her helpful directions, we waved farewell (but we'll be back!).

Room Tip: My sister was pleased with the accessible room just off the front hall (ground floor). My husband an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My daughter and I spent the night there on her college tour - but our first contact with the Inn happened on our way into town. We weren't entirely sure how to get there and had to call the owner three times from the road. She could not have been more helpful or more gracious.

On every level, she was just a perfect inn-keeper. And the place felt like home. It's not fancy, but it's charming, and she and her husband go out of their way to make guests feel welcome. A great, great inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Lovely hosts, wonderfully quirky but comfortable room (with a gorgeous, long mahogany bar as my night table!), a sweet front porch, and the best breakfast in a long car trip. Some shabby sofa cushions (busily being replaced by the efforts of a sister-in law). Perfectionists and recluses would not enjoy this place, but 'most everyone else would have a great time.

Room Tip: The 2d floor may be a better choice, as a late night stomper in the room above was mildly disruptive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzeNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Hook
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
874 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
5.8 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
318 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
6.7 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Hook Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Hook Country Inn

Property: The Red Hook Country Inn
Address: 7460 S Broadway, Red Hook, NY 12571-1771
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Red Hook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Red Hook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Hook Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Federal Colonial built 1841. 2 Brand new First Floor Wheelchair Accessible Rooms with roll in shower. Carriage House, an accessible addition to the inn, has two bedrooms, fireplace, separate entrance and can accommodate pets. 7 Second floor bedrooms are private, some with jetted tubs, all with private bath, Cable HiDef TV, WiFi, All new triple glaze windows, living room fireplace, community breakfast room (accessible), newly completed back deck, great covered hot tub and outdoor screen house.Great covered front porch with ceiling fans, wicker and rockers! On site parking. Totally non smoking, all food requirements met, 24 hour coffee, tea, snacks and cold water. 4 guest refrigerators. Onsite wheelchair and portacrib available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Red Hook Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Hook Country Hotel Red Hook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing