We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rensselaer
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We pick this hotel because it was easy access to I-90, we needed a place to stay for 1 night, and we thought that Holidy Inn express meant a CLEAN basic room. We were mistaken. The halls smelled smokey and like a wet dog. The room was SO Dirty. Carpets had coffee stains & barefoot you could feel dirt on the floor. The bathroom tile was missing grout in areas, the bottom of the bathtub was filthy& to top it all off, the bottom 2 ft of the cloth shower curtain was covered in mold(assuming it hasn't been changed in more than a month). As I went to call the front desk, I noticed that theogony was covered in dirt and dust and looked like it was never cleaned. Gross. Unfortunately, I was unable to find another hotel available in the area so we had to stay. Needless to stay, wedidn't rest well and felt 'dirty' after our visit. Never again will we stay at a Holiday Inn express!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gmo0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    57
    33
    16
    7
See reviews for
52
24
9
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hebron, CT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Stayed here on the way home from Howe Caverns. Check in was painless and the front desk clerk (Austin?) was very nice. Pool was small but adequate for the kids. The whirlpool was nice. Pool area showed a little wear and tear, but nothing off-putting. The area was very neat and clean when we went down on Sat evening, but the chairs were full of dirty towels when we went in on Sunday AM. Not the hotels fault that people can't clean up after themselves. Small exercise room. Hubby went to use the treadmill on Sun AM, but it was broken. The room was decent sized (2 queens). TV was older tube style, but OK. Beds were comfy with choice of soft or firm pillows. Bathroom was a good size and clean. The shower curtain was a bit wobbly and not attached all the way to the wall.
Our room faced the road, but we didn't hear much noise with the A/C on. The other side of the hotel had nice views of the Albany skyline. Ask for those if you book. Breakfast was just OK. The danishes were very good. Lots of chain restaurants up and down the road. Price was OK ($143 for a Sat night -- AAA rate), but not great. I'd stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for a skyline view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMMJRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a conference. I requested a non-smoking room, but at first had been given a smoking one. When I informed the front desk of the error, they changed it immediately. The free breakfast is good and the beds are very confortable. I would stay here again. There is also several restaurants close by.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsdavis82206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed here on the way to CT to visit my daughter and it was a pleasant surprise. We didn't have a reservation because we just wanted to stop when we got tired, and this hotel was right off of I90. The room was clean, with 2 queen beds, good air conditioning, plenty of room and restaurants nearby. We were on the top floor and the view was amazing. I will stay here again for sure. The desk clerk was very nice and helpful, but I'm sorry I don't remember his name.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clbv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) for 2 separate nights in May 2011 (drive down to Boston and on drive back from Boston).

Pros:

- The location -- We were travelling to Boston from Toronto and this seemed to be the right distance for the first day of drive (we split into 2 days) -- With the hotel located right off I-90, we were able to get to the hotel with very little trouble. Very handy and stress free.

- Free buffet breakfast with a decent selection for all -- My son loved the automatic pancake maker.

- Free internet with good reception

- Free parking

- Very Friendly and attentive staff -- Were prepared for our visit with cards already progamed and check-in forms printed -- Also got 2 free bottles of water because I was a Priority Rewards Member (anyone can join for free)

Cons:

- Dislike the policy where they ask you to leave the towels from swimming pool in the pool area. Not sure how they expect you to get back to your room (we ignored and returned them later in the day)

- Hotel seems a bit tired and could use a bit of an update but nothing glaring.

- Seemed a tad on the expensive side $98+tax and $123+tax

Advice:
There is a Cracker Barrel near the hotel -- We enjoyed the meal there.

Use the AAA/CAA rate for a discount if you are a member

Overall, I was satisfied with Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others as a no frills option

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ][
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
265 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,042 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

This hotel is nothing but a junkyard...

To my misery, I had to stay here on two occasions and both times had to use the toilet in the nearby superstore.

Visit 1:

I was on a business trip staying here for a night. I walk into the room, use the toilet and try to flush it, it starts to overflow.

I tried to stop it with towels and called the manager. Manager arrives in 45 minutes after I called him three times. In the meantime, half the room is flooded with water from the toilet. Manager does not change my room. So I end up using the superstore toilet next morning and leave the hotel.

After I complain, and ridiculous number of emails, the manager finally mails me saying that he would give me a suite the next time I come and also offers me 5000 points.

Visit 2:

I took the offer to my misery, and went there again. As promised, I get the king suite. I walk into the room, flush the toilet only to see that the flush knob comes into my hand. Toilet overflows again and I am a flood again.

Manager comes in again and says he cant change my room. This time for a change, he is rude too. I use the toilet in the superstore again and leave the next morning.

The manager never gave me the 5000 points he promised and never did he apologize, and after paying some $150+ per night on two occasions, I get attitude and rude behavior from him.

I have complained this to the BBB and the manager does not care to reply back to them too.

Moral of the story: If you want to spend a night in a junkyard, with no toilet faciities and pay a ridiculous amount, and get attitude thrown at you, this is the right place.

PS: I spend over 50 nights in hotels every year, and have never come across a place more worse than this one.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Suryavarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lavonia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

The Pointe Church of God Couch Tour of 52 people stayed at this hotel on Oct. 4, 2010. Everything was excellent. The staff and breakfast was excellent. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doyell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rensselaer
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-East Greenbush
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Albany East Greenbush
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn And Suites - East Greenbush
Comfort Inn And Suites - East Gr...
#1 of 2 in Castleton On Hudson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown
3.0 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)

Property: Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)
Address: 8 Empire Dr, Rensselaer, NY 12144-5728
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Rensselaer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rensselaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Albany Skyline is conveniently located 3 miles from downtown Albany. The hotel features an indoor pool, fitness center, business center, meeting space to accommodate up to 120 people and a free breakfast bar included in all rates. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning. Visit Rensselaer, NY and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) Hotel Rensselaer
Holiday Inn Rensselaer
Holiday Inn Express Rensselaer
Rensselaer Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing