We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STOP, TURN AROUND AND GO HOME.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capital Inn & Suites

Capital Inn & Suites
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capital Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rensselaer
New york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“STOP, TURN AROUND AND GO HOME.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The rooms were disgusting. There's mold in the bathroom, crap splattered on the wall, dirty socks and bugs in the bed. Tequila in the dresser. The carpets are stained. And the rooms smell like crap mixed with smoke and must. The floors aren't vacuumed. The sheets are clearly not clean nor are the blankets and pillows. There was dog poop on the edge of the pool, and the water was black with a tarp part of the way on it. The place is sketchy. The neighbors were fighting, and people that we didn't know kept knocking on the door. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. It's truely disgusting. It's structure is not the best. And

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Softball802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arun P, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 October 2016
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    10
    8
    3
    16
See reviews for
11
10
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The rooms were musty and smoky smelling. We found a booze bottle a quarter full in one of our bureaus and a dirty sock in the bed. Food was splattered in the microwave and the floor was CLEARLY not vacuumed. The beds were not comfortable, you could feel the springs. The top bed spread was clearly not washed and not sure about the sheets, but we bought our own blankets to be sure. A lot of creepy people who you would not want young kids to be around, and the neighbors were fighting the whole night. The door was very hard to keep shut and one of the doors our team had rented was not opening with the key. Holes in the screens of the windows and one room had no screen at all. There was a Beatle in my teammates room and last but not least, there pool was covered in algae with a tarp on it. All in all, its gross and not a very comfortable and safe stay here. Not a good choice, would never recommend it and NEVER coming back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rensselaer hotels

Bristol, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We were here for a softball tournament and stayed here with our team. We heard that there were bed bugs so we all checked the beds. In our room we found cracker crumbs laying all in the sheets. Underneath the bed, dirty socks. Another room had an almost empty bottle of tequila in between the pillows. There was cigarette burns in the blankets in every room. The stench was awful in all the room. We got non smoke rooms but it still smelt like cigarettes. The only reason we didn't leave is because we wouldn't get refunded. This stay was awful.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank libobwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arun P, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 October 2016
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a long period and they staff are very friendly and helpful. Very good location and the rooms are quite clean.
The prices are great for the area and about 5 min drive from downtown Albany.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arun P, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 October 2016
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Greenbush, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Needed a room for one night ,asked to see a room, asked to see another room, answer was all room are the same, On that note got back in the car and drove away. Nasty, Nasty. There are more hotels in the area but can not help you.

Room Tip: Keep on going, we stayed at a Quality Inn in Latham ,We are from the area so we know where we are ,s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arun P, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 October 2016
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

No complaints about this basic hotel, except that it's difficult to find any services nearby. We did find a Chinese restaurant in a small strip mall a few miles to the left (west), between a Subway and a hot dog restaurant. If you're looking for a low-priced option and are just passing through this should be OK, but not for more than 1 night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BKKMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arun P, Guest Relations Manager at Capital Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 October 2016
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rensselaer
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)
2.1 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Albany / Glenmont
2.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Glenmont/albany
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Inn & Suites

Property: Capital Inn & Suites
Address: 110 Columbia Turnpike, Rensselaer, NY 12144 (Formerly Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown)
Region: United States > New York > Rensselaer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rensselaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Capital Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Capital Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Rensselaer
Rensselaer Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing