We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”
Review of Olde Rhinebeck Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhinebeck
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olde Rhinebeck Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Rhinebeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We spent three nights at the Inn and enjoyed it very much. The room was cozy and clean, the innkeeper Jonna very nice. She gave us all the information about restaurants, places to go to and made us feel at home. It is just a few minutes away from Rhinebeck and Kingston, so you will find a lot of restaurants and also shopping malls if you need them. Close to Roosevelt and Vanderbilt estates and the CIA. We'd come back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JungeGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The breakfasts were wonderful! We got a tour of the entire inn, and I thought each room was lovely. We were very glad for our room though! It was perfect for us--the Ryefield Suite, it gave us enough room to spread out. And my husband loved the cookies! We definitely would stay again, and have already recommended it to friends. Oh, and I forget to mention the symphony that we heard at night of frogs, and who knows what else---not something we hear at home, but very fun to try to guess what insects, animals were making that noise. The 2nd night we left the top part of our door open, so that we could hear it as we fell asleep. And did I mention the antiques, and the collection of sheep? So fun to look at everything!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelsey1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed for three nights at the Olde Rhinebeck Inn. As two professionals without children yet, we love to travel and had the chance to stay in many lovely places. This is by far the best US bed and breakfast that we have ever been to.

1. The room: We stayed in the Spirited Dove room upstairs. The room has the charm of from an older time, but all the modern-day conveniences - fast, complementary wifi, a Roku box for streaming netflix, good water pressure, a powerful Jacuzzi, and efficient but quiet air conditioner. Despite a huge thunerstorm one night, the room was very quiet and peaceful. The bed is comfortable and we slept well every night. The room is beautifully appointed and Joanna the innkeeper has thought out of everything. A large marble-topped makeup table where for toiletries without getting everything wet by the sink, light refreshments, multiple sitting areas in the room for reading or even doing a little work if necessary. The porch outside the room is perfect and offers a lovely view of the idyllic pond behind the inn.

2. The food: Joanna's breakfasts are phenomenal. I am not a breakfast person unless it is really good. I couldn't stop eating her breakfasts! She made me a fan of quinoa and quiche, two things I never have liked before. There is a generous mix of sweet and savory choices.

3. The location: absolutely perfect location. Only a 10 minute drive into the heart of Rhinebeck, 15 minutes to Hyde Park for the museums and CIA, about 20 minutes to a beautiful botanical garden Joanna recommended. We preferred staying outside of the main town, since we wanted to maximize the feeling of "getting away".

All in all, this is truly a gem. Joanna is a consummate innkeeper. I would absolutely come back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The Spirited Dove room is larger than it appears in the photos and even more charming in real life...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JC_from_boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Staying at the Olde Rhinebeck Inn is an experience in itself.The property is beautiful,the house itself is very cozy and inviting,each room is decorated differently and has it's unique personality,the beds are made up so nicely I had a hard time messing it up to sleep in it!!!Jonna the Inn keeper is warm,friendly,helpful and does a great job tending to her business.We had some fruit,chocolates and delicious freshly baked cookies in our rooms which I find very nice unlike the disappointed "Hairdye67"guest who seems to expect a whole bar of chocolate and notes thanking them for choosing the Inn(I can't imagine finding a better choice anywhere,but so be it....).In Jonna's absence we were extremely well taken care of by Lee Anne and Cindy who both made the most delicious and huge breakfasts I have ever had!.This was my 4th stay here and Jonna has also made fantastic breakfasts.The Olde Rhinebeck Inn is an amazing choice in the area (pricey but well worth it).The only deterrent to staying there would be if you like being IN town. Most people who go to this area drive there so, if you have a car,this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Each room has it's charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisolbrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Loved everything about my stay. Country location not too close/not too far from town. Comfortable bed in nicely decorated room. But mostly the food and hospitality. Awesome breakfasts. Owners were friendly and so knowledgeable, willing to suggest sites to see around the Hudson River Valley area. Had great evening and morning conversations with owners and other guests. Such a relaxing time, which was perfect for me.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dotty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Travelled 3000 miles to stay at Olde Rhinebeck Inn and it was worth all the air turbulence. This place is pre Revolutionary War and it has unbelievable charm with large rooms that are decorated to give one a step back in time feel. Coming from LA, didn't know what to expect, but all of our expectations were far exceded. The gourmet breakfasts, with fresh fruit, baked goods and variety of local fare made us look forward to getting up each morning and starting our exploration of the area. We felt at home and welcomed here, which is a far cry from the normal hotel experience. Sharing the breakfast table with other guests and our wonderful host, Jonna, made us feel right like we were spending time with old friends. Truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camandad1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This place is historic and very interesting. If you are especially interested in 18th century farmhouses, this place may be for you. We found the decor interesting and the atmosphere cozy. We were dissappointed in some of the lack of attention to detail (small bite size Hershey candy in the rooms? No special notes to greet the guests). The Inn keeper is very chatty, pulled up a chair during breakfast, and talked more than our fellow guests. The breakfast was very good, but not spectacular. This is a very expensive B & B. I've had much better experiences at other places. Details are important to us. I'm not sure this place is worth the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hairdye67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinebeck
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
925 reviews
16 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#2 of 10 in Kingston
62 reviews
2.9 mi away
Beekman Arms and Delamater Inn
8.2 mi away
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Rhinebeck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Rhinebeck Inn

Address: 340 Wurtemburg Rd, Rhinebeck, NY 12572-3549
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Rhinebeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Rhinebeck
Price Range: £168 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic... Elegant... Rustic... Intimate. Walk the original wide plank floors, admire the patina of centuries old buttermilk finishes and lie beneath rugged hand hewn chestnut beams. Lovingly restored, delightfully appointed suites and fine amenities provide plush accommodations for the perfect getaway. Located just three miles outside of the charming village of Rhinebeck, NY, and ideally situated to enjoy the highlights of the Hudson River Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olde Rhinebeck Hotel Rhinebeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing