We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful food, and delicious too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Calico Restaurant

Calico Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 55 Restaurants in Rhinebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Boutique restaurant with in house bakery. Dinner reservations accepted 5:15-8pm Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Open other hours for the pastry shop.
RHINEBECK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, and delicious too!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The menu is interesting and the food well prepared and served. Delightful lunch and dinners plus beautiful and delicious desserts. Yummy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SPINNER123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    40
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Two Great Meals!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

With time to kill we checked out all of Rhinebeck's restaurants on a Thursday afternoon. Decided to take a chance on Calico, largely because it was small, likely to be quiet, and a fellow walking by saw us checking the menu who said, "They're really good cooks." He was right! The "award winning" garlic soup deserved whatever award it won, and the pesto, roasted garlic and goat cheese was the best appetizer we've ever had. The very best bouillabaisse ever anywhere and the shrimp/scallops over angel hair pasta with pesto would also win an award wherever it was entered. The dessert pastries (so hard to choose) were exceptional. Service was attentive and friendly, and it was quiet. So we made reservations for the same table the following night, when we easily chose different dishes that were equally good. Don't miss it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briarcliff Manor, New York
2 reviews
“Great meal and atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My wife and I have been to Rhinebeck several times before but we've never gotten in to Calico because of it's small size. This time, however, we were off season and on an off night. We got in and had a wonderful meal. The meal and desserts were great. Also, the staff was very pleasant and good to talk with.
Would highly recommend. Also recommend making reservations ahead of time for busier times of the year.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Memorable”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Some of the most satisfying and memorable dining experiences can be had in small rural restaurants in Europe. The menus tend to be small, taking advantage of seasonal items, the food is prepared with obvious care, the dining area is usually cozy and intimate, and the server is a true professional, proud of literally being the face of the restaurant. Calico could be sitting on a hillside in Provence. I love the simply elegant little dining area; the afternoon light streams through the lace curtained windows, the beautiful pastry case beckons tantalizingly, and the noise level never gets too loud. The menu is fresh and interesting, and when the food arrives, it is just what you imagined. The chef can create the most wonderful food on earth, but if the service isn't great, there are many other places to eat. Our server at Calico could not possibly have been better. His professionalism perfectly mirrored the exquisite food and pastry, making the perfect dining experience complete. Be sure to make reservations, and leave room for dessert!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston ny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great find!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Wish I had found Calico sooner! My friend and I enjoyed a wonderful lunch
with the assistance of a friendly, well-informed waiter who made the experience
very enjoyable. The food was interesting, delicious, and left us wanting to
return. We also enjoyed a dessert from the "dessert cabinet" which we found to be
an added feature and it was great. I look forward to having dinner at Calico
with my husband in the coming weeks.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vincent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calico Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Calico Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing