We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Taste Budd's Chocolate Cafe
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Red Hook
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Welcome to Taste Budd's Cafe, a community coffee house and local den featuring fair trade organic coffees, handmade chocolates and pastries, house baked bread, panini sandwiches, soups and salads, visual art shows every month and live music three times a week! Our great coffee and free wifi means you can come enjoy a fresh brewed cup while working, reading, or lounging. We are open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner! We also host art shows, live music, and offer catering and gifts for special occasions. Dine in, take out, or delivery options are available along with online ordering! Come enjoy your community cafe in a relaxed and cozy atmosphere. Taste Budd's Cafe: it's all about community!
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

I can think of 100 coffee places that would die to be exactly like this one. We were there over a weekend in the summer so it was not inundated with students. The coffee was delicious and i had a breakfast sandwich on amazing bread with egg cheese avocado and some kind of chipotle sauce. It took a few minutes to come to the table but it was well worth the wait. The inside is adorable and you cant miss it from the road with all that purple. They also had all kinds of pastries and they even had a fudge and truffle counter. There are a few tables that have signs that say 'eating only,no studying' which might help the crowds that other people are talking abt. Overall it was awesome and next time im in town i will definitely go back. P.s. If you are touting campus, definitely go here.its a great snapshot of college daily life.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TummyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    28
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newhall, California
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Usually ok... always packed with Bard students”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

It's hard to find a seat in this place as college students linger for hours! The bathrooms are always dirty. The service is slow. The food is pretty good and we love the baked goodies. Yesterday we came in just for some bread to go. The girl taking our order was puzzled with our order although she did know how to ring up an order of bread... she could not explain sizes beyond square and rectangle. Then we had to wait about 20 minutes... for our order of just plain untoasted bread. We tried to get the attention on the numerous employees who were standing around and socializing. After asking if our order was going to be much longer?... our bread was quickly retrieved.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darkdivine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“This is the cafe you want”
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

We found this to be a wonderful place for a relaxing morning cup of coffee and pastry. Great baked goods and cozy atmosphere combine to make this a winner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thubner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Birthday Cake Delivery”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Taste Budds delivered a birthday cake to my son at Bard College. Online ordering is easy. The friendly staff helped me and made sure the cake was delivered on time. My son said the Belgian Dark Chocolate Mousse cake was delicious..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaMcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chefbudd, Owner at Taste Budd's Chocolate Cafe, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Thanks for your kind review. We are happy to serve your baking and delivery needs for your family away from home. We also deliver meals and can mail or have gift cards picked up for that suprise gift. Again, we appreciate your business and review. Sincerely, Chef Budd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Coffee Up and Relax”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Taste Budd's is a great coffee shop with fantastic pastry. My wife and I stopped by to grab something to drink and eat and we weren't disappointed. It reminds me of Starbucks but has a real home town feeling. We enjoyed the prompt service and atmosphere. Give them a try. I think you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joevala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste Budd's Chocolate Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Taste Budd's Chocolate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing