We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect anniversary getaway”
Review of Olde Rhinebeck Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhinebeck
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olde Rhinebeck Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Rhinebeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Perfect anniversary getaway”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband surprised me with a country weekend away from Manhattan to celebrate our 4th wedding anniversary. He did his online research and discovered Olde Rhinebeck Inn, and I'm so thankful that he did! We just got back last night, and we had the best time. In driving back to the city, we listed out our favorites from the weekend getaway and the inn and the breakfast served at the inn were at the top of our lists. We stayed in the upstairs room to the right with the sitting room and the king bed, and it was incredibly comfortable. The claw-foot bathtub and dual showerhead shower were also so relaxing. The inn is no more than 5 minutes from the village, and it's on a gorgeous street where we saw deer, ducks, and more. The history of the inn is amazing, and Cindy - the innkeeper - is so delightful! We loved chatting with her and getting to know her and the other guests. We hope to go back again soon! I bet it's gorgeous in the fall. We always "lurk" on Tripadvisor and use it to book every vacation, but this is my first time feeling compelled to write a review!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mp901212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    11
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
62
286
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Olde Rhinebeck Inn. It's just off of the main artery on a bucolic side road with beautiful fields and stonewalls: the best of both worlds. The Innkeepers have gone all out with their upscale, country decorating but have enough of an "eye" to get away with it. Great breakfast. A rare gem, in our estimation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We recently went to Bard College to hear the opera at the Summerscape Festival, and decided to make a weekend of it. We chose to stay at the Olde Rhinebeck Inn, built in 1745, and lovingly restored by the innkeepers, Cindy and Jonna, who told us its history, dating back to Cindy's grandfather. The Inn has been beautifully furnished with wonderful antiques, which give it authenticity, warmth and charm, while providing all comforts and amenities. A delicious homemade gourmet breakfast is served at a large wooden table, where you meet the other guests and chat with the innkeepers.
The Inn is on a quiet street overlooking meadows, and with its own pond, near the center of charming Rhinebeck with its superb restaurants and myriad historic sites sprinkled in the breath-taking country side. We made a trip to Hyde Park and the Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Home and Museum. It was an unforgettable weekend.
Do stay at the Old Rhinebeck Inn! We can't recommend it highly enough!!
Anne Elvins (AKA Anna Gabrieli) and John Grace

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms, and they are all unique. We had a ground floor suite and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holliston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I usually don't review when I agree with all previous reviews but this place was so special I had to add to the wonderful reviews. So many nice touches.. plate of cookies, fruit and candy on arrival, complimentary beverages in frig, shelf with outlet to charge devices, Newsletter on table with local restaurants, attractions and weather, Keurig in hallway. And of course Netflix! But what I loved were the breakfasts and the wonderful conversation at the breakfast table. Interesting nice people and Jonna usually joined us. Our room was large with a small balcony overlooking the pond with the weeping willow tree. The stairs were VERY steep but we are old house people so we love that sort of thing. If you don't like narrow tread steep stairs ask for a room downstairs. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sboc429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was a memorable experience at a charming B&B that exceeded our high expectations. The bedroom was comfortable and the building was quiet, with no traffic sounds. Electric outlets and lighting were up to date, not always the case in historic inns. The breakfast was wonderful, and the conversation, round the breakfast table, with Jonna, the innkeeper, and with 2 other couples, enhanced the pleasure of the stay. We came for the proximity to the Roosevelt Library and Hyde Park, and the World War One airplanes at Old Rhinebeck Aerodrome, but vastly underestimated the time needed to do justice to both these sites. I would recommend 3 days, and a stay at this B&B is something that we will look forward to in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Have stayed here a few times over the years, and always find it charming. It's a mile or two out of town, so you might not want to walk, but my husband and I always bring bikes, and there's plenty to explore.

The owner gets creative with breakfast, and is very helpful with restaurant recommendations.

There are lovely snacks in the room, and coffee/tea when you need it.

Rooms are comfy, and typical B&B style.

Room Tip: It's an old building so beware the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is a picture perfect B&B in every way -- comfortable, clean and charming rooms, extra amenities (e.g., a refrigerator for guest usage), scrumptious and abundant breakfasts, and, best of all, warm and welcoming innkeepers who take a personal interest in each guest's individual preferences.

Room Tip: The two-room suite is especially conducive to feeling "at home."
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhinebeck
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
861 reviews
7.7 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
41 reviews
8.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Beekman Arms and Delamater Inn
8.2 mi away
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
16.8 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Rhinebeck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Rhinebeck Inn

Property: Olde Rhinebeck Inn
Address: 340 Wurtemburg Rd, Rhinebeck, NY 12572-3549
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Rhinebeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Rhinebeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic... Elegant... Rustic... Intimate. Walk the original wide plank floors, admire the patina of centuries old buttermilk finishes and lie beneath rugged hand hewn chestnut beams. Lovingly restored, delightfully appointed suites and fine amenities provide plush accommodations for the perfect getaway. Located just three miles outside of the charming village of Rhinebeck, NY, and ideally situated to enjoy the highlights of the Hudson River Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olde Rhinebeck Hotel Rhinebeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing