We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a brilliant Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rensselaer
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just a brilliant Holiday Inn”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We only stayed here one night on our way to Niagara Falls but I wish it could have been longer. High standard room and service. Breakfast room, food and ambiance just great. Cleanliness exceptional. Free WiFi. Staff were great. Also a quiet location with great views over Albany.

Room Tip: pick a room facing the City and at least on 2nd. floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettysmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeshaGeneralManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline), responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear bettysmate,

On behalf of the entire team here, at the Holiday Inn Express Albany Skyline, thank you!

We too wish you could have stayed longer. We look forward to seeing you during your next adventure.

Kesha Legg - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    60
    34
    17
    7
See reviews for
54
27
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Large, comfortable room with separate sitting area. Bedding was comfortable, although pillows need to be replaced. The breakfast was typical of this type of hotel, and was kept clean and well stocked. Bonus...nice view of Albany.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moprep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeshaGeneralManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline), responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear moprep,

Thank you for staying with us, and for the insight on your experience while in the Capital Region!

We are currently replacing pillows through-out the entire hotel, and we could not agree with you more!

We have a fantistic breakfast attendant, who puts forth such care and personal touch to the breakfast experience. I am glad you noticed!

On behalf of our entire team, we are grateful for your feedback and we look forward to having you stay again.

Kindly,
Kesha Legg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here when our son graduated from U of Albany two weeks ago.
We were very pleased. Our hotel room was clean and very spacious.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. It was close to downtown Albany and it was directly down the street from Walmart and other stores.
The complimentary breakfast in the morning was very good also.
Overall, I'd stay was a very good value. I would return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelRose6710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeshaGeneralManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline), responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear MelRose6710,

First, most important, congratulations on your grandson's graduation! We are thrilled to have shared this milestone with you, and your family. Thank you.

Additionally, the entire team is pleased to hear you had a comfortable experience while staying at our Express. Thank you for taking the time to share.

Kindly,
Kesha Legg - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adams, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Was taking the Yankee Trails bus to NJ for a cruise. Stayed over night. Great location for getting to the bus. Clean & friendly. Did not use the pool but it also looked clean. Sports bar in next parking lot , an easy seconds walk. Great view of Albany. Plenty of free parking. Will be using again when the time arises.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlyouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeshaGeneralManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline), responded to this review, 22 May 2014
girlyouk,

On behalf of the entire Service Team, thank you! We enjoy the feedback and hope you, and all of our guest's, know we make evey effort to react, correct or improve the service experience daily.

We hope you had a fabulous cruise!
Kesha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed for a night while traveling through Albany. There is nothing within walking distance of the hotel except a restaurant basically in the parking lot. However, after eating there, I wouldn't reccomend it.

The hotel is fine. The room was spacious, and clean. The bed was OK, but a little soft for my liking. Everything worked including the flat screen tv (pleanty of channels as well), AC was quiet, good water pressure and hot water, and the wifi was OK, but slower as the hotel filled up.

All in all, good, decent accomadations.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToSquareBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeshaGeneralManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline), responded to this review, 19 May 2014
ToSquareBob1

We are honored you chose to stay with us while in the Rensselaer, NY area. The team here is appreciative of your review also, as it allows each of us to improve.

We wish you safe travels SquareBob1,
Kesha legg
Gneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We called in the afternoon to confirm our non-smoking room with 2 queen beds and were assured it didn't matter when we arrived. We did so at 9 pm and first were told we'd be on the second floor but then were told they had a better room for us (something fishy about their story). We were given a room directly off the lobby and facing the hotel entrance. The room though designated as non-smoking reeked of smoke. They offered us some spray which didn't do a thing. The hotel guests made excessive noise in the hallway outside our room and in the hotel driveway outside our window. We would have called the front desk to complain but the phone didn't work in our room. They had no other rooms to offer and while they did reduce the price of our room, I would have gotten a better night's sleep in our car.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas G, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline), responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hello Laura R,

Thank you for addressing your concerns with our hotel. I can assure you that your experience was an exception to the outstanding service we pride ourselves on. Isolated on our second floor in the east corridor we do still have smoking rooms. This is to accommodate those who prefer this option, while separating those who do not. Knowing your sensitivity to this, our front desk offered a room on the first floor away from that location. This is why you were told we had a "better room" for you. I'm sorry to hear that there was noise outside of your room. We do have quiet hours at the hotel and know the value of a good night's sleep. In regards to the issue with your phone we have decided to do a complete audit of the phones and lines in our hotel. Please know that we do have two phones in each room, just for instances where one may have gone down on short notice. Please feel free to contact our General Manager, Kesha Legg, to further discuss. Kind Regards~Tom Gabriel, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the villages, florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Always stay at this hotel when in the Albany area. The location, service, check-in (Gina), the breakfast and the room are always great. Despite numerous stays, I've yet to use the pool but enjoy the limited fitness room. Will always stay at this hotel when in the Albany area.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor odd numbered room for a great view of the Albany skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas G, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline), responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hello buddy m,

Thank you for both writing a review and your loyalty to our property. Gina is a great team member and we will pass along your kind words to her! Also, it's great to read you enjoyed your room. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to make sure rooms are kept clean. Please always feel free to look us up when you are in the area and we look forward to your next stay. Best Regards~Tom Gabriel, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rensselaer
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-East Greenbush
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany East Greenbush
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn And Suites - East Greenbush
Comfort Inn And Suites - East Gr...
#1 of 2 in Castleton On Hudson
160 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)

Property: Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)
Address: 8 Empire Dr, Rensselaer, NY 12144-5728
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Rensselaer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rensselaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Albany Skyline is conveniently located 3 miles from downtown Albany. The hotel features an indoor pool, fitness center, business center, meeting space to accommodate up to 120 people and a free breakfast bar included in all rates. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning. Visit Rensselaer, NY and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) Hotel Rensselaer
Holiday Inn Rensselaer
Holiday Inn Express Rensselaer
Rensselaer Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing