We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your car would be a better place to sleep....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rensselaer
Certificate of Excellence
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Your car would be a better place to sleep....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We called in the afternoon to confirm our non-smoking room with 2 queen beds and were assured it didn't matter when we arrived. We did so at 9 pm and first were told we'd be on the second floor but then were told they had a better room for us (something fishy about their story). We were given a room directly off the lobby and facing the hotel entrance. The room though designated as non-smoking reeked of smoke. They offered us some spray which didn't do a thing. The hotel guests made excessive noise in the hallway outside our room and in the hotel driveway outside our window. We would have called the front desk to complain but the phone didn't work in our room. They had no other rooms to offer and while they did reduce the price of our room, I would have gotten a better night's sleep in our car.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas G, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline), responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hello Laura R,

Thank you for addressing your concerns with our hotel. I can assure you that your experience was an exception to the outstanding service we pride ourselves on. Isolated on our second floor in the east corridor we do still have smoking rooms. This is to accommodate those who prefer this option, while separating those who do not. Knowing your sensitivity to this, our front desk offered a room on the first floor away from that location. This is why you were told we had a "better room" for you. I'm sorry to hear that there was noise outside of your room. We do have quiet hours at the hotel and know the value of a good night's sleep. In regards to the issue with your phone we have decided to do a complete audit of the phones and lines in our hotel. Please know that we do have two phones in each room, just for instances where one may have gone down on short notice. Please feel free to contact our General Manager, Kesha Legg, to further discuss. Kind Regards~Tom Gabriel, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    56
    33
    16
    7
See reviews for
52
24
9
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
the villages, florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Always stay at this hotel when in the Albany area. The location, service, check-in (Gina), the breakfast and the room are always great. Despite numerous stays, I've yet to use the pool but enjoy the limited fitness room. Will always stay at this hotel when in the Albany area.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor odd numbered room for a great view of the Albany skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas G, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline), responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hello buddy m,

Thank you for both writing a review and your loyalty to our property. Gina is a great team member and we will pass along your kind words to her! Also, it's great to read you enjoyed your room. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to make sure rooms are kept clean. Please always feel free to look us up when you are in the area and we look forward to your next stay. Best Regards~Tom Gabriel, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

A comfortable standard hotel, with good service and a nice pool and whirlpool. I knocked off a star due to the breakfast (all highly processed food; pretty unappetizing). A refrigerator in the room would have been helpful. But overall I found it a pleasant stay and would return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank J05186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesville, South Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I talked to the sales manager to book my room. I asked if there was a shuttle from the airport. He told me that there was a $15 charge. I said ok and that I needed a ride back to the airport. I thought everything was set. The day before departure I went to the front desk to confirm my ride to the airport, they told me it was at their discretion whether they offered a shuttle ride and they were not going to take me like we agreed on.
My company uses Holiday Inn Express a lot each week and they are not at all happy with the actions of this hotel. It may be that because of this sort of thing they will no longer use them..

Take my advice do not use this hotel if you want dependability....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeshaGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline), responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear J C (Atlanta),

Thank you for taking time to post your review about your stay with our hotel. I’m sorry you feel that you had private information given out. I take guest privacy very seriously so I immediately investigated this and would like to address the facts I found in researching your stay/experience.

I would like to ease your mind that no personal private data information was given out by our hotel to either your employer or your customers. Our hotel and our parent company take personal data privacy very seriously. We have a personal data privacy policy that I can share with you offline if you would like to contact me.

The information shared with your customers was performance related during your work at the hotel which is in the form of an evaluation. We complete an evaluation for everyone that works for the customers you mention in your review. The customers that you mention are also our customers. In working with these mutual customers we have provided this type of evaluation for the past several years. The information provided about you was neither more nor less than what we regularly provide. I would like to state again, that we did not provide any private personal data about you.

We are all regretful for your feelings regarding your stay at our hotel. We strive to ensure every guest has a wonderful stay at our hotel, so again I am sorry that we fell short with your stay. Please feel free to contact me directly or our mutual customer for further discussion.

Kesha Legg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed at the hotel Feb 25-28. The last night I was there, the place was so noisy, I couldn't sleep at all! I'm talking 2 am and it was so loud the tv couldn't drown out the sound. I called the front desk and they admitted they had many calls, but they did nothing! I talked a girl on the elevator the following morning and she told me she called the front desk 3 times and still, nothing was done. I would never stay again at a hotel where the staff cared so little about satisfying their guests.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank llyoung68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas G, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline), responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hello llyoung68,

I'm sorry to hear that noise at the hotel caused you to lose some sleep. Please know that caring for our guests is our number one priority. I'm sure you can imagine when sold out, it is hard to control the noise level of every guest. We do have a strict quiet hours policy and enforce this when required. We are currently in the process of looking into this occurance. I hope that everything we have complete control over (cleanliness, check in, breakfast etc.) was perfect. If you'd like to provide us with more details or suggestions please call the hotel at 518-286-1011 and ask to speak with General Manager, Kesha Legg. Kind Regards~Tom Gabriel, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the years. The staff at the front desk has always been courteous, we always had a clean room, the breakfast was always as good as can be expected for a complimentary breakfast. It is high up on a hill overlooking the Albany skyline, so there is a nice view if you're facing that direction. We stayed on July 4th, and was able to watch the Albany fireworks from our hotel room. The hotel is next to a sports bar, there is a Cracker Barrel and a Denny's up the street, and a shopping center with a Wal-Mart, Target, movie theatre, bagel shop, etc. about a quarter mile in the other direction. It's in a convenient location. We always had a great experience here, no complaints, would definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the skyline away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bianca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas G, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline), responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hello Bianca,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We truly appreciate it. Also, thank you for continuing to stay with us. We are proud to say that we do in fact have one of the best views of Albany! We often spot photographers outside taking pictures for various publications and art works. Please make sure that when dinning at the above restaurants you mention you are a guest with us. Many of them offer discounts for staying at our property. Kind Regards~Tom Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great clean hotel. Beautiful view of the Albany skyline. The front desk person, Katia was very pleasant. The room was nice and clean. The bed was comfy. Only one problem-there was no hot water to take a shower!! Hopefully they have fixed the problem by now.

Room Tip: Ask for the side with a view of the Albany skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas G, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline), responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Hello Debbie D,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are happy to hear that everything that was in our control that day went well! We have passed the compliments on to Katia and our housekeeping staff. We are sorry to hear that you did not have any hot water. This is not a typical situation for us and I'm passing your concern onto our Chief Engineer. I hope you will stay with us again if you are in town. Kind Regards~Tom Gabriel, Director of Sales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rensselaer
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-East Greenbush
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Albany East Greenbush
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn And Suites - East Greenbush
Comfort Inn And Suites - East Gr...
#1 of 2 in Castleton On Hudson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
3.0 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)

Property: Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)
Address: 8 Empire Drive, Rensselaer, NY 12144
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Rensselaer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rensselaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Albany Skyline is conveniently located 3 miles from downtown Albany. The hotel features an indoor pool, fitness center, business center, meeting space to accommodate up to 120 people and a free breakfast bar included in all rates. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning. Visit Rensselaer, NY and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) Hotel Rensselaer
Holiday Inn Rensselaer
Holiday Inn Express Rensselaer
Rensselaer Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing