We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Veranda House

The Veranda House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhinebeck
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Veranda House
Ranked #8 of 15 Rhinebeck B&B and Inns
phoenix
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Perfect B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We took a drive up the Hudson River Valley and found this was a perfect place to spend the night. Rhinebeck is a charming town and The Veranda House was a wonderful find. Yvonne was a delightful hostess and was willing to pull two twin beds together and made a King bed for us which is not easy to find in a B&B. It's very homey inside not stuffy or uncomfortable at all. We would have loved to sit and watch tv on the comfy sofa but we could not get it to work. (I'm sure it has to do with our skill with a remote and not the tv. Maybe directions for the tech challenged) I sat and read magazines for awhile as she had a great selection. My husband was able to sit on the veranda and smoke a cigar. She recommended a wonderful restaurant in town. The breakfast....was fantastic. It was the best French toast I have ever had, really. There was a selection of baked breads and fruit, lots of coffee and wonderful guests to talk too. I would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjmphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    16
    4
    0
    8
See reviews for
8
26
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

What a charming B & B! My room was perfect: immaculate and very pretty with a beautiful four-poster bed. Yvonne is a gracious, generous lady who was very helpful in restoring the belongings I accidentally left behind. I recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We just got back from the Veranda House Bed and Breakfast in Rhinebeck, NY, and could not wait to sit down and write a review!

It truly is the "bed and breakfast" at its best: the most elegant and authentically refined old world, graceful arrangement. Our stay was just magical!! Everything was coordinated to perfection, from the very tasteful and beautiful Victorian decor, the most comfortable high mattresses (in the Ivy room), no noise leading to restful sleep, and delicious full daily breakfasts. The innkeeper, Yvonne Sarn, was so knowledgeable, accommodating, pleasant, and entertaining~we felt like honored family members~ and did not want to leave. The historical Inn is centrally located in the town of Rhinebeck NY, allowing one to walk to its many attractions or drive a short distance to the historical mansions and many other attractions in this gorgeous district.

We already miss it, and cannot wait to return.

Chantal And Joe, New York, NY.

Room Tip: The Ivy room bed was very comfortable, and the jacuzzi was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

On a roadtrip through the Hudson River Valley my husband & I stayed at The Veranda for two nights. It is a charming B&B, beautifully furnished and well located two blocks from the centre of the lovely town of Rhinebeck. The owner, Yvonne, is delightful and was very welcoming and helpful. She is also a wonderful cook and made us delicious and generous breakfasts. Our only concern was the bed in the Forget-Me-Not room was a little soft so that we rolled toward the middle. Nevertheless, we would certainly stay at The Veranda again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthEB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Spent 2 nights this past weekend for my brother's wedding weekend. What a find. Well maintained, beautiful B&B. Rooms were spacious and well appointed- comfy beds too. Breakfast (only had one during our stay) was delicious. Yvonne the innkeeper was lovely and gracious. We would definitely stay at Veranda House again when visiting the Hudson Valley.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaWayneNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We spent last Saturday night at this B&B. The room was very comfortable and very clean. Yvonne, the inn keeper, was very friendly and more than happy to accommodate my gluten allergy. The breakfast was delicious, tasting of fresh ingredients. The downstairs sitting room was also comfortable with a variety of new magazines, books and a TV. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rose room which was spacious with a queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Well appointed, beautiful and cozy. We reserved two rooms on Memorial Day weekend. The Forget me Not, and the Ivy room. Our rooms were gorgeous, spotless and thoughtfully appointed with chocolates, bottled water, bath toiletries, comforter and extra pillows. Each room was furnished with style and grace. We were greeted by Yvonne at check in and had a brief tour of the living, dining and library. It was a cold and rainy day, so the crystal decanter of sherry was a wonderful touch. Our bed linens were pleasantly scented and the mattresses were perfect. We all slept easily through our night and woke to hot coffee, juice and apple pastry, berry and fruit cups, eggs & sausage. We were on the run and needed to make an 8:30 am commitment, Yvonne was kind enough to make special arrangements to accommodate our schedule and prepared breakfast early.

The Inn is located 2 blocks from the town center and is easily reached walking. There are numerous shops, restaurants and a wonderful arts theater just steps away. No need to drive.
Our only wish was for better weather so we could enjoy the Inn's namesake "Veranda" and garden sipping a glass of wine before dinner.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Quaint B& B with 5 rooms. We stayed upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tenbiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinebeck
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hideaway Suites Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Old Stone Farm
Old Stone Farm
#7 of 15 in Rhinebeck
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beekman Arms and Delamater Inn
0.0 mi away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Rondout Inn
Rondout Inn
#3 of 8 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Veranda House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Veranda House

Property: The Veranda House
Address: Rhinebeck, NY 12572
Region: United States > New York > Rhinebeck
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Rhinebeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing