We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MEMORABLE MEAL”

The Tasting Room At Gendron Catering
Ranked #10 of 55 Restaurants in Rhinebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A small intimate restaurant teasing out the charms of local ingredients!
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“MEMORABLE MEAL”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our second visit,early Friday night. Culinary students did an outstanding job of serving guests and master chef Dan Gendron produced a stellar meal. He offered 3 choices for the a la carte meal including lamb 3 ways, a tilapia/fennel/meyer lemon wrapped in parchment and a steak uniquely done. We had the first 2 and they were declared "outstanding". These followed first courses of a lobster/corn bisque and a clam dish made with bacon/rhubarb "jam". Desserts were to die for, pot a feu, house-made sorbets and an almond cake with rhubarb compote.
The room is cozy and the music is subtle and sublime. He has 2 tables outside that are torch lit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flatbbushkid16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    2
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“All of the below...and more!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Wow! Great food in, to say the least, offbeat surroundings. Well worth it all...don't forget to BYOB and share a glass with Chef Dan who does it all at this unique spot that, guaranteed, will make you feel like you are away from home! We stayed at Primrose Hill B&B...see separate review...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYSteveH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“As if at an old friend's quirky place for dinner”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

How to describe this utterly idiosyncratic culinary experience? Re-reading every review here so far, they each seem spot-on but each cannot help but fall short of explaining what lies ahead of a first-time diner. Mine will surely fall short as well. You will have to see for yourself, and you'll know the moment you come down the drive to the half-wild garden and the "Like open" sign whether it's the place for you. When we arrived as the sole guests at Daniel's quirky space (which I'd describe as more Big Sur by way of Woodstock than Provence, although I understand why one reviewer said the latter if you understand it's more like a socca shack in Vence than a Côte d'Azur boîte, or, for that matter, more upscale Rhinebeck restos), he was muttering to himself about how busy he was, although not too busy to get us seated and provide water, wine glasses (which he studied against the light like a zen priest) and the week's menu. He continued to talk to himself or the angels or both throughout the meal, sometimes smiling shyly when he sensed their conversation was being overheard. I think they were speaking about the wine reduction he would prepare for my wife's ribeye, or the chanterelles he had foraged nearby, or his incredible sorbetti. As the meal went on, and our pleasure became evident, he folded us into the conversational mix, also taking time to attend to the Russian-speaking, young Rhinebeck couple of beautiful people who arrived just before our second course, to whom he introduced the angels and the ribeye. By that time the bottle of J-M Raffault's Chinon Rosé that we'd carted in (remember its BYOB and it's a slight hike back to town to get a bottle if you forget) and the appetizers (mine almost translucent potstickers of chunky lobster and toothsome pork, hers a bruschetta of sweet heirloom tomatoes and ethereal burrata) had kicked in, we, too, were talking with the angels. Say hello to them if you go.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Passion!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Truly enjoyed watching Daniel's passion on display. Each item is lovingly prepared in the open kitchen. Very intimate, understated ambiance. A incredibly memorable experience. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Much2bdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Welcome to Provence”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

An intimate space for a dozen or so people with food so beautifully prepared you'd swear you were in France on the most beautiful day of the year. The chef serves and recommends and is right there with you from the open kitchen. And what he creates would make a Parisian salivate. I never review specifics because the menu is ever changing, but every choice is both beautiful and brilliantly prepared. Just go, and BYOB.

The place is hard to find even though it is on a major road. But find it. It will spoil you for anything and anywhere else. IT IS THAT GOOD. IT IS THAT SPECIAL?

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tasting Room At Gendron Catering also viewed

 

Been to The Tasting Room At Gendron Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing