We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheesy decor Cheesy music Cheesy attitudes” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liberty

Liberty
Ranked #19 of 55 Restaurants in Rhinebeck
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cheesy decor Cheesy music Cheesy attitudes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Will never again try the Liberty, should have
learned from our first experience. Ribs were awful, inedible, drinks were watery and server was disinterested. Are we in a Candid Camera episode ? Where's Alan Funt ?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jesse64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    48
    26
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Poor Service Outside”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

While the setting is nice, the service (if you sit outside) is horrific. Waited forever for a waiter..............ordered drinks and had to ask for them several times. Same with second round of drinks. When bill came it was incorrect and waiting for a corrected bill took forever. Too bad, as we were really in no hurry but having to hound a waiter for service totally detracted from the casual nature of having lunch here. There are too many better options in Rhinebeck that provide better service........

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bristolboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I'm not too sure yet...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Haven't been to this place since it was The Starr restaurant. Right off the bat I liked that they didn't have the typical ding bat waitresses, but instead a waiter. Not too crazy about the decor, which is a bit intimidating, and absolutely HATE the music. I think the old place (the starr) had the same music playing too, something like roadhouse, or blues. Really hate that kind of music.

The drinks were just ok. They could be stronger and larger. The service was ok, the bartender better than the waiter.

one thing they need to absolutely take care of is to put cushions on the HARD wooden bench seats. One of the reasons we left is because my tush couldn't take it anymore.

Also, the large screen TV at the bar screams "cheese". So unnecessary, since no one even watched tv. it's a distraction and tacky.

This place has the potential to be better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

The beat up, frayed chairs on the veranda should have been a hint to skip this place & keep walking down the street. Sitting outside was nice, which is the only really complimentary thing I can say. The food was forgettable, except for the beef short ribs. I'll never forget them -one big, thick, boneless mass of fat & membranes, unseasoned yet. Really gross to look at, let alone try to eat! Our poker-faced waitress was indifferent to everything, but at least the manager honed up to responsibility & did the right thing by taking the "ribs" off the tab. (Hence, the 2 star rating instead of one).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NYCTraveler675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westhampton Beach, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Stumbled upon it during a business trip, sat outside because our dog dined with us. She received a fresh bowl of water in silver bowl. Server very nice and informative. Had the kale salad with pistachios a cranberries with blackend salmon. We also had steak. Freedom fries were to DIE for!!! And fig,bacon and blue cheese app was delightful. Loved it!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ToniElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Liberty also viewed

 

Been to Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing