We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cultural Gem”

The Center for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck
Ranked #4 of 22 things to do in Rhinebeck
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The CENTER for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization which is dedicated, through its arts and education programs, to providing arts experiences for people of all ages.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Cultural Gem”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Have been to this theatre several times now. It's a great substitute for having to trek into NYC in a lovely country setting and offers shows in a small-theatre setting.

Tickets are quite reasonable and the actors are just wonderful. We saw "Noises Off" on its last night of performance. Kudos to the actors in being able to keep up with the frantic pace this play offers. Hysterical, hysterical, hysterical from beginning to end.

We will absolutely return here for another play while we're in the area.

Phyllis from Florida

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank YerTizUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin A, Public Relations Manager at The Center for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Phyllis,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We love that people from outside of the state get a chance to come visit us in the beautiful Hudson Valley and take in some wonderful theatre in a unique and fun setting.
Thank you so much for sharing your 5 star-review!
We hope to see you at the CENTER again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Like Broadway in Rhinebeck--must see for local theatre fans”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

From Broadway hits like Spamalot to serious drama like Streetcar Named Desire, on almost any weekend theatre fans can see a very well produced directed and acted performance, and for a fraction of the cost of an NYC play. More than once I've heard people say it was as good or better than the Broadway version. Subject matter is often revival of American classics and each spring there is a small Shakespeare festival. The Center also hosts an extensive series of children's and adult classes in acting and performing skills. Advance tickets recommended (avail online)--for any "big" play they often sell out Fri/Saturday eves and Sunday matinees. Look for dinner + theatre specials at Terrapin restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Knohanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin A, Public Relations Manager at The Center for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review - we are thrilled that audiences enjoy our eclectic offerings throughout the year. And our community deals, like the one you mentioned with Terrapin, makes the CENTER the place to go to make a night in beautiful Rhinebeck.
Thanks again and see you at The CENTER!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinebeck, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Community Theatre”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The plays and the musicals are as good as any on Broadway. The dance concerts are as good as any professional dance company you might see in New York City. The theater is intimate with great sight lines; you feel like you are actually a part of the production. Many of the performers either have been or are currently professional actors, singers and dancers. The Center offers many programs for children and up and coming actors, singers and dancers. It is charming and rustic, yet totally comfortable and professional.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abtrip2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin A, Public Relations Manager at The Center for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you so very much for your 5 star review - we hope we can keep impressing you with our productions and our education that we bring to the community. Look forward to seeing you at the CENTER!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugerties, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic theatre, fantastic show”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My family and I just enjoyed the most wonderful performance of Spamalot. The show was delightfully dizzy and silly, and performed with superb comedic timing and joie de vivre. Every actor was well-cast and excellent, which was no small feat given they all acted, danced and sang in a variety of styles, with English, French and even Finnish accents. This was a more professional and enjoyable show than many Broadway and off-Broadway shows I've seen, and received a totally deserved cheering, standing ovation. The theatre itself is intimate and comfortable, sound and view appears excellent from all seats. Plenty of parking. Wonderful experience and we will definitely be back!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank VacationReviewer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin A, Public Relations Manager at The Center for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 star review and glowing accolades.

We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again soon at the CENTER!

Very best,

Kevin Archambault
Director of Community & Public Relations
(845) 876-3088 x12
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugerties, NY
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming small theatre”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

It was a pleasure to find a local venue. Upon entering, the lobby was tastefully furnished, with a feel of comfort. The theatre was small, although one was able to view the performance from any seat in the house. The rise of each row of seats is considerable, so there is no need to move about in your seat to see past the row in front of you. The performances are professional, and performers delightful. It's a 'don't miss' venue if you are in town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Butterfly793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin A, Public Relations Manager at The Center for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 star review!

We hope that we see you again soon here at the CENTER!

Very Best,

Kevin Archambault
Director of Community & Public Relations
(845) 876-3088 x12
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Center for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck also viewed

 

Been to The Center for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing