We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Months later, still enjoying happy memories” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olde Rhinebeck Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhinebeck
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olde Rhinebeck Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Rhinebeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Months later, still enjoying happy memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We enjoyed a rare weekend away (our children are 5 and 3) for the two of us back in the spring. I have been meaning to write about our experience for months. We did a little bit of shopping around when we were trying to select a romantic getaway, and the reviews of the Olde Rhinebeck Inn talked us into it. We are so glad they did!

The building is lovely (though at 5'9" and 6'4", my husband and I did have a few bumped heads on low ceilings - fellow tall people, be careful!), and the rooms are beautifully kept.

The location is great - just minutes from great restaurants and shops, and well-situated for short drives to nearby attractions (wineries, galleries, cute towns, etc).

But what made it special was the care and hospitality of our lovely hostess, Jonna, and her spectacular meals. We'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    10
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
274
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Our stay at Old Rhinebeck Inn was a wonderful experience! The coziness of the Inn and idyllic setting near the "snapdragon" pond set the tone for a memorable stay. Jonna 's use of home-grown herbs and use of organic ingredients drew me to stay the Inn, and her wonderful preparations resulted in a healthy breakfast that was both delicious and appealing. Our leisurely breakfast with the accompaniment of an interested innkeeper like Jonna were highlights of our stay as well. We hope to visit soon again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We just returned from a stay at the Olde Rhinebeck Inn, and our only complaint is that we had to leave!

The place is conveniently located to everything in Rhinebeck and Hyde Park. It is not only historic, but cozy and inviting. We stayed in the Deer Hill suite on the ground floor. It has its own sitting area and bathroom and was perfect for our needs.

The breakfast at the Inn was amazing! Innkeeper Jonna is so lovely and luckily for us, she is also a truly terrific cook. We had baked French pear pancake, eggs, sausage, and more. While we all gathered in the dining room, Jonna even showed us the tricks her pup Smooch can do.

She also helped us pick a dinner spot in Rhinebeck and helped us get to a movie in rapid time! If you want to be well cared for and have a memorable B&B experience, stay at the Olde Rhinebeck Inn. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABSkywalkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We booked very last minute and this was the only inn that had a room left (they had a late cancellation). We were not that excited about staying there. B&Bs can be lovely but very often they are dusty, cold, uncosy. You sit at communal tables and no one talks. Well, we have had our strange experiences.

However our worries were unfounded. We have rarely been so pleasantly surprised. I don't think I need to add much more to the other reviewers' fantastic reviews. I agree with them all.

We stayed in the Spirited Dove room. Apparently this is the smallest room?? Well it was still massive. Lovely bathroom, nice south east facing balcony. I really loved this room.

But what makes this B&B so great is the lovely innkeeper Jonna...she is a gem, a great cook, a warm kind lady who manges to create a relaxed atmosphere whilst delivering great food and service.
So my advice : go and stay at Old Rhinebeck Inn. You will feel very very well cared for and when you leave, you feel your money was well spent. There is tea, coffee, biscuits, netflix, lovely shampoos etc in bathroom. Everything is well thought out.

Rhinebeck town is also lovely with great restauarants. Just go!!

Room Tip: I liked Spirited dove as it has a balcony but I think they are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocolate74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, NJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

For our 10th anniversary, my husband and I couldn't think of a more perfect place to go. We'd been there for our 5th anniversary, and were treated like long lost friends upon our arrival. Jonna upgraded us to our previously held room, which we had loved (Plow and Harrow) due to a cancellation and we were thrilled. My husband immediately took to the ridiculously comfortable bed that he remembered and took a sound 3 hour nap while I read. She recommended a restaurant and made reservations the first night, which we messed up and went elsewhere. We managed to get to it the second night to be delighted with an anniversary gift certificate from Jonna; she is ever so thoughtful. Her breakfasts were incredible and I am going to ask for the recipes for everything. Rhinebeck itself seems to be much more happening since we were there last with lots of new stores and restaurants. This is the best B&B we have ever been to and we can't wait to go back. You cannot go wrong with a visit to this beautiful inn. Like us, you will never want to leave. Go ahead and book! You deserve the treat!

Room Tip: All the rooms a exquisite and comfortable and you couldn't go wrong with any of them. I love th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PegBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night. The inn does not look like much from the outside, but is delightful on the inside. Our suite was very, very comfortable with well thought out amenities. The innkeeper, Jonna, was not there, but the assistant innkeeper did a very good job.
I do think it might be nice if the inn were to offer some sort of wine or sherry in the evening. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbarasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We enjoyed an overnight stay at the Inn after a very long day of sightseeing all around Hyde Park. The lovely quiet setting with pond and Adirondack chairs, and the comfortable room amenities were perfect. Country breakfast the next morning was delicious. Jonna really knows her business and is so hospitable! Highly recommend the Ryefield Suite on the first floor.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CTTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinebeck
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
7.8 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
16.8 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
6.3 mi away
Church des Artistes Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Rhinebeck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Rhinebeck Inn

Property: Olde Rhinebeck Inn
Address: 340 Wurtemburg Rd, Rhinebeck, NY 12572-3549
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Rhinebeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Rhinebeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic... Elegant... Rustic... Intimate. Walk the original wide plank floors, admire the patina of centuries old buttermilk finishes and lie beneath rugged hand hewn chestnut beams. Lovingly restored, delightfully appointed suites and fine amenities provide plush accommodations for the perfect getaway. Located just three miles outside of the charming village of Rhinebeck, NY, and ideally situated to enjoy the highlights of the Hudson River Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olde Rhinebeck Hotel Rhinebeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing