We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise in a Well-Known Location”
Review of Albany Post Roadhouse - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Albany Post Roadhouse
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Hyde Park, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise in a Well-Known Location”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Seven of us visited the Albany Postroad House last night for a meal that, with one noted exception, turned out to be a delicious surprise. Starting off, we were pleased to find from our server that there were, on tap, Keegan Ales, a Kingston, NY brewery noted for its fine IPA and stout varieties. The other adults ordered mixed drinks and Cabernet and were quite pleased with them as well. Starting our meals with salads, everyone was quite happy with them and my salad, with a balsamic vinegarette was among the best I've ever enjoyed. Our entrees were equally as enjoyable ranging from my grilled steak which was thinly sliced london broil with excellent mashed potatoes to short ribs which were as good as the ribs enjoyed by two of the dinners.
The only blemish was the macaroni and cheese ordered from the Kid's menu. I don't know of many children who look forward to the complex flavors of the cheese mix as baked here. Most establishments do realize that kids' meals need to be of simple tastes. The young diner did mention that next time she'd order the hot dog.
Filled by our entrees, we cannot report on desserts, but were well pleased with what we had enjoyed. We shall return in the not too distant future and are happy that this restaurant, home of dining establishments since the 1950s and possibly earlier is a worthwhile spot once more.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jhalfdime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, ambiance and selections w/good prices”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Since the 'change'transformation ' from the former more pricey "Albany Post Roadhouse/painter's bisto: it has been 100% improved. Far more reasonable w/many more options and food tastes GREAT with top notch service. Ambiance has always been grand with good space laid out so everyone has privacy and you are surrounded with tasteful. lovely artwork!

Definitely worth a visit and we're returning soon!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RH12571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinebeck, New York
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Better Choices in Rhinebeck”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a very charming place, easily accessible and with easy parking. However, with the wide variety of quality restaurants in the Rhinebeck area, it is unfortunate that Albany Post Roadhouse doesn't recognize that in order to compete in this market they need more than a quaint atmosphere. They had better offer good service and quality food. To begin with our waitress (very pleasant but clearly not on the ball this particular evening) forgot to process our appetizer order. Next only 5 of the 6 meals ordered were delivered to the table. After several minutes when the final meal had not arrived, we had to remind her that we were one short. So in total 6 meals were ordered. 2 of the meals were the evening fish special, both served barely lukewarm and with a different side than the waitress said, 3 burgers (2 delivered with cold, soggy fries) and the last meal was the Italian salad with crab cake ordered as an entree. When finally delivered to the table it was the wrong salad. The waitress told me she was sure I had ordered salad with blue cheese. Since I never eat blue cheese I knew that was not possible. When the correct salad finally came, it was about the size of a typical side salad. It certainly didn't present as an entree. The crab cake, slightly larger in size than a silver dollar, was predominantly "filler". The cartilage and shells didn't enhance the experience. So of the 6 meals ordered, only one was correct and served at the right temperature. I am the first to admit that every restaurant can have an "off night", but do problems with 5 out of 6 meals constitute just an "off night"?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LP1247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great place with nice atmosphere!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stopped here for drinks and appetizers. The food was delicious, the service was excellent, and it had a great atmosphere. We are looking forward to coming back for dinner in the very near future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Izzy3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinebeck, New York
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Casual Dining”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a casual, affordable restaurant, decorated with interesting memorabilia. We ordered grass fed burgers for dinner. They were kind enough to substitute a vegetable for my fries. The burger was good with sauteed onions, and the vegetables were perfect.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya_and_Brad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Albany Post Roadhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing