We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay Away” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liberty

Liberty
Ranked #19 of 55 Restaurants in Rhinebeck
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lake Katrine, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay Away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

July 4th second and last trip to the Liberty, it was so bad. Burger way under cooked, girlfriends meal way over cooked. Sent both back, which trusts me never happens. Her is re made, mine comes out the same. The cook was so lame that he didn't even put it back on the grill. Then the computer system fails and we wait 15 minutes after the meal, having to chase the guy down at the bar to hand write the check, This for a $16 hamburger that the cook couldn't even make medium rare. Sad place the staff look very uninterested in the customers, stay away, over priced, lousy service, and the food is bad.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ponte30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    48
    26
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A second visit with family and friends....service is better but dishes are dull”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Decor is still cheesy but attitudes have changed for the better. Service is very good but you will be overcharges for the very mediocre food and the somewhat strange menu. Although the food is not either overcooked or poorly prepared, it lacks flavor and imagination.. smallish portions are the norm here and again may I say it...uninspired food...There are many restaurants in this village most are overpriced but dishes are more pleasing and made with more care..sorry but we will never return to this establishment....
Jesse

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jesse64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
248 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Nice Location - Average Meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Downtown Rhinebeck has a large selection of restaurants that allow you to pick what you feel like at any time. After checking at least 2 dozen restaurant menus posted by the front doors, we decided to try Liberty Public House. Sitting out on the front porch, we got to enjoy a beautiful May evening. My wife enjoyed an interesting and tasty kale salad. Other than the salad, the rest of the meal was average. Service was fantastic, though, and made our experience at Liberty better than it might have been.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stormkrow8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ansonia, CT
Level Contributor
210 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good burgers and cool space!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stopped in here for lunch yesterday after doing the Rhinebeck Antiques Fair. The space is patriotically decorated and very tasteful. Mini biscuits and corn muffins were brought to the table as a small appetizer. They were very tasty. We both played it safe and ordered burgers. I had the Liberty burger with manchego cheese and "freedom fries". The burger was cooked perfectly to my liking. My partners onion rings were a bit overcooked but I liked them that way. Not sure if they normally cook them this way but I liked it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank javaandjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
121 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Stumbled in to Liberty...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

... on a very rainy night. They just opened for dinner and we needed someplace fairly quick, so their menu seemed like it would do the trick. Asked if we wanted to sit in the bar or restaurant, we opted for the bar. Extensive beer selection. It is a public house, after all! We tried the fried pickles as an appetizer. Big spears in tasty batter, almost like a tempura, drizzled with balsamic and with a horseradish dipping sauce on the side. Then we opted for classic comfort foods- fish & chips and meatloaf. Both decent portions. Fish came with untraditional sweet potato fries. Meatloaf was a big slab with a delicious "tomato gravy," basically like a homemade ketchup, with awesome grilled veggies and a mound of buttery mashed potatoes. Service was very accommodating, especially since we told our server we were on a schedule. Not the cheapest place, but certainly not the most outrageously priced place. $48 for two entrees, app, and a beer.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank crazydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Liberty also viewed

 

Been to Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing