We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gracious Host/Chef/Owner"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Red Hook Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Red Hook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Gracious Host/Chef/Owner"”
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Just spent the weekend celebrating my mother's 75th birthday with my entire family. Pat and Nabil are warm, welcoming and gracious hosts, and made everyone feel quite at home. Breakfast was enjoyable of course, but the highlight of the weekend was the special dinner Nabil prepared for us on Saturday evening . . . it was perfect in every way. Thank you both for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtn1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    58
    7
    20
    14
See reviews for
108
144
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2010

I just spent a week at the Red Hook Inn while traveling on business, and ended up having a wonderfully and unexpected treat! Pat and Nibel are just exceptional hosts. From the moment I arrived, Pat was looking for every opportunity to identify ways she could be helpful and supportive. Nibel started my mornings with delicious breakfasts. He was determined and committed to my starting the day right. His home made bread was delicious. Fresh, organic eggs from hens at the Inn every morning (and there is no rooster to awaken you before you are ready!) I love this place and hope to return with my wife for leisure.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeA1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

The place is lovely, surrounded by well tended gardens and delightful surroundings in the guest rooms and public rooms. Pat is very knowledeable and helpful, and giving of herself and time. Nabil is a Master Chef. Even his breakfasts are expansive and tasty. And his dinners...they are simply the finest. We were in Red Hook to attend the Summerscape Festival at Bard College. The Festival was a wonderful experience; but, so was staying with Pat and Nabil for four nites. We look forward to being with them next year. It is something to anticipate.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Connecticut
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Red Hook Inn was just right for us. The Inn itself is really nice, nicely decorated, comfortable, clean, and the owners are great. Nothing better than fresh eggs from their own chickens. I will definately go again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisa62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Hook
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2010

How can the magic of the Red Hook Inn be captured by words? I live in Red Hook and my handicapped mom, brother, and nephew wanted to stay someplace special where all their needs would be met. Pat and Nabil were wonderful at making them all comfortable. They stayed in the roomy and artfully decorated carriage house suite...comfort beyond their dreams! We spent several nights in the hot tub or the closed- in patio watching the sun set over the garden, playing board games, and eating candle lit dinners. On the last day Nabil out did himself with an incredible eggs benedict and fruit compote breakfast. He even made my nephew hot chacolate with whip cream in JULY! Everyone felt pampered and like they were the only ones at the Inn. The Red Hook Inn is charming, gracious, reasonable, warm, loving, and a perfect setting for creating family memories. Stop by when you are in town...it will take your breath away. Thanks again Pat and Nabil! Marty

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 54321RedHook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fohi
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2010

from the first time i called the inn, pat was wonderful to deal with. of course we were looking for a place to stay on a weekend with a bard college event and the antique car show, so rooms were mostly booked. pat was able to move her reservations around a bit to accomodate us for a thurs/fri stay. the house is charming and nabil/ pat are wonderful host. pat was extremely great as she bakes cookies and made popcorn for us while watching a world cup game there. there is a little gazebo that we appreciated as us city folks are deprived of outdoor space. there is also a hot tub for use as well. things to do in the area include the new pougkeepsie pedistrian bridge over the hudson river, the culinary art institue, the olana house and the greg's farm if it is blueberry season. also the chinese take out across the street was great. we got dinner there one night and sat in the gazebo with wine. it was great. i highly recommend the red hook inn and look foward to going back. special props to pat who sent my phone back after me leaving it there!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al2003od
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

My sister and her partner said that they wanted to take me and my partner to dinner at the Red Hook Inn for our birthdays. They had been once before and RAVED about the food. In the back of my mind, I kept thinking, "How good can it be and can it really be worth the 2 hour drive out of NYC. Can't we just go to dinner in the city?" But we went. What a fantastic night! It's a funky inn and the restaurant isn't their main business. In fact - we were the only 4 people there, which sounds weird but it was perfect. This chef LOVES to cook. And his food is wonderful! (I'm tempted to use 4 exclamation points but don't want to sound like a teenage girl.) We started with a salad that was completely unique. So much fun to have a NEW salad. Then came some vegetable soup. The cynic came out again - "vegetable soup?" How inventive is that?. Best ever! This guy re-invented vegetable soup. I wish I had some right now. Then came my salmon. Now I've eaten a lot of salmon in my lifetime, but this was spectacular. Cooked to perfection. Incredibly moist. Yummy spices. With every bite you know you're eating food that's made by someone who loves to cook. The chef and his wife turn their home into your private dining experience. They'll cook for 2 or they'll cook for 10. They're fun, personable and interesting. And you can't help but love being around people who truly love what they do. This was an experience that was completely fresh and new and unexpected - not because it's the most amazing view or crowd or atmosphere. It's about having a GREAT meal in a place that allowed us to just relax, enjoy and create a wonderful memory. We're going back in the Fall.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjnorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Hook
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
6.7 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
5.9 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
5.8 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Hook Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Hook Country Inn

Property: The Red Hook Country Inn
Address: 7460 S Broadway, Red Hook, NY 12571-1771
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Red Hook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Red Hook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Hook Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Federal Colonial built 1841. 2 Brand new First Floor Wheelchair Accessible Rooms with roll in shower. Carriage House, an accessible addition to the inn, has two bedrooms, fireplace, separate entrance and can accommodate pets. 7 Second floor bedrooms are private, some with jetted tubs, all with private bath, Cable HiDef TV, WiFi, All new triple glaze windows, living room fireplace, community breakfast room (accessible), newly completed back deck, great covered hot tub and outdoor screen house.Great covered front porch with ceiling fans, wicker and rockers! On site parking. Totally non smoking, all food requirements met, 24 hour coffee, tea, snacks and cold water. 4 guest refrigerators. Onsite wheelchair and portacrib available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Red Hook Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Hook Country Hotel Red Hook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing