We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most charming country inn ever”
Review of Olde Rhinebeck Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhinebeck
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olde Rhinebeck Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Rhinebeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, NJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most charming country inn ever”
Reviewed 17 November 2008

My husband and I stayed at Olde Rhinebeck Inn for our anniversary weekend and couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. Our hostess, Jonna, seemed like an old friend just after meeting her. The inn is beautifully decorated and utterly charming. We stayed in the Plow and Hearth room and loved it. From the sweet sitting room with fresh roses and treats that awaited us upon our arrival, to the comfortable bed, stocked refrigerator, warming stove, floor to ceiling windows, claw foot tub and two person shower (with robes and bedding more comfortable than any spa I've ever visited), absolutely no detail is overlooked. And perfectly clean. Even the closets didn't have a speck of dust! Breakfasts were unbelievable and we ate so much both mornings that we didn't need lunch. The food was that good. Even fighting a little cold, Jonna was just great and so accommodating. she provided the umbrellas we forgot, and not only suggested a great restaurant for dinner, she even made the reservation for us. We met great people and ended the weekend with a terrific and fun game that Joanna taught us. It was very hard to leave when it was time. We did a lot in the area over the weekend, but the best part of our stay was definitely the Old Rhinebeck Inn. If you are looking for a perfect, charming, authentic, rustic, country inn, look no further. You will not be disappointed. We simply cannot wait to go back.

  • Liked — Absolutely Everything
  • Disliked — Absolutely Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PegBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    11
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
60
283
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2008

We've stayed at many bed and breakfasts over the years, and the Olde Rhinebeck Inn is definitely one of the best. Jonna is a warm and welcoming hostess, and her breakfasts are absolutely awesome! The suites are spacious, clean, and comfortable, and they're beautifully decorated. Our room, the "Spirited Dove," while not a suite, was very large, with a small balcony overlooking the pond and a jacuzzi tub. The amenities are first class, there is tea and coffee available at all times, and the refrigerator in our room was stocked with sparkling water and sodas. There was also a plate of fruit and cookies on the table in our room. Jonna made the dinner reservations for our three night stay, and her suggestions for restaurants and activities in the area were excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and if we return to the Rhinebeck area, we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Liked — The comfortable accommodations in a historic building and the warm hospitality.
  • Disliked — Not a thing.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dvdcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2008

The Olde Rhinebeck Inn also rents a one-bedroom, one-and-a-half bath cottage about a mile from the inn. It is a small yet very cozy and charming place on the edge of its own apple orchard, out in farm country with a lovely view of the Catskills. It's about a five-minute drive to town. We stayed there two weeks in August and another week in early November. Although it is fairly small, with a low ceiling in the bedroom on the 2d floor, it is very comfortable and relaxing, outfitted with a TV upstairs and one downstairs, and Wi-Fi. The owners also provide a picnic bench and barbecue equipment so we could make our dinners outside. It might be cramped for a family but was perfect for the two of us. We contacted the Inn to reserve.

  • Liked — Beautiful grounds, trees, charming house
  • Disliked — Bedroom ceiling a little low for my boyfirend (but doable)
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aklein1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2008

The Olde Rhinebeck Inn is simply a gem. Run by a talented young innkeeper, Jonna, the Inn is beautifully appointed, graciously run and exactly what one needs for a totally relaxing, completely comfortable home away from home. The breakfast cuisine is absolutely wonderful, served family-style to the eight guests on premises. The Inn boasts its own chickens, ducks as well as a large, organic vegetable garden. On one morning the frittata was made with ingredients that only moments before had been gracing the vines in the garden; it was just magnificent. But for this visitor, the additional delight was the presence of Strudel, the miniature long-haired dachshund, whose company adds to the convivial atmosphere. Having stayed at the Inn earlier in the year, in May of 2008 as well, I discovered that Jonna is a wealth of information on the local goings on, and can easily direct her patrons to the best restaurants, sites and experiences that the Hudson River Valley has to offer. The one sadness comes when it is time to leave. The trip always feels too short and one longs to return to the pond, the hammock, the area and of course, the Olde Rhinebeck Inn.

  • Liked — the friendly and warm atmosphere, beautiful appointments and fabulous food
  • Disliked — There is nothing to like least....everything is wonderful
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dachsiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2008

What a gem! Every little detail of this inn has been lovingly thought out. We stayed 2 nights in the Plow & Harrow suite & wish we could have stayed longer. Jonna is an amazing hostess - we were totally unfamiliar with the area and she sent us off on great excursions. Breakfast was fabulous and served family style in yet another perfectly appointed room. Eggs came from the chickens in the backyard! Very comfy, down to earth feel, 5 star service.

  • Liked — Beautiful suite & bath
  • Disliked — loved everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank figure8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernardsville, nj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2008

My wife and I take our cousins from England to different parts of the US on each of their visits here. We spent 3 wonderful days at the Inn during this visit. They stayed in one of the downstairs rooms (friends came up on the second night and stayed in the other downstairs room). My wife and I were in an upstairs room. Each room had its own special charm and we were all very pleased. Housekeeping was great and room amenities high grade.

Jonna, the innkeeper, was a most engaging hostess. Plus she prepared wonderful breakfasts- paying attention to dietary needs. We had made our own dinner reservation at the CIA and we took her advice as to where to eat our other meals. With her helpful directions, printed out for us, we enjoyed our touring. Make sure you take the time to chat with her!

There are so many places to visit in the area and the Inn is a special place to make your base.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidm40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2007

Definitely the best b&b experience I've ever had. The best of both worlds; a historic home with modern amenities. The food is unbelievable. And the activities in the area are great.

Jonna did a fantastic job of restoring the inn while respecting its history. The inn is very cozy and comfortable. I love the decor - not flowery and overly decorated as many b&b's seem to be. Jonna maintains a professional atmosphere, however, Jonna sets such a comfortable tone that I felt as though we had known her for years. This may seem a weird way of describing her, but we just kept saying that she seemed like the most 'normal' innkeeper we had ever met!

We stayed in the Plow & Harrow room. All of the rooms (except for the Ryefield Suite - which seemed a bit dark and claustrophobic because of the low ceiling) seem like great options. What I loved most about the P&H room is the bathroom. The tub was a dream and I loved the farm house-yet sophisticated decor. The bed was very comfortable. I also appreciated all of the available sitting areas within the room. Best of all, the place was spotless. This is the first place I've stayed where I didn't feel compelled to give the tub a thorough cleaning before taking a soak!

You can't go wrong here. I almost hesitate to post this review so I can keep this precious gem all to myself!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gammongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinebeck
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
849 reviews
7.7 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
38 reviews
2.9 mi away
Beekman Arms and Delamater Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
16.8 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
9.8 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#1 of 16 in Saugerties
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Rhinebeck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Rhinebeck Inn

Property: Olde Rhinebeck Inn
Address: 340 Wurtemburg Rd, Rhinebeck, NY 12572-3549
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Rhinebeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Rhinebeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic... Elegant... Rustic... Intimate. Walk the original wide plank floors, admire the patina of centuries old buttermilk finishes and lie beneath rugged hand hewn chestnut beams. Lovingly restored, delightfully appointed suites and fine amenities provide plush accommodations for the perfect getaway. Located just three miles outside of the charming village of Rhinebeck, NY, and ideally situated to enjoy the highlights of the Hudson River Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olde Rhinebeck Hotel Rhinebeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing