We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A second visit with family and friends....service is better but dishes are dull”
Review of Liberty

Liberty
Ranked #18 of 57 Restaurants in Rhinebeck
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Niagara Falls, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A second visit with family and friends....service is better but dishes are dull”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Decor is still cheesy but attitudes have changed for the better. Service is very good but you will be overcharges for the very mediocre food and the somewhat strange menu. Although the food is not either overcooked or poorly prepared, it lacks flavor and imagination.. smallish portions are the norm here and again may I say it...uninspired food...There are many restaurants in this village most are overpriced but dishes are more pleasing and made with more care..sorry but we will never return to this establishment....
Jesse

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jesse64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    53
    28
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sewell, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Nice Location - Average Meal”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Downtown Rhinebeck has a large selection of restaurants that allow you to pick what you feel like at any time. After checking at least 2 dozen restaurant menus posted by the front doors, we decided to try Liberty Public House. Sitting out on the front porch, we got to enjoy a beautiful May evening. My wife enjoyed an interesting and tasty kale salad. Other than the salad, the rest of the meal was average. Service was fantastic, though, and made our experience at Liberty better than it might have been.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stormkrow8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ansonia, CT
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good burgers and cool space!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stopped in here for lunch yesterday after doing the Rhinebeck Antiques Fair. The space is patriotically decorated and very tasteful. Mini biscuits and corn muffins were brought to the table as a small appetizer. They were very tasty. We both played it safe and ordered burgers. I had the Liberty burger with manchego cheese and "freedom fries". The burger was cooked perfectly to my liking. My partners onion rings were a bit overcooked but I liked them that way. Not sure if they normally cook them this way but I liked it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank javaandjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Stumbled in to Liberty...”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

... on a very rainy night. They just opened for dinner and we needed someplace fairly quick, so their menu seemed like it would do the trick. Asked if we wanted to sit in the bar or restaurant, we opted for the bar. Extensive beer selection. It is a public house, after all! We tried the fried pickles as an appetizer. Big spears in tasty batter, almost like a tempura, drizzled with balsamic and with a horseradish dipping sauce on the side. Then we opted for classic comfort foods- fish & chips and meatloaf. Both decent portions. Fish came with untraditional sweet potato fries. Meatloaf was a big slab with a delicious "tomato gravy," basically like a homemade ketchup, with awesome grilled veggies and a mound of buttery mashed potatoes. Service was very accommodating, especially since we told our server we were on a schedule. Not the cheapest place, but certainly not the most outrageously priced place. $48 for two entrees, app, and a beer.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crazydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun bar, good drinks, nice bartenders”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Fun bar, good drinks, nice bartenders. Food smelled great- May stop back. They also have late night snacks, a full drink menu, some beer on tap.

Helpful?
Thank leahmacvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Liberty also viewed

 

Been to Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing