We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful and Most Unusual Inn”
Review of Olde Rhinebeck Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhinebeck
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olde Rhinebeck Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Rhinebeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Beautiful and Most Unusual Inn”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We recently went to Bard College to hear the opera at the Summerscape Festival, and decided to make a weekend of it. We chose to stay at the Olde Rhinebeck Inn, built in 1745, and lovingly restored by the innkeepers, Cindy and Jonna, who told us its history, dating back to Cindy's grandfather. The Inn has been beautifully furnished with wonderful antiques, which give it authenticity, warmth and charm, while providing all comforts and amenities. A delicious homemade gourmet breakfast is served at a large wooden table, where you meet the other guests and chat with the innkeepers.
The Inn is on a quiet street overlooking meadows, and with its own pond, near the center of charming Rhinebeck with its superb restaurants and myriad historic sites sprinkled in the breath-taking country side. We made a trip to Hyde Park and the Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Home and Museum. It was an unforgettable weekend.
Do stay at the Old Rhinebeck Inn! We can't recommend it highly enough!!
Anne Elvins (AKA Anna Gabrieli) and John Grace

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms, and they are all unique. We had a ground floor suite and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    11
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
63
289
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holliston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I usually don't review when I agree with all previous reviews but this place was so special I had to add to the wonderful reviews. So many nice touches.. plate of cookies, fruit and candy on arrival, complimentary beverages in frig, shelf with outlet to charge devices, Newsletter on table with local restaurants, attractions and weather, Keurig in hallway. And of course Netflix! But what I loved were the breakfasts and the wonderful conversation at the breakfast table. Interesting nice people and Jonna usually joined us. Our room was large with a small balcony overlooking the pond with the weeping willow tree. The stairs were VERY steep but we are old house people so we love that sort of thing. If you don't like narrow tread steep stairs ask for a room downstairs. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sboc429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was a memorable experience at a charming B&B that exceeded our high expectations. The bedroom was comfortable and the building was quiet, with no traffic sounds. Electric outlets and lighting were up to date, not always the case in historic inns. The breakfast was wonderful, and the conversation, round the breakfast table, with Jonna, the innkeeper, and with 2 other couples, enhanced the pleasure of the stay. We came for the proximity to the Roosevelt Library and Hyde Park, and the World War One airplanes at Old Rhinebeck Aerodrome, but vastly underestimated the time needed to do justice to both these sites. I would recommend 3 days, and a stay at this B&B is something that we will look forward to in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Have stayed here a few times over the years, and always find it charming. It's a mile or two out of town, so you might not want to walk, but my husband and I always bring bikes, and there's plenty to explore.

The owner gets creative with breakfast, and is very helpful with restaurant recommendations.

There are lovely snacks in the room, and coffee/tea when you need it.

Rooms are comfy, and typical B&B style.

Room Tip: It's an old building so beware the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is a picture perfect B&B in every way -- comfortable, clean and charming rooms, extra amenities (e.g., a refrigerator for guest usage), scrumptious and abundant breakfasts, and, best of all, warm and welcoming innkeepers who take a personal interest in each guest's individual preferences.

Room Tip: The two-room suite is especially conducive to feeling "at home."
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed at the Olde Rhinebeck Inn the first time 15 years ago and I never forgot how amazed I was by the place. I chose to take my wife there this past weekend for our second year anniversary and to tell you its even better than the first time. The place has aged without aging. I find it incredible that such a place exist. The Inn keeper Jonna who I met the first time and Cindy make you feel like its your home. Everything about this get away is worth repeating and I will look forward until my next visit.

Room Tip: every room has its own identity while still being part of a whole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank dimitri h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithtown, New York
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Olde Rhinebeck Inn this June 2014, for a long weekend.
From the moment we arrived our weekend was amazing.
We were greeted with warmth, and so enjoyed meeting Cindy, she is a wonderful Host!
She was so helpful and informative, not to mention a "Gourmet Chef" .
Breakfast was incredible, the food kept coming, each course absolutey delicious!
No need to have Lunch,it was truly a dining experience.
Our room was impecably clean and beautifully decorated, the linens and soft robes luxurious!
The Inn is a beautifully maintained Historic Home and the we truly enjoyed learning of it's history.
Thank you Cindy for taking the time you spent with us to share it's story.

We look foward to going back soon and would recommend the Inn to anyone who enjoys quality
and amazing food.

Mayann V.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank maryann v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinebeck
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
876 reviews
8.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
346 reviews
7.7 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Beekman Arms and Delamater Inn
8.2 mi away
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
16.8 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Rhinebeck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Rhinebeck Inn

Property: Olde Rhinebeck Inn
Address: 340 Wurtemburg Rd, Rhinebeck, NY 12572-3549
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Rhinebeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Rhinebeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic... Elegant... Rustic... Intimate. Walk the original wide plank floors, admire the patina of centuries old buttermilk finishes and lie beneath rugged hand hewn chestnut beams. Lovingly restored, delightfully appointed suites and fine amenities provide plush accommodations for the perfect getaway. Located just three miles outside of the charming village of Rhinebeck, NY, and ideally situated to enjoy the highlights of the Hudson River Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olde Rhinebeck Hotel Rhinebeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing