We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Original Play with a Twist”

The Center for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck
Ranked #4 of 22 things to do in Rhinebeck
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The CENTER for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization which is dedicated, through its arts and education programs, to providing arts experiences for people of all ages.
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We took our daughter to see an original take on "A Christmas Carol." The play was very well done and quite original in its concept.
The best part was the open floor talk after the play. It was great for the kids. They got to speak to the actors and ask all the questions they wanted to ask. It was educational, while being most entertaining.
I would highly recommend it for anyone looking to see live theater locally. Truly professional acting goes on! A great treat offered in the Hudson Valley

Thank Marissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin A, Public Relations Manager at The Center for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Marissa,

Thank you so much for your 5 star rating! We are so pleased you enjoyed the performance and we hope to see you again at the CENTER!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for The Center for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

During our trip to the USA in December our kids took us to see Jim Donick's White Christmas Review at the Centre. Having just come from NY and two stage shows there we were wondering what to expect in Rhinebeck. The answer was a wonderful production with lots of energy and lots of laughs presented by very professional performers who engaged beautifully with the intimately close audience. If we back in Rhinebeck at any time and a production is on I would not hesitate in seeking out tickets. Thank you CPA@R for a great evening to top off our visit to the beautiful village of Rhinebeck

Thank JANDK2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin A, Public Relations Manager at The Center for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear JandK2265,

We are so pleased you had a wonderful time at the CENTER. We always love when our CENTER is "found" by those visiting as well as our wonderful neighbors who see us all year round. And thank you for the 5 star review!!

We hope you do come back to the CENTER on your next trip through - we always have something wonderful to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This was my first time to the center. The play I just saw was the musical "the best little 'warehouse' in texas" and it was super.
Thec enter is in what looks like it might have been a huge barn, and has one ascending slant of rows of seats leading directly up from the stage. All the seats are good, because you are so close to the performance.
The players were very good, and reading from the bios some (judging from the special clapping when some first appeared) have performed there several times. And the players all seemed to be having a good time performing, very professional. The music came from behind the stage, that seeming to be only a drummer and very good organist/pianist.
There is plenty of parking, and it is no charge. Our tickets were $25 each; a steal for enjoyment we had.
We will be back.

1  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin A, Public Relations Manager at The Center for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Tom,

We are so pleased that you visited the CENTER for the first time to come see "The Best Little (Warehouse) in Texas!" We are so happy when people realize how wonderfully the space is set up as there truly is not a bad seat in the house.
Don't miss this summer's season - A Little Night Music, Jekyll & Hyde and South Pacific!!!

Thanks again and see you at the CENTER!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Over the years we've been to many performances at the Center. This weekend we attended Caesar and Cleopatra. The actor who played Caesar is outstanding. Also saw him in A Man for all seasons. If you like like performance you'll love The Center for Performing Arts. It is a small theater and not a bad seat in the house. Only improvement we'd like to see is more seating in the lobby.

Thank RoyBartels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin A, Public Relations Manager at The Center for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Roy,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so pleased you had an excellent time at the CENTER, and you will be happy to know that we are working hard on expanding our lobby and restrooms to better serve our audiences.

Thank you again for your support and see you at The CENTER!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This is a remarkable place. How many communities have created a building dedicated to the performing arts from the ground up? Not many. Rhinebeck is blessed to have Upstate Films where independent and foreign cinema has had a home for decades, and it boasts the Bard Fisher Center which brings world class professional performers to the area. But The Center For The Performing Arts is unique, dedicated to being of, by and for the people of the community and as such it has managed to change the texture of life here. It is staffed by totally dedicated men and women and has managed since it's inception - when the quality of shows was uneven at best - to constantly raise the level of its presentations to the point where I would no longer hesitate to recommend attendance at its productions even to those who consider themselves "above community theater." I'll admit to being one of those NYC oriented nose in the air theater snobs. At least I was until I began to participate. Now I am full of admiration for what goes on in this building almost every day of the year

1  Thank earthighs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Center for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck also viewed

 

Been to The Center for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing